We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Sunbelt Lodge

Sunbelt Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunbelt Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Abbeville
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

The rooms are large and quiet. Staff is friendly. Clean. Manager is very helpful. I would recomend this hotel. The cost is very resonable. Laundry room is very clean. Hotel office offers many helpful options for out of town companies.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank shysissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2015

Don't do it! I have never written a disparaging review before, but need to share our experience with other travelers.

Having read good reviews, we decided to stay here. On first impression, it seemed quiet. The rooms were dark, small, and worn - but seemed clean enough. We left our U-Haul trailer for the day to sight see. When we returned, the motel was buzzing with activity - doors open, people shouting, and walking room-to-room. We noted a beat-up truck parked next to our trailer, dark tinted windows rolled tight, with its occupant chain smoking, intently watching what was going on. He was not moving - or speaking to anyone, though he was right outside of our motel room door.

When he was still there several hours later, we felt uneasy about leaving our trailer - hooked it up and took it with us to dinner. ( We had noticed that the chain smoking truck DID NOT have license plates of any kind!)

At dinner, we happened to meet a local law enforcement officer - who inquired as to where we were staying. He advised us to move - claiming many of their phone calls came from that motel - drug enforcement, prostitution, and more!

The decision to move was made when we returned to Sunbelt Lodge to find the truck still sitting outside of our room,

When we talked to the desk clerk about our decision - and concerns, she could have cared less and did nothing to dissuade our fears...

When we told her that we would have to comment on Trip Advisor, she told us to go ahead - "(she) didn't read it anyways!"

Nothing happened to us physically, but it would have been a very long wakeful night.

It's your money and your safety - we took ours elsewhere!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank tdb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I fled from a Motel 6 in Lafayette ( see another review of mine) an drove to Abbeville. I was familiar with Abbeville and felt sure of finding a cheap stay for one night . It was late but the night manager was accommodating. It was in late October. I got a tremendous rate, $46. Clean and comfortable. Everything worked. Friendly staff. Dry cereal and real milk for breakfast (other things also available).

The bad reviews are all from 2007. Discard them. SunBelt Lodge is excellent. Maybe new owners. Also it is not a chain. Probably locally owned.

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: I got a handicapped room, as it was available to non-handicapped. So I don't know what other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danwershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 1/2weeks last year during n after hurricane Isaac.We enjoyed our stay.All the staff were friendly n very helpful.Our rooms were clean n stocked.They have a n outside pool which helped out alot since we were evacuating from a hurricane.And,my kids used the pool everyday just about all day.Pool area was clean n had chairs n patio set for you to sit comfortable and enjoy your kids swimming.They had continental breakfast.also a huge help was the laundry room.We had 2 different rooms.One room had a kitchen in it.I was so glad to see they had that to offer.It was'nt expensive at all.The location of the hotel is in a perfect place.It has everything right around the corner.It also is pet friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is a great place to stay. The Sunbelt is a nice local motel. The rooms are always clean, The contienental Breakfast is nice. The have interent not wi fi but you can ask the front desk for a ethernet code. The staff is wonderful. This is very nice in the heart of cajun country. I give them a 10. Keep up the great work, the GM Della Hardy is the best and takes care of this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abbeville hotels
3.1 km away
Best Western Abbeville Inn & Suites
3.2 km away
Motel 6 Abbeville
Motel 6 Abbeville
#3 of 6 in Abbeville
38 reviews
1.0 km away
Days Inn Abbeville
Days Inn Abbeville
#2 of 6 in Abbeville
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Abbeville
4 reviews
1.9 km away
The Ducote-Williams House
The Ducote-Williams House
#2 of 2 in Abbeville
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbelt Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbelt Lodge

Address: 1903 Veterans Memorial Dr, Abbeville, LA 70510-3143
Region: United States > Louisiana > Abbeville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Abbeville
Price Range: RM183 - RM216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbelt Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sunbelt Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing