We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bed and Breakfast! Great venue for parties and special events!”
Review of The Caldwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Caldwell House
Ranked #1 of 2 Abbeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2017

My sisters and I have stayed here for the last 4 years during the Easter holiday. The historical home is wonderful and beautiful!! Ms. Carolyn and her Staff are OUTSTANDING. We are from Abbeville,LA. We always stay at The Caldwell House when we're in town. We highly recommend this magnificent home to relax, enjoy, and feel at home in our home town. Enjoy! Kathleen Minnick-Taylor Las Vegas, NV

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable with character and charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleendvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene F, Owner at The Caldwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Kathleen, there's no review that can match the compliment of repeat visits! It's heart-warming when an Abbeville native can consider The Caldwell a "home base" when you come "back home"! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed at The Caldwell House December 30th-31st. The house was decorated beautifully for the holidays and was perfect for our romantic night away. We stayed in the Evangeline room; I highly recommend this room. It is spacious, has a king size bed, fireplace, shower, and Jacuzzi tub. While there was one other couple staying long-term upstairs, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Breakfast was wonderful and filling! They went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied. If you're ever in the area, stay here! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kris4386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene F, Owner at The Caldwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Kris, we're so happy to have provided the perfect spot for your romantic getaway! The Evangeline suite makes you feel like royalty - we hope you'll return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We recently had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Caldwell House, and everything was better than we could imagine. My bridal party got ready in the upstairs suite, and my husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite after.

From our first meeting with Ms. Carolyn to days after the wedding, we were so happy with the venue and the service. The staff was very accommodating, and we were able to customize the venue to our style. Ms. Carolyn truly went above and beyond for us, and we received so many compliments from our guests on the venue.

I absolutely recommend this venue for any wedding!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ecocajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene F, Owner at The Caldwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear "ecocajun" - it was such a privilege to host your wedding and share your joy! Thanks so much for posting your review and recommending The Caldwell to other couples. Our staff treats every guest like family - it's the Cajun way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The Campbell House hosted my daughter's wedding, and did a marvelous job. The staff was incredible. The Campbell Cottage was a convenient place for us to stay for the night. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast location.

Room Tip: The Cottage has two bedrooms, and a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rjsonnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene F, Owner at The Caldwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

The Caldwell House was privileged to host the Sonnier-Russo wedding! Our spacious B&B, as well as The Caldwell Cottage, makes any event a "destination wedding" when family and friends choose to stay on the property before, during and after the festivities! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Caldwell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This place is incredible!! The manager, Carolyn, is a terrific person. She makes you feel at home. The Caldwell is very clean, the room (Morning Gory) is very nice. The bedding is comfortable. I would highly recommend The Caldwell to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene F, Owner at The Caldwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you, Lona - it was our pleasure to host you! We hope you'll visit The Caldwell again and experience the style and comfort of another suite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abbeville hotels
4.8 km away
Best Western Abbeville Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
The Ducote-Williams House
The Ducote-Williams House
#2 of 2 in Abbeville
3 reviews
1.1 km away
Days Inn Abbeville
Days Inn Abbeville
#2 of 6 in Abbeville
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sunbelt Lodge
Sunbelt Lodge
#4 of 6 in Abbeville
13 reviews
2.0 km away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Abbeville
4 reviews
4.9 km away
Motel 6 Abbeville
Motel 6 Abbeville
#3 of 6 in Abbeville
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caldwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caldwell House

Address: 105 E Vermilion St, Abbeville, LA 70510-4709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Abbeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbeville
Price Range: RM456 - RM1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caldwell House is a 100 year old historic home located 2 blocks from Downtown Abbeville, La., which offers luxury accommodations in oversized rooms with private baths. Deep wrap-around porch overlooks a courtyard and tropical garden. The Caldwell House also serves as an elegant, intimate setting for weddings, receptions and special events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing