We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$86
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posada de la Luna(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Daniel(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Doozy Koala(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cirilo(Antigua)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
133
11
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
11
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet neighborhoodplants and flowerssmall hotelssecond floorguatemalan coffeepurified waterstayed for nightsbreakfast was deliciousroof terracecourtyardmarketretreathairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We stayed for 2 nights in Villa Serena and really enjoyed our stay. The lady who runs it is lovely and warm, and provided in the room a laminated sheet of recommendations for restaurants and coffee shops (and even told us where to buy Guatemalan coffee). Breakfast was really nice, served in the open-air courtyard, with fruit, cooked options (loved the Guatemalan breakfast) and good local French-press coffee.

Although we had booked a double room, we got the African-themed room that was on the ground floor, opposite the entrance which had a second floor with a metal ladder, where another 3 single beds were to be found (this would be a really fun room to stay in for a family with older children, or friends).

The rooms we saw were all nicely decorated, in an individual style, and our bed and mattress was really comfy. The view from the roof terrace was really cool, we saw the Fuego volcano exploding a few times, and there’s chairs for you to sit and enjoy the scenery.

Only negatives are the internet connection was not strong enough to reach inside our room, so we had to stand by the door or go out into the courtyard to get signal, and that the B&B is located away from the center, so it’s a 10-15 min walk (mostly on cobbled streets) which might not be pleasant for some at night (we had no issues and took Ubers sometimes, which were super-cheap).

Air-con: No, but room was quite chilly as it’s not hit by the sun
Fridge: No
Safe deposit box: Yes
Hairdryer: No
Free Wi-Fi: Yes, almost no signal in the room
Toiletries: Shampoo/bodywash, bars of soap
Towels: Yes, 2 body towels, one floor mat, and one hand towel
Breakfast included: Yes
Walkable distance from city center: Yes, 10-15 min
Bedside tables & reading lights: Not in our room, but one light and shelft above the bed
Luggage racks: Yes, one
Freebies: Maps, filtered water (could refill bottles)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvk0016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We stayed in similar places of accommodation for a lot less but what you're paying for here is the brilliant staff and lovely host. its about a 10 min walk to the centre of town, and most of the traveller stuff happens just the other side of the centre...yoga, Spanish lessons, cheap restauants.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Villa Serena, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest: Thank you for letting us know how brilliant and skillful our staff is! We are very proud of each member of our team because every day they do thrive to do their best! There are certain things that you pay for and I am sure you noticed the lovely down comforters and pillows you had, the same as imported linens and beautiful and clean towels that you were changed daily. Not no mention the extraordinary mattresses that offer you a restfull sleep.I am also sure that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast prepared a la carte, just for you with first quality ingredients. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This hotel is well cared for by the owner. She was lovely as was her staff. The breakfast was delicious, and the beds were comfortable. The room was very clean, and the property is quaint as quaint can be. The walking distance to the town is about 10 minutes and you'll need comfortable shoes due to the cobblestone streets. The views from the terrace were gorgeous and the potted plants all around the courtyard made us feel like we were in a secret garden. We loved our stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CDFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Villa Serena, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest thank you for noticing all the effort our staff puts in order to offer you a very clean and confortable place to stay as well as a delightful garden for you to enjoy. It is great that you noticed how confortable our mattress are since we took the time and effort to find the best there are! Come back one day to enjoy our secret garden! Would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at La Villa Serena and it was a great experience. The plants and flowers were everywhere and spectacular. Brenda, Anderson and cooking staff were so nice.
Mimo, the dog, was our fave....

Marina was warm and lovely and made our first trip to Antigua special.

Great, quiet location.

Eve Adams & Irwin Klinger

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eveaboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Villa Serena, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest thank you for mentioning our great and quiet location! We are happy to hear how great and spectacular are staff is, as well as our beautiful and scented garden. Delighted to know that your first trip to Antigua was a pleasant experience that we were able to contribute to that. Come back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We booked this place for the last 2 days of our 3 weeks trip to Mexico/Guatemala. We were in Antigua back in February and we wanted to try a new place. The Villa is located a short 5 min walk from the bus terminal. It is quiet and really clean. We really enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast is delicious. The staff is really helpful. The owner is a sweet gal. Her dog, Mimosa is really playful. Felt like home. Will book again if we go back to Antigua !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lin_V88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Villa Serena, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest: We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! And happy that you noticed how clean and quiet our place is! We are very proud of our service and we do take the time to prepare "a la carte" individual breakfast.This is "your home away from home" and would love to see you again! Mimosa sends a big hug and says hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews