We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Place to Stay Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Daniel(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Villa Serena(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cirilo(Antigua)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Doozy Koala(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$12
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$64
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
212
36
7
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
36
7
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrabbithome away from homebig dining tablelife long friendshelpful hostsevery morningfree breakfastlocal marketfelt like homebook tourshelped me arrangechicken busesmain marketfirst stopfellow travelerstravel planscentral america
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay at A Place to Stay! We were in Antigua for 5 days and extended another night to recover from hiking Acatenango. Kerri and Raul are incredibly kind, good-hearted people who go out of their way to make sure your stay is wonderful. It's incredibly clean and comfortable, and the cats and rabbits make the place feel homey (I already miss JoJo, Mylo, and Esperanza!). They lent us winter gear for the hike, which was very useful! Would recommend staying here to anyone.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Great location near the bus stop and Market, comfortable dorm beds with included breakfast (@85Q) which is quite quite and also a guest kitchen.

BUT the reasons you may not want to stay are mainly curfew between 12-07:00 and they will not let you out even to catch a shuttle if you didn't book that shuttle through them (not letting you out one of the many rules on the notice board not mentioned during checking if you just walk in, maybe it's on booking sites).

Also they will not store your bag for an Acantenango hike unless you also book it with them; even if you make a reservation to return! Needless to stay after finding this out I stored my bag someone else a little more hospitable and stayed there after my hike (another rule).

Also and albeit a minor inconvenience breakfast is 9-10 and not 1 minute either side.

Basically this hostel likes to say 'no' unless they're making a commission, and notwithstanding the positives above I found the hosts to be comparatively quite inhospitable (as I didn't book anything through them).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank K-Channel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryCruz, Owner at A Place to Stay Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t find my husband and I to be hospitable as we try very hard to make each guest feel welcome and at home in our house.

While everyone has a different set of standards based on their perceptions I respect your view on the experience you had but need to add some crucial facts you left out which causes the reader to draw some false conclusions.

We do have a curfew of midnight and there is no one available to answer the door from 12:00am to 7:00am which is published on every website (including this one) and is also posted on the front door and bulletin board in the hostel and is told to every person that inquires about a room. However, we do tell people if they need to leave before 7:00am in the morning to let us know one day in advance so that we can make sure someone is awake to unlock the door for departure and then re-secure it for continued safety. In fact, you told me you had to leave at 5:50am and I said no problem and was awake at 5:30 to make sure you could leave on time.

It is true that we no longer allow guests who have booked 2am or 4am shuttles through other companies to stay with us. We made this change about 3 months ago after 5 incidences within a two week time frame where my husband was awake at 1:45am to let people out for a 2:00am departure and the shuttle showed up at 5:00am and in one case the shuttle didn’t show up at all. When we book the shuttle we have a way to contact the company and check if there is a problem or delay which is beneficial to both us and the guests waiting for the shuttle!

Guests are welcome to book their volcano tours with whatever company they like and are always welcome to return after the hike, however, since we are a very small hostel there is not a lot of storage room (in fact we share our personal bodega) so we reserve the limited space we do have for those guests that book their travel through us.

It is our goal is to accommodate as many individual needs as possible without compromising our standard of comfort and security for other guests. This is the reason we have rules and keep them posted both online and in plain sight at the hotel so everyone can make a fully informed decision to stay with us or not.

We hope you found another hostel more suited to your needs and enjoyed the volcano tour, the pictures we saw from one guest that day looked amazing. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Best place to call home away from home. All services provided aside, the personal care and experience of the city and it's surroundings, you also find companions and friends for life in the wonderful owners and staff to show you around and ensure your safety. Couldn't have asked for more, came back twice again during the same trip because it bas and is the best!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

So much more than just a place to stay! There was such a warm, homely vibe to this place. The rooms were lovely and clean, the free breakfast was always delicious, you could easily book tours and shuttles through the hostel, the location near the market was great, but for me the highlight was the people. Fernando, Kerry and Raul were all fabulous and really made you feel at home, and the smaller size meant it was easy to get to know all the other guests too. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

A Place to Stay is a fantastic hostel with great vibes! The Kitchen is fully fitted with pans and pots of all sizes, a big fridge and storage space for your food. There are 3 bathrooms and an extra toilet, that are always clean and provide good showers after a long day out.

The rooms are spacious, clean, ventilated & have cupboards or shelves for your belongings. They are beautifully decorated, and not only do all beds have a warm cover but the rooms also provide an even thicker cover for those cold December nights.

The downstairs consists of a large outdoor area that is sheltered from rain. On one side is a big dining table where guests can eat together, and on the other side is a cozy living space adorned by four cushioned benches where I spent most of my days. At night the lanterns and fairy lights hanging on their big tree will light up all of the downstairs area, and that is when most of the magic happens for me as it instantly becomes a quite haven where you can enjoy the ambient air and other people's stories.
The hostel has 9 cats and 2 rabbits, and they will roam, sleep and play freely in the downstairs area.

Antonia will cook a good breakfast for guests from 7am usually consisting of ranchero eggs or delicious pancakes. I believe other options are available to suit dietary requirements with a night's notice.

The hostel is in a great location for practical needs but also in a very local area of Antigua. Right around the corner is where all the chicken buses leave and drop you off so that you can plan any of your trips from there - super easy.
On the opposite pavement of the 'bus street' is the entrance to the artisan market where you can find really good quality crafts and supply on souvenirs. If you ask Fernando at the hostel, he may take you to a lady in the market who will give you excellent prices for your souvenirs.
Past the artisan market is the entrance to the local market which is a treasure in its own right. Here you can buy pretty much anything you need. The food you will find here is cheaper than anywhere else in Antigua, and it is fresh too. You will be able to make a vegetarian dish that will last you days for only 30Q/4 USD. There is also a large area of the market dedicated to second hand clothings where you can find good brands for 1-10Q.
A Place to Stay is really located in superbe area that is also close to the main square and the other shops.

Raul and Kerry care about their guests, and for this reason a curfew of 12am keeps you safe in the hostel. I have heard many a times of tourists getting abused by police or thugs late at night, and luckily is has never happened to me. The vibe of the hostel and the guests it attracts is enough for me to have a couple beers in the downstairs area when 12 hits the clock.
They will also help you arrange transportation to other places around Guatemala ranging from good priced shuttles and private taxis.

This hostel comes highly recommended, high standards and excellent hospitality make it a unique and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thibaulttam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews