We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, fun, "cool" hotel”
Review of Hotel Luxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Luxe
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2015

When we were parking our car, a couple who were just leaving said they'd had a great visit, but it wasn't a great hotel. We left wondering what they could have meant. The staff was lovely, the decor was fun, the room was large and comfortable, and the location was excellent. We'd thought about staying inside the Diocletian's Palace and were SO glad we didn't. Everything was a short walk, and that short walk was a terrific buffer. Even the breakfast was consistently delicious. We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 206 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2015

Feb 27, 2015 we booked 3 Superior Douible rooms with sea view for May 25-27, 2015. Our tour guide in Croatia went into the hotel herself early May to reconfirm the rooms would be together and exactly what was reserved. When we arrived, two rooms were on separate floors and the third room was not available at all. The desk clerk said that for the inconvenience of not having the correct type of third room, she would "uipgrade" us to a suite. At the last moment she mentioned that the suite did not have a sea view and was on the first floor. After much arguing and her calling the manager, they offered us 20% discount on the rate for the third room.
We went to the "Suite" and it was HORRENDOUS!!! 4 star hotel. Cheesey purple, grey and dirty white carpet, cheesey slippery grey junky fabric on couch, looking out on airshaft. My 10 year old granddaughter would have decorated better. We argued some more. They offered a bottle of champagne and two massages. Turns out they could not find any champagne and we had no time/interest in the massages. All I really needed them to have said was "we are sorry. Our mistake. First night free." They dealt with the problem in a very unprofessional way. The place is a horror show of plastic. Every container in the hotel and outside is filled to the brim with plastic flowers and feathers. Sort of a funky bordello look. For a place that displays Tripadvisor awards for 2013,2014 and 2015, I was stunned. What appearance, service or whatever brought them those plaques? Tripadvisor, ask for the plaques to be taken back.

Room Tip: ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RitaTarrytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxeSplit, General Manager at Hotel Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear RitaTarrytown,

Your review is pretty shocking and totally malicious.

Indeed, we've changed your room for a suite; therefore upgraded your stay into higher and more expensive room category. The only lack of suite compared to room booked was a sea view and that is why we offered 20% discount or a bottle of champagne and 2 massages.
Your reaction to this room change and offered compensation was a clear blackmail by wanting us to offer a free first night stay, or you'll write negative review. And you’ve repeatedly threaten with bad review if we don’t offer free night.
We have many bottles of champagne on storage at any time, but you've refused it and insisted on full refund.

We of course couldn't accept your claim as it is unrealistic; so we've proceeded with 20% discount that has been reimbursed immediately upon your check out.

In return you’ve posted this malicious and abusing review addressing hotel; staff; designer; and worst of all, (perhaps without attention) to all our happy and satisfied guests who enjoyed hotel, staff, designs, furniture, equipment, service and general atmosphere in the hotel. Funny, that among other guests is also your friends who have been very happy with their rooms and hotel in general; particularly with staff and service.

At the end of the day, your review tells more about you and all those people who arrive to hotels with intention to blackmail, threaten and demand large discounts in return of favorable reviews on Tripadvisor and elsewhere, regardless if something went really wrong or not.

I’m sure readers will conclude themselves if we’ve been righteous towards you and You towards us.

With kind regards,

Josip Čulić
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We had a romantic getaway long weekend in Split. The hotel turned out to be an excellent choice. The location is good, quite central but not noisy. The room was clean, modern with a nice balcony overviewing the harbour. Breakfast was very tasty and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wyld_heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

I stayed here for one night and found the room to be very comfortable. The hotel has a modern feel and all the facilities of a small four star hotel.

Choose a room with a sea view for a great view of the port which is less than five minutes walk away, along with the bus and train stations.

Breakfast was adequate; not a huge selection as I've seen in some hotels but plenty to keep you going during the day.

The hotel has free WiFi which seemed fast and reliable and was able to store our luggage until later in the day.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea-view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Enjoyed our 3 day stay in Hotel Luxe. Room was very nice, would always recommend the room with balcony because the view was awesome, staff were very helpful. The location for me is the hotels greatest aspect. Very close to the palace and center. Breakfast was small but decent. Parking is the biggest issue as its in a very tight alleyway and a walk to the hotel would be hard if someone had big bags.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abdulrahman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxeSplit, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Dear Abdulrahman A,

Thank you for your honest comments. Feedback helps us to improve every aspect of the Hotel Luxe experience.

It is a delight reading that the location of our hotel brought you so much satisfaction during your visit. We are also particularly excited you have found our rooms to be very well designed for your needs.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Luxe in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Josipa Parčina
guest relations

on behalf of Luxe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
2.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.6 km away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#6 of 56 in Split
491 reviews
0.3 km away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Divota Apartment Hotel
1.2 km away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
0.5 km away
Piazza Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxe

Address: Kralja Zvonimira 6, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Split
Price Range: RM364 - RM1,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxe 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to imagine that in the same place where a factory was built almost 100 years ago today stands Dalmatia's most exciting and fashionable boutique hotel. Within steps of the ancient city of Split you can now enjoy old world charm and state of the art luxury. Hotel Luxe features comfortable and modern rooms, a cozy wellness area, dining room and lobby bar with a view of the city life of Split. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing