We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
76 Main(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$479
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seven Sea Street Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$539
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Broad Hotel(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$479
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Veranda House Hotel Collection(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brass Lantern Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$525
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant(Nantucket)
US$995
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherburne Inn Nantucket(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$339
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$375/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Nantucket Hotel & Resort(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$880
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centerboard Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
75
16
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
16
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Based upon favorable reviews we booked this "boutique style B &B" for an anniversary trip. We have stayed in many B&Bs and in comparison, this was quite disappointing. It's clean, has a good comfortable bed and good, clean towels. Those are the pluses. Our room, on the third floor, has an uneven floor with a very low ceiling, (not for the tall!), a very tiny bathroom where anyone over 5'5" will need to duck to see in the mirror, VERY loud room air conditioner sounding like a truck plus helicopter, and no option for ice or ice bucket offered. The included breakfast is sparse, the first morning it consisted of simply yogurt, granola, dried fruit for garnish, bagels, and English muffins. Second morning there was also some fruit, some of which was canned. Pretty disappointing considering the cost and positive reviews by others. I would definitely look elsewhere for a special occasion in Nantucket . I mentioned the loud a/c and high room temperature to a staff member who did not respond.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DianeF827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at The Chapman House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Dear Diane,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at The Chapman House. With a recent renovation of the rooms, we felt it important to keep the integrity of the historic nature of the building – including a couple of slanted ceiling rooms on upper floors with quirky angles and uneven floors. When guests use a third party booking site—as you did with booking.com—we do not have the opportunity to adequately describe the unique character of our rooms and the fact that there are window units instead of central air conditioning. We offer a complimentary breakfast buffet with a variety of baked goods, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels and yogurt - Nantucket B&B’s are limited and restricted in what they can offer.

Sincerely,

Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Charming inn, very conveniently located, friendly staff. Room was comfortable, pretty. Bathroom was tiny, but fine.
Breakfast was a little limited. We had to get down there early to get what we wanted. Afternoon cookies was a nice idea. They just need to make sure cream is available for the coffee at all times. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The back of the house is a little quieter
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SueMidlothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at The Chapman House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Thank you for staying at Chapman House during your recent visit to Nantucket. We appreciate your breakfast observations and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

With warm regards,

Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

We came for nantucket stroll. From the second we booked Hillary was so kind and helpful with dinner reservations. The staff at the Inn were so knowledgeable and helpful as well. We got stranded an extra day because of the wind and they stayed open for us! We will def come back and head straight for the Chapman/Veranda house

Room Tip: Have Hillary make your dinner reservations. Her reccomendations were spot on.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritzcancunluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

This B&B is very cozy and nice. We stayed in guest room #5 and found it to be very comfortable and quiet. The bed was awesome. The room is small, but when I compared it to other places where friends stayed, it was a great value and you can't beat the location. Nate is a great host and very knowledgeable. I would definitely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cazandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Chapman House for our three day visit to the island. The location is so convenient to the center of the village and to the ferry--we could walk everywhere. Nate and Hannah were so willing to help with everything--really made us feel welcome! The room on the third floor (#8) was a little small, but since we didn't spend that much time there, it really didn't matter. The bed was sooooo comfy, and there was an iPad for room use, as well as beach towels in a tote bag, and nice big bath sheets. Breakfast was good, and Nate's homemade orange/apple/banana juice blend was delicious. No hot selections, like eggs and sausage, but the yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, muffins, and several selections of cream cheese to go with the bagels. If you take the time to look at the book about Nantucket that is in the living room, you will learn a lot about the island--very interesting. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Redhibiscus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews