We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada de la Luna(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Villa Serena(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Daniel(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Doozy Koala(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cirilo(Antigua)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
684
258
39
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
258
39
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground tunnelcaravan tourkids clublarge poolbreakfast buffetbeautiful hotelthe main hotelbeautiful groundstamalesceiling fanworking fireplacelarge hotelhigh ceilingsfiltered waterfew blockswould highly recommend this hoteltwo double beds
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Like all the hotels in Antigua, you don't see what you get until you pass the front door. This is a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds and swimming pool, beautiful flower arrangements in the lobby and a cozy bar. The room was a good size as well as the bathroom. It was a bit dark inside due to some vegetation outside the window but then you probably spend most of your time relaxing outside. We didn't eat there but I know they have a breakfast buffet. We felt very comfortable there. One can reach just about any place in Antigua on foot.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Picco48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Guest,
We are so glad to listen your kind comments which motivate our team to continue to provide the best in class service to all of our guests.
Hope that you can visit us again soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

They really know their job! It’s clean it’s relaxing is glorious ... I got the relaxation one very professional the vapor room is great the personal is helpful, after that we got lunch at the restaurant which the service needs to put some more attention.. is the opposite to the spa, but the food is good....

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pattylonzo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Pattylonzo8,
It's a pleasure to know thatwe have meet your expectations in Ceiba Spa. We'll follow up on your comments regarding service in the restaurant and improve to make our guests' experience as pleasant as they deserve.

Hope that you come to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Like a number of others, my wife and I came to Porta Hotel Antigua as part of a Caravan country tour, spending two nights here. The hotel was beautiful, our room opening from an open-air courtyard, providing "outdoor" quiet from the street noises. The underground tunnel connection between buildings (we roomed in one, ate in the other) provided a quirky connection and private route across the street dividing the buildings. The hotel location was very convenient to walks through Antigua and, in the opposite direction, provided a clear view of the cone of our neighborhood volcano. We enjoyed our stay completely!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank deburkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Mr. deburkins,
Thank you so much for sharing such great comments regarding your recent stay as part of the Caravan tour. We are so glad that you've enjoyed your stay so much and really hope that you come to visit us again soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

It is an old building which is what I expected and desired at an old city that should be preserved...but...the amenities are modern and the service superb. The rooms very clean. The beds were comfortable and the sheets and pillows obviously new. The restaurant offers excellent food. I really enjoyed my stay there .

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LUIS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Luis, G,
We really appreciate your comments regarding your most recent visit to Porta Hotel Antigua. We are so glad that you have found superb service, as well as modern amenities and colonial but well maintained facilities that may your experience as pleasant as you expected.
Hope that you come to visit us again in a near future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We stayed in a garden room at the Porta, near the restaurant and pool. The room was large, and featured the first comfortable beds we'd experienced in Guatemala, with lots of pillows and the kinds of amenities you expect in upscale properties -- robe, slippers, heavenly scented bathroom soaps/shampoos, and -- important for Guatemala -- in-room filtered water. The fireplace added a nice touch, though it's hard to imagine that it's ever used. We also appreciated the evening bed turndown featuring a different candy each night.

There were a few minor issues, the biggest one being that our room did not include any information about the hotel or its services. I don't think I've ever stayed in a place that didn't even have a map. Surprising considering that it's so massive and apparently includes a few buildings -- we only saw the main building, and it's something of a maze -- a few times I saw people who seemed a little lost. I know there's a fitness center but we never found it. The pool doesn't open until 9 am, so if you prefer a pre-breakfast workout, you're out of luck!

The location is ideal! We ran around Antigua during the day, and were always within a ten-minute walk from the hotel. It's conveniently located, yet not in the middle of a noisy area.

Helpful and highly professional staff, a little impersonal but at that point in the journey, I was happy to stay in a place with comfortable beds and hot showers featuring unpolluted water. Feels way more luxurious than the price suggests.

Room Tip: Garden view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EmanneercsAllowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Guests,
It's been a pleasure to be at your service during your most recent visit to this magical City stopped in time. We are so glad that the room amenities were a great touch for you and made your experience as pleasant as you expected.
We'll take care of providing easy access to Property information to guests in rooms, as well of changing pool opening schedule.
Hope that you come to visit us again in a near future!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews