We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$120
US$55
View deal
Hotels.comUS$55
Booking.comUS$64
eDreamsUS$64
StayForLongUS$120
PricelineUS$64
Trip.comUS$80
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
124
90
52
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
90
52
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance roof terrace air conditioning street noise echoey guatemala
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2020 via mobile

I had the pleasure of visiting Hotel Carmel while stuck in Guatemala after the president shut the borders due to the coronavirus. We are the only three staying at the hotel and these people have been perfect. They serve breakfast in the morning they’re opening the bar at night. They have been kind and courteous and respectful and overly sympathetic to our cause. They slashed the price in half because they know we’re stuck. If I ever get back here I will absolutely visit this place again the city is beautiful and I can’t say more about the staff here.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 976DawnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Carmen Hotel, General Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2020

Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

When we arrived the man i the reception wouldn't let us in until we had paid the fee in full. But as we were unsure about what card to use we needed wi-fi to check the status of our accounts.
The man was extremely hesitant to do this. We had to literally swear to pay a.s.a.p. to get the wi-fi password. This was a bad start of our stay at El Carmen, and one that we found rude and unnecessary.
Apart from that, the hotel has a great location very close to the heart of Antigua, a good breakfast served on the roof terrance, and a comfortable bed. Our room was extremely small, but this probably varies from room to room.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcarmenhotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Thank you for letting us know about this. We’re sorry you had a bad experience with our staff. We will make sure this doesn’t happen again. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location in Antigua and the breakfast served on our terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

This hotel is well located in easy reach of the main tourist areas.

Rooms open onto an internal courtyard which can mean it’s a little echoey and noisy at times and the only window in our room was also onto the courtyard so there was no natural light in the room.

The room was well equipped and had air conditioning. The bed in our room was super comfy- the best I’ve ever experienced in a hotel. The bathroom was lovely, clean and modern. The shower head was fixed to the ceiling making it a bit tricky to rinse long hair.

Breakfast is served on the roof terrace which has a great volcano view.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank samsara10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcarmenhotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location in Antigua, our breakfast served in the terrace and our rooms, especially our beds. We hope that you had a pleasant stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

Small hotel, authentically furnished, very clean and comfortable with good aircon and wifi. Small outdoor roof terrace where they provide an excellent cooked breakfast at no extra charge as you watch the live volcano puffing away in the distance. Get an inside room if you can - the outside ones suffer from street noise from vehicles navigating the busy cobbled road: earplugs are good. Easy walk to main attractions.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Janekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcarmenhotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast served at our terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

This is a decent hotel within walking distance from most attractions in Antigua. They offer wonderful breakfast. The rooms are decent and clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks good English.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank simonegY4884NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcarmenhotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

Thank you for your comments Simone, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location in Antigua and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews