We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
21
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkthe ownerhot watersouth pacificsnorkel geartropical paradiselouvered windowsmy wife and ilodgebendebislandmealsbeachesworldboatstars
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Every so often, a place embraces you. The Vaoto Lodge on Ofu in AS is one of the jewels of the South Pacific. The warm & caring owners, Deb & Ben, made our stay a memorable one. The lodge is nestled beside a beautiful beach and framed by lush green mountains that harbor tropical plant covered peaks. The rooms are large & clean with the ocean breeze cooling you at night. The beds are super comfortable. Amazing snorkeling is foot steps away. The lodge provides bikes and snorkel gear. The Meals are served family style affording the opportunity to meet fellow travelers. If you want to be pamper by great meals with shared smiles and looking for a place to relax & unwind, this is for you.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Enjoy secluded beaches in a tropical setting. Just walk a few feet from the airstrip to the lodge and your room. This is a place to enjoy nature with no other distractions. You can walk 1/2 mile to the National Park for clear water and snorkeling. Or just walk across the yard from the lodge. The hosts, Deb and Ben, are helpful and laidback. It feels more personal like a bed and breakfast. The food is good homestyle cooking. The rooms are basic but adequate. Transportation is the only limiting factor, both getting there and on the island. It is worth figuring it all out for a quiet retreat on this beautiful island,

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Cheri609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I have been blessed to have visited many beautiful beaches all over the world. This week I had the pleasure to visit the most breathtaking and beautiful beach I have ever seen- in Ofu. Anyone visiting American Samoa should make time to visit this absolutely pristine tropical island and its incredible white sand beaches aside the bluest and cleanest water I have ever seen. The best snorkeling too! Ben and Deb at the Vaoto Lodge were incredible hosts to my family- and we all look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: There is a nice family suite with one room with two twin beds, a master bedroom with a queen bed and a shared bathroom with tub!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Southpacificfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had a lovely 6 days/nights at Vaoto Lodge on the island of Ofu. Deb and Ben (owners) could not have been more gracious.

The accommodations are basic, but you are literally across the "street" from the beach and you have everything you need, including ample fans, hot water showers, comfortable beds, access to laundry and a full-service kitchen, books/games, a pool table, wifi when necessary, friendly company, and plenty of cold drinks.

We and our children loved every minute at the Lodge.

We went snorkeling/swimming at a nearby beach and saw endless sea creatures, including a shark! We hiked into the mountains and saw amazing views and more wildlife. We husked coconuts and drank/ate them on the spot. We visited the local store and made friends with the owner. We talked to Ranger Ben with the National Park Service and followed his suggestions to make our trip even more enjoyable. We had nightly feasts prepared by Deb and Ben (and their daughter and her boyfriend) which left us stuffed and satisfied. We spent hours doing nothing completely unplugged and relaxed. If we ever have the chance to go back, we will!

Thanks Deb and Ben for a great week!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem essentially the same. Some may/may not have kitchenettes.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lccrisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

My wife and I stayed at Va'oto Lodge a few months ago during a work trip for seismic research. We loved the place and found it very romantic. Deb and Ben were very friendly and accommodating. The cook was also very nice and had lots of good things to say about the island. The meals were good and the rooms were very clean. The grounds maintenance was superb and the beach was to die for! 5 stars Va'oto!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brittany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews