We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 September 2017

To a person each member of staff at this hotel was friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautifully clean and has an enjoyable layout. Just a few niggles for me, the white wine in both the bar and restaurant was never cold and once was served in a hot glass. At a family dinner in the restaurant it all seemed very hurried with the staff removing empty plates while some members of the group were still eating - they should have waited until we were all finished and the pasta was not cooked. That said I would still visit again

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room otherwise the foliage outside makes the room very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsbarkasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We are so happy to hear your comments and to know that overall your experience was as good as you expected like to come back.
Regarding your experience in the restaurant, we'll follow up on the bar tenders' service and the waiters carefulnes with the Wines temperature, aside that, you also mention an excellent area of opportunitym which is service in our restaurant, Next time you visit us you'll see a diference and we'll make everything is in our hands to make our guests' experience as comfortable and pleasant as you deserve.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Wanted to give 5 stars but our experience was a bit mixed. Hotel has the cool factor, grounds, rooms were pristine, location perfect. Breakfast - great selection. Check in - we were not able to check in until 3pm which made for a long wait (6 hours!) Our rooms were across the road from the main hotel area. This was ok but on Saturday nights they cater for weddings in this area, and unfortunately this particular one partied until 2:20am! Not so good when you have a 3:30am pick up! Out of a two night stay we had turn down service for one night which was a lovely touch. Honestly was a lovely hotel but avoid the weekends if you want peace and quiet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank warrenjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate very much your review on Trip Advisor, it makes our team glad to know you've enjoyed our facilities and Breakfast.
We are sorry for the wait at check in, we have a great occupancy rate which makes us difficult to provide early check ins. Regarding noise on the rooms area, we'll for sure follow up on this matter to prevent this kind of inconveniences to happen again to our guests, our main priority is to provide an amazing stay to every guest and we apologize we did not accomplish your expectations.
We hope to have an opportunity to be at your service again in the future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

I just got back from a night in Antigua at the Porta Hotel. The tiny entrance way on the side of the road is deceiving. Behind the beautiful entrance lies a gorgeous property. The Scarlett McCaws in the trees, the junglesque trees and a very clean pool all add to this wonderful experience. The room faced the garden and pool and i loved the wooden feel to it. The bar staff were super attentive and kind. They had venders in the corridor that were great. Overall, I was super impressed and felt safe and relaxed. I highly recommend this hotel. The only thing I will call a downside is that because of the space its a bit of a walk to the rest of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GloryAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Glory,
Thank you so much for sharing such great experience with the traveler community on Trip Advisor. We hope to be at you service again very soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Aventura, Florida
43
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Room very cozy with A/C, fan and comfortable bed. Bathroom with bath tub and warm shower. Our room was located in a quiet place. The staff is very nice and friendly. Hotel location is very good and hotel offers a parking lot for the guests cars.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing such great experience with the traveler community on Trip Advisor. We hope to be at you service again very soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The porta hotel has wonderful food and a great spa.... the rooms in 500 section are much quieter from the 300's and a nice smaller pool close by..... great location and lovely staff...the couches in the front are soooo comfortable and a great meeting spot.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Mrs. Sandra Z,
We appreciate so much your comments!
It's been a pleasure to be at your service, we hope you come back soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.8 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#13 of 75 in Antigua
539 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 75 in Antigua
430 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#10 of 75 in Antigua
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: RM536 - RM887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing