We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and beloved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Zagreb Hostel
Ranked #11 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb
Reviewed 28 April 2015

I stayed here in 2005 and so rebooked in 2015. Still absolutely fantastic. Jelena is the best host -- very friendly and genuine. The place is spotless and comfortable. Quiet out of season, almost like having an apartment to yourself. Large living room to socialise in, kitchen with all equipment and basic ingredients provided (free tea and coffee). Comfortable beds. Very central location. PS it's (unbelievably) not in Rough Guide to Croatia. It's like Zagreb's best kept secret.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ruchb4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2015

You can tell Jelena really loves her hostel. This space was so well cared for, every detail paid attention to. She even has a hair straightener available for girls! The kitchen is superb, the rooms are lovely - and they even offer lockers outside of the room so you don't have to wake roommates up if you're getting up in the middle of the night to catch a flight. Anything you need, Jelena takes care of. She gave us a great detailed tour of the city, arranged any reservations we needed, and even arrived at the hostel at 8am NEW YEARS DAY to make sure we were able to catch our taxi alright. I was so impressed!! I recommend this place to anyone. They even have privates for those not so into dorms. Thanks so much!!

Room Tip: Check the mattress! Some of the spring mattresses are a bit soft, but the foam mattresses are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HeresToYou1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Zagreb has a large amount of hostels to choose from. But if you're looking for a smaller, personable hostel with high ceiling (in case you are incredibly tall) this is the place for you.
Jelena was very helpful throughout my stay at the hostel :)

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cakesandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2014 via mobile

I work as a tour guide in Dublin and so I am in constant contact with the hostels in my city. Through all the hostels I've stayed in or worked alongside at home, I've never felt more welcomed than I did in the Old Town Zagreb. It's been 8 weeks since my stay but I still remember vividly what a great experience it was. I had come to Croatia to meet up with a girl in Zadar, who had done my tour in Dublin and we had really hit it off. After our time together she had to fly from Zagreb to Istanbul, while I had to wait a few days for the next flight home to Dublin. I had never been in a foreign country alone before, and I was a bit anxious about it. I was a bit down to see my friend go, and needed somewhere quiet with some friendly faces to talk to, and that's exactly what I got. The girl at reception (who's name I forget, I'm so sorry!) Was so kind and the facilities were great, I met some great people, the location was superb it was just brilliant. Thank you Old Town, and thank you Croatia, for a truly amazing experience.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
Thank cmoloney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Cool, relaxed atmosphere at this very friendly hostel. Quiet,clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Old Town was a short distance from rail station and good location for wandering around the city.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.8 km away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.3 km away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Roo Rooms
Roo Rooms
#17 of 60 in Zagreb
24 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,389 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Zagreb Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Zagreb Hostel

Address: Djordjiceva Ulica 24, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing