We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antigua's Quiet and Elegant Option”
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Antigua is a must-see destination in Guatemala - whether you’re into coffee, antiquities, volcanoes or the amazing regional cuisine. You won’t be the first to visit, nor the last, and there will be plenty of your compatriots around when you do. Therefore, you might seek a quieter accommodation slightly apart from the bustling central square. If so, Hotel Cirilo is an excellent choice.

For most, the key charm of Antigua will be its colonial architecture built atop layers of ruin caused by earthquakes in the distant past. The city’s designation as as UNESCO World Heritage site now preserves this character which is on view everywhere, to spectacular effect down the fine details. At Cirilo, you don’t even need to leave your room to see this fetching interplay - the hotel structure itself is entwined with the ruins on the property. Dramatically lit at night, these outdoor features provide a contemplative backdrop for relaxation, conversation and meals.

As with most residential structures in Antigua, Cirilo is situated modestly behind a street-facing stucco-faced wall and massive wooden door. You’re greeted by an open courtyard which gives a clue to the hotel’s small, low-key, airy and welcoming design. There’ll be no crowd here - the seven well-appointed rooms house a modest number of guests who’ll mostly be elsewhere in the city during your stay. A thoughtful combination of room and common-area appointments give the hotel an “old Italy” charm.

Breakfast at Cirilo was, for us, the perfect start to the day. Options available will satisfy nearly all tastes and, as with much of the cuisine in Antigua, the preponderance of fresh, local ingredients is sure to please. While most guests will want to take their mid-day and evening meals in the cosmopolitan center, Cirilo offers an equally excellent menu for those who prefer the charming setting on-site. And that famous Antigua coffee…superb!

Located in the more residential northeast part of the city, Hotel Cirilo nonetheless offers easy access to all that Antigua has to offer in terms of sights, restaurants and bars. Antigua’s gridded street pattern is simple to navigate, even if some might find the ubiquitous cobblestones tiresome. An inexpensive taxi ride is recommended after dark, though we were able to talk throughout the city and neighboring villages safely during the day.

The staff at Cirilo put an exclamation point on an all-around excellent guest experience. Our concierge, Riccardo, and manager, Oscar, personalized our stay, offered excellent recommendations and made the paperwork easy. Housekeeping was excellent with fast turn-around laundry service that had us feeling fresh in the face of hefty humidity. The kitchen crew was wonderful and accommodating.

With many choices for dwelling in Antigua, it might seem like a coin-toss is required to pick the right one. Cirilo, however, distilled the best of Antigua into a quiet, well-presented and personal-scale experience that give us the proper respite from the city’s natural excitement. We give it a high recommendation!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Oscar was brilliant and the staff were so accommodating when we arrived late to get us some food.
Breakfast was fresh and we had dinner one night too which was good value for money.
The surroundings were surreal. I felt it could have been a movie set. The lighting was great to accentuate the gardens. The rooms were antique yet had character. The fire was romantic in the room.
Quiet yet safe
Thank you to all

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nidhipandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Quiet location, amazing courtyard, friendly staff! Every room has a fireplace! Built with some of the old church structure still evident! Great architecture to mix the two! If you want a safe but very traditional hotel in Antigua then this is it! Not in the center of town but walkable and MUCH quieter!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank epmayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We loved our stay at Hotel Cirilo. We ended up using 2 rooms. Our first room wasn't very peaceful, and we were offered a change, which we really appreciated. The rooms are tastefully fitted in the old world style of the hotel, which is built into very old church ruins. This creates a unique charm and character. The beds were comfortable and while the rooms were not fitted with wine glasses, coffee making or an iron, we just had to ask amd the items were provided. The breakfasts were as good as any we experienced in Guatemala, and always served with such pleasant staff. We felt a real family atmosphere amongst the staff. Our stay may have needed to be extended due to the hurricanes at our next destination, and we would gladly have stayed on at Hotel Cirilo. A treasure.

Room Tip: If you can avoid the room near the office, although I suspect it is only a problem at busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Cirilo 19-21 August. It was our first time in Guatemala and we only have good things to say about this boutique hotel. It is very quiet and you feel at home.
Breakfast in the morning was wonderful (included in your room rate) so were the meals we had at the restaurant later in the day.
We would like to thank the people that were on duty during our stay: don Ricardo (owner or general manager, not sure) that went above and beyond to help us. Wendy and Claudia were great and with a gentle and efficient attitude. Oscar was there the first day and was great as well, thanks to Marina and Mirna too.
If we ever go back to Antigua we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank worldtravelerMAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
1.2 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
944 reviews
0.5 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
816 reviews
0.7 km away
Good Hotel Antigua
Good Hotel Antigua
#8 of 75 in Antigua
161 reviews
1.3 km away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 75 in Antigua
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: RM 491 - RM 729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing