We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$153
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$138
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Daniel(Antigua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$86
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posada de la Luna(Antigua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cirilo(Antigua)
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Villa Serena(Antigua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Doozy Koala(Antigua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
677
254
39
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
254
39
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground tunnelcaravan tourkids clublarge poolbreakfast buffetbeautiful hotelthe main hotelbeautiful groundstamalesceiling fanhigh ceilingsworking fireplacelarge hotelfiltered waterfew blockstwo double bedswould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Wanted to give 5 stars but our experience was a bit mixed. Hotel has the cool factor, grounds, rooms were pristine, location perfect. Breakfast - great selection. Check in - we were not able to check in until 3pm which made for a long wait (6 hours!) Our rooms were across the road from the main hotel area. This was ok but on Saturday nights they cater for weddings in this area, and unfortunately this particular one partied until 2:20am! Not so good when you have a 3:30am pick up! Out of a two night stay we had turn down service for one night which was a lovely touch. Honestly was a lovely hotel but avoid the weekends if you want peace and quiet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank warrenjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate very much your review on Trip Advisor, it makes our team glad to know you've enjoyed our facilities and Breakfast.
We are sorry for the wait at check in, we have a great occupancy rate which makes us difficult to provide early check ins. Regarding noise on the rooms area, we'll for sure follow up on this matter to prevent this kind of inconveniences to happen again to our guests, our main priority is to provide an amazing stay to every guest and we apologize we did not accomplish your expectations.
We hope to have an opportunity to be at your service again in the future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

I just got back from a night in Antigua at the Porta Hotel. The tiny entrance way on the side of the road is deceiving. Behind the beautiful entrance lies a gorgeous property. The Scarlett McCaws in the trees, the junglesque trees and a very clean pool all add to this wonderful experience. The room faced the garden and pool and i loved the wooden feel to it. The bar staff were super attentive and kind. They had venders in the corridor that were great. Overall, I was super impressed and felt safe and relaxed. I highly recommend this hotel. The only thing I will call a downside is that because of the space its a bit of a walk to the rest of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GloryAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Glory,
Thank you so much for sharing such great experience with the traveler community on Trip Advisor. We hope to be at you service again very soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Aventura, Florida
44
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Room very cozy with A/C, fan and comfortable bed. Bathroom with bath tub and warm shower. Our room was located in a quiet place. The staff is very nice and friendly. Hotel location is very good and hotel offers a parking lot for the guests cars.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing such great experience with the traveler community on Trip Advisor. We hope to be at you service again very soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The porta hotel has wonderful food and a great spa.... the rooms in 500 section are much quieter from the 300's and a nice smaller pool close by..... great location and lovely staff...the couches in the front are soooo comfortable and a great meeting spot.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Mrs. Sandra Z,
We appreciate so much your comments!
It's been a pleasure to be at your service, we hope you come back soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful hotel but... the king size bed room we reserved wasn't available so we took a room with two full size beds. The bell boy was very sweet but the front desk did nothing. Cute room with great toiletries, at least. But, it was right next to the road so we heard that noise, and the pool was close by so we also had that noise. Pool was beautiful. Lastly though, the hotel was full of parties and it seemed like the hotel cared most about those clients. There are other rooms available across the street where it is quieter but it's a little isolated over there. Overall, would recommend, but was just noisy and didn't feel super personal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sadoffn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments, we apologize for the inconveniences in our front desk, we'll for sure be taking actions to prevent similar situations to happen again in a near future. We'll work to make our service as personalized as our guest deserve it.
We hope to have the oportunnity to be at your service again.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews