We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor, location and staff, but room was TINY!”
Review of The Chapman House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chapman House
Ranked #17 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Very cool and stylish decor at this pretty B&B, which is set in an ideal location just outside of town. The innkeeper and staff were delightful.

My negative comment, I'm afraid, is the size of the rooms. I understand that this is Nantucket and it is an expensive place to stay, but having just come from the amazing rooms of The Vanderbilt Grace in Newport RI, which weren't much more per night and also in an idyllic setting, it just didn't compare.

In fairness, we did book the lowest cost room and shouldn't have been surprised that it was small. But I guess I was expecting cosy, rather than caravan style cramped. The room was that small that my husband kept hitting his head and our suitcases were constantly in the way etc.

We loved the personal touches such as the cookies in the afternoon and the bottle of fizz that the lovely innkeeper gave to us for our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Opt for a large room or risk cabin fever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at The Chapman House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Hello Helen,

Glad that you enjoyed the service and amenities here at Chapman House. Some of the top floor rooms do have unique architecture features that follow the slope of the roof line. The building dates back to 1830 when whaling was the prominent activity and some of the rooms are more intimate . . . especially when compared to a Newport Vanderbilt mansion. :-)

Thank you for staying with us.

With warm regards,

Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015

Based upon favorable reviews we booked this "boutique style B &B" for an anniversary trip. We have stayed in many B&Bs and in comparison, this was quite disappointing. It's clean, has a good comfortable bed and good, clean towels. Those are the pluses. Our room, on the third floor, has an uneven floor with a very low ceiling, (not for the tall!), a very tiny bathroom where anyone over 5'5" will need to duck to see in the mirror, VERY loud room air conditioner sounding like a truck plus helicopter, and no option for ice or ice bucket offered. The included breakfast is sparse, the first morning it consisted of simply yogurt, granola, dried fruit for garnish, bagels, and English muffins. Second morning there was also some fruit, some of which was canned. Pretty disappointing considering the cost and positive reviews by others. I would definitely look elsewhere for a special occasion in Nantucket . I mentioned the loud a/c and high room temperature to a staff member who did not respond.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DianeF827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at The Chapman House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Dear Diane,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at The Chapman House. With a recent renovation of the rooms, we felt it important to keep the integrity of the historic nature of the building – including a couple of slanted ceiling rooms on upper floors with quirky angles and uneven floors. When guests use a third party booking site—as you did with booking.com—we do not have the opportunity to adequately describe the unique character of our rooms and the fact that there are window units instead of central air conditioning. We offer a complimentary breakfast buffet with a variety of baked goods, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels and yogurt - Nantucket B&B’s are limited and restricted in what they can offer.

Sincerely,

Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Charming inn, very conveniently located, friendly staff. Room was comfortable, pretty. Bathroom was tiny, but fine.
Breakfast was a little limited. We had to get down there early to get what we wanted. Afternoon cookies was a nice idea. They just need to make sure cream is available for the coffee at all times. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The back of the house is a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SueMidlothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl C, General Manager at The Chapman House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Thank you for staying at Chapman House during your recent visit to Nantucket. We appreciate your breakfast observations and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

With warm regards,

Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

We came for nantucket stroll. From the second we booked Hillary was so kind and helpful with dinner reservations. The staff at the Inn were so knowledgeable and helpful as well. We got stranded an extra day because of the wind and they stayed open for us! We will def come back and head straight for the Chapman/Veranda house

Room Tip: Have Hillary make your dinner reservations. Her reccomendations were spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritzcancunluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

This B&B is very cozy and nice. We stayed in guest room #5 and found it to be very comfortable and quiet. The bed was awesome. The room is small, but when I compared it to other places where friends stayed, it was a great value and you can't beat the location. Nate is a great host and very knowledgeable. I would definitely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cazandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.0 km away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
0.1 km away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
202 reviews
0.2 km away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Century House
Century House
#7 of 38 in Nantucket
322 reviews
0.2 km away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
488 reviews
0.5 km away
The Barnacle Inn
The Barnacle Inn
#9 of 38 in Nantucket
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapman House

Address: 20 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: RM536 - RM1,867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style B&B in the heart of Nantucket Town. The ultimate in urban comfort, the pinnacle of what is "IT" offering bold ideas, vibrant colors, innovative design. Exceptional concierge service and a wide array of amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and deluxe continental breakfast. Delight in our afternoon chocolate chip cookies. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing