We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of La Mama Ateneu

La Mama Ateneu
Ranked #181 of 2,172 Restaurants in Bucharest
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1999 - La Mama is one of the best places in Bucharest where you can taste the Romanian Cuisine and drink the best local wines at really good and affordable prices! We also serve international food!
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

You can eat better elsewhere. Soup was almost cold. When bringing the bill, the waiter reminds you that tip isnt icluded.

Thank Elke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_LaMama, Public Relations Manager at La Mama Ateneu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you very much for your appreciation! Your feedback is highly appreciated as we are doing our best to improve the services provided by our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 85 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We came for dinner 7 people. Had traditional sallads and main courses .
The staff is trying to give a good service but fails . Service is slow and confused . But food is good and fresh . Very recomended . Avrage prices

Thank Shalomd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_LaMama, Public Relations Manager at La Mama Ateneu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you very much for your appreciation! Your feedback is highly appreciated as we are doing our best to improve the services provided by our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We had lunch/dinner here on our first day, the staff were lovely, the atmosphere was relaxing, so much so that we spent a good 2 hours, drinking and chatting. The food is excellent, it's good value and we are so pleased we went here!

Thank Lyne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_LaMama, Public Relations Manager at La Mama Ateneu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review!
We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our location!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely place. Wish we had found it on the 1st night of 4. Great service. Great food. Gorgeous wines. Modestly priced. The Transylvanian Goulash was outstanding Maybe place soft cushions on the wooden chairs ?

Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_LaMama, Public Relations Manager at La Mama Ateneu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review!
We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our location!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

The owner of our hotel apt suggested La Mama as a place to eat and we are so glad we took his advice! The food was excellent from beginning to end. They have a wide selection of beer and wine, and the Romanian red wine we went for was very nice indeed.

The atmosphere is relaxed and casual but smart enough that it feels like an ‘occasion’. The servers were very friendly- Sandra was our main waitress and she was very attentive with excellent English. Overall a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend La Mama.

Thank pollypocket86000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_LaMama, Public Relations Manager at La Mama Ateneu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review! Your feedback is highly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mama Ateneu also viewed

Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to La Mama Ateneu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing