We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We took a family of 5!”
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #6 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We love to travel together and it's never easy to satisfy everyone with an older teenager and two younger brothers at an affordable hotel, but this was the perfect set up! Big sister loved her own cozy room upstairs while the boys had a great separate space with a locking connecting door to our spacious master bedroom. The location is perfect to let the kids explore town, and even get food and see movies and theatre on the own. The beaches are all incredible. The water sports amenities from the Inn are great and the staff is warm friendly and so helpful. We are coming back and not just in the summer now that we know the island - hoping for Spring break!

Room Tip: first floor suite with communicating doors is awesome, no need for a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you, we are so glad that your family chose the Martin House for your Nantucket vacation. We love to make our guests feel at home and enjoy all the island has to offer. We hope you come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

The Martin House Inn is all you hope for in a B&B. Charming rooms, great location in the heart of Nantucket, wonderful service, a knowledgable host sharing great suggestions on how to spend your time (over a nice glass of wine!). What a wonderful visit and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonmck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review, Alison. It's very important to us that our guests experience is a special one. Friday night wine and cheese is a great way to start the weekend. We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

This trip was my first visit to Nantucket and I was incredibly fortunate to stay at the Martin House Inn! I felt right at home when I walked through the doors. The decor was absolutely charming and
the location was perfect. My boyfriend and I started our mornings with a delicious continental breakfast at the inn, and then we spent the day walking around town. We were so close to all the restaurants, shops, and beaches in the area!

The entire inn was completely charming. I especially loved having the living area and fireplace in our room. The front desk always had baked goods to enjoy while relaxing in the lobby or the outdoor seating area. My absolute favorite lounging spot, however, was on the rooftop patio. Words can't describe the view up there, it was breathtaking!

Thank you so much to Carolyn, Sari and Lisa for a wonderful stay. The entire staff was so accommodating and kind. I wish I could have stayed longer, but I'll be sure to visit again soon!!

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank kmro25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review! We love to make our guests feel comfortable and at home here. We are fortunate to be located in such a perfect location for guests to enjoy all the wonderful things that Nantucket has to offer. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

I normally only write positive reviews, however, I feel I have been treated unfairly by the Martin House Inn. I booked a room at the inn through Expedia over 3 weeks before my stay. I had to cancel the room within 24 hrs. of booking. I travel quite a bit, and mostly stay at hotels which have a 24 hour advance cancellation policy which I have grown accustomed too. Even airlines offer a 24 hr. cancellation window and they can be notorious for their excessive fees. I did not realize through Expedia that the Inn would charge a fee until I was not refunded the full amount on my credit card statement. If I had held the room for a few days and they were not able to re-book it, I would not be so upset about the charges. However, I called the inn about a week later when I was given only a partial credit and I was told that they charge 10% of the reservation if the room is cancelled. The crazy part was that they had already re-booked the room for that weekend and I was still being charged. The innkeeper explained that they have credit card fees they have to cover, but I know that credit card fees would only be 1-2% at most for a business and I was being charged 10%. The innkeeper said she would have the owner call me the next day to review. I never received a call from the owner. The innkeeper called me back and advised that the owner was an attorney and was too busy to speak with me about this. I feel this is a very unfair business practice and if I were on the other side I would have issued a credit as a courtesy, even a partial credit. I am sure it is a very lovely inn, but I will never know as I will not be staying here on any future visits to Nantucket.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank SassySAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C, Innkeeper at Martin House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

We are sorry that you feel unfairly treated by our adherence to our published cancellation policy, which in your case, resulted in a refund of 90% of your deposit. We are not a large hotel that can withstand the economic impact of last minute cancellations. We are, rather, a small bed and breakfast, and like most other bed and breakfasts on Nantucket, our written policy requires that cancellations occur 21 days before arrival date, that refunds occur only to the extent that we are able to re-rent the room cancelled, and that we keep a 10% service fee even if we are able to re-rent the room. The 10% includes credit card fees as well as our time in cancelling and trying to re-rent the room last minute. The policy is in place to prevent last minute cancellations that leave us in a bind with one of our 13 guest rooms unrented after we held it unavailable for the last minute canceller. You cancelled within 24 hours and we successfully did everything we could to re-rent your room. In your review, you indicated that you would have been happy with a partial credit. We are disappointed that the 90% credit you received wasn’t enough to satisfy you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This was the fourth time I stayed at the Martin House this year. Carolyn, the innkeeper, is the warmest host, the living area is comfortable and a wonderful place to lounge and read, the breakfasts are tasty and plentiful and the rooms quite comfortable. If you are looking for a place that feels like home away from home, this is your spot. And it's a short two or three minute walk to town and its wonderful restaurants. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chash17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C, nnkeeper at Martin House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you Charles, you are part of the Martin House family, and we always look forward to having you back with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
259 reviews
4.4 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
288 reviews
0 km away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
489 reviews
0.1 km away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#5 of 38 in Nantucket
316 reviews
0.2 km away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 38 in Nantucket
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Address: 61 Center St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: RM 458 - RM 1,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Martin House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious accommodations blend the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and recently restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful veranda caressed by light breezes and the sound of classical music, and its spacious roof walk featuring panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Martin House is a place that beckons you to return. We serve a bountiful continental breakfast prepared by our pastry chef, featuring her famous granola and scones, another pastry, cereals, fruit, juices, gourmet coffee and tea, each morning. In the afternoon, we serve homemade treats. In the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is a short walk from the shops, beaches and restaurants in town. 13 rooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet, in-room hotel safes; many guest rooms with working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing