We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost but not quite”
Review of Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Park
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Quite well located at the main beach, 10 mins walk to the city center. The renovations are very comfortable, fresh and fittings are top quality. We booked a room for 3 people including our 14 year old and was given a room only with a large double bed, they solved it with a folding bed but the room became very cramped. Our room 214 was also sharing a wall with the service room so I was woken easily by banging of trolleys etc plus every time the service door was accessed the back draft would make our door rattle adding one more irritating noise.
The pool area is reserved for hotel guests and was quite nice but the lounge area is small and you need to hold a place early if you are 3 people we had one bad experience when a group of 7 people came in off the street and were drinking heavily and smoking in the pool and being generally loud and annoying and the staff did nothing and even served them drinks in the pool, in the meantime hotel guests missed out on lounges. I told the concierge and he insisted it was a one off and wouldn't happen again. There was no fixed fee for airport transfer this should be negotiated with front desk which was a bit odd, the service in all areas of the hotel though very friendly was not 5 star which is understandable for the age of modern tourism to the area it's hard to get experienced people. The hotel itself is very well appointed and comfortable breakfast was wonderful and in that regard deserves the 5 star rating but misses out on the points I made, easily fixed if they want.

Room Tip: Room 214 is next to the service room, lots of noise.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELPARK1921, Director of Sales at Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

We are very sorry for all of your disturbances and inconveniences. Our hotel tries its best to satisfy each and every costumer as best as we can. We invite you to stay with us again because we enjoyed your company so much. We hope you will consider choosing us again so we can redeem your impression and make you feel more welcome and more important to us! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed for several nights in high season having booked the rooms before Christmas. We looked out the back away from the sea to a quiet residential area which was fine. Neither room had a chest of drawers -just a large wardrobe- which made unpacking impossible. The designer must have assumed all occupants were over nighters. We ate out each night as the restaurant was always empty, and no effort was made to tempt us to stay. Pool smallish but lovely. However designer also allowed for half the number of sun beds needed, and too many coffee tables. Inevitably northern Europeans blocked beds with their towels and used them later in the day. I felt sorry for the staff handling complaints. Cold towels were brought round - nice touch. Truely excellent breakfast with large variety of options on offer. Used the bar a couple of times - so rarely used that the drinks are brought from elsewhere. One night was great, but the second had staff who were unfamiliar with the stock and what it was made of/tasted. Reception staff very helpful. Good location -we got the airport bus to the port, and rolled our bags along to the hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank JaneofPettsWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELPARK1921, Director of Sales at Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hotel Park cordially thanks you for your review. We are sorry you found our wardrobe insufficient. We will surely have that considered. We loved having you at our hotel and hope to see you soon so we can give you the best service we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We are a family of four and we stayed in this hotel with a deluxe seaview suite. The suite itself had a separate living area but was not as large as we expected it would be so we were cramped with a family our size. The Junior suite would have been cheaper when we were there and I wonder if it may have afforded more space?

Also the seaview we had was not as spectacular as I expected. It was diffuse to see out of one corner window and there were trees in the way. So not an unobstructed seaview at all.

The pool was lovely but very small for a hotel of this size. While we got a subbed everytime we used the pool we were always grabbing the last two so the hotel is in need of a larger pool area to cater for all guests. Also the poolside service for drinks and snacks was slow. Not slow to bring orders but slow to ask if you would like to order anything. The bar is quite a distance from the pool.

The breakfast buffet was good. Not an extensive selection but you can order ala carte and the pancakes were worth ordering.

One of the big issues for us was he lack of casual dining options for lunch. There is one restaurant only and it is a fine dining restaurant which is not ideal when you are seeking a quick family lunch. We had a lovely lunch there the first day but feel it was very pricey for what it was.

The service everywhere was very friendly and attentive and staff were happy to help us arrange excursions etc.

The rooms and hotel interior generally were lovely and have been very nicely updated not too long ago, while still maintaining that "grand old hotel" feel.

The location of this hotel was not ideal. We were repeatedly told we were less than a 10 minute walk from the old Palace area but each time we walked it with the children it was at least 20 minutes and there are hills so it is by no means a gentle stroll. We ended up resorting to taxis later in our stay instead. Although it is worth noting there is car parking at this hotel. Also there are very few casual eating places in the vacinity outside the hotel so it is not easy to pop out for a casual dinner a block or two from the restaurant. Travelling further afield closer to the old palace is required for more dining options.

All in all we as a lovely stay here and would return for sure if we are in the area again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Theabs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent and relaxing holiday, i enjoyed the rooms,food , beauty centre and service, including 3 times daily change of bath towels, the beach is right in front of this amazing hotel, everything is beyond 5 star level, and im sure ill come back,

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank filomenatomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELPARK1921, Manager at Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you for your kind words! Hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Everything was five star worthy, the room was exceptional and the staff were very friendly. The decoration for our room was lovely as it was our anniversary. Hoping to come back again and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELPARK1921, Manager at Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

We enjoyed having you at the hotel! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
1.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
1.0 km away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
1.1 km away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#6 of 56 in Split
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#21 of 56 in Split
552 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 56 in Split
690 reviews
0.8 km away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park

Address: Hatzeov Perivoj 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Split
#7 Business Hotel in Split
#7 Romantic Hotel in Split
#11 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range: RM889 - RM3,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Park 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searching for an ideal spot in which to build his impressive palace, 1700 years ago the Roman emperor Diocletian decided to settle on the Adriatic Sea coast which is bathed in Mediterranean sunshine for 270 days a year. Today, the palace represents the historic center of the city of Split and is under the protection of UNESCO. In the course of the centuries from the construction of the palace until today, numerous statesmen and aristocrats, distinguished businessmen and politicians, the elite of the European cultural scene, as well as a number of popular movie and sports stars have been coming to Split for a royal treatment. Since 1921, Park Hotel has been the only prestigious hotel in this part of the Mediterranean to provide such impeccable service and elegant ambiance within the stone walls of its sophisticated establishment. In 2015, Park Hotel, the crown jewel of the hotel industry of the city and the region, was fully renovated and refurbished, once again paving the road for new and even higher standards of supreme and unique hotel services. Its characteristic aesthetic values have been preserved, highlighted by the refined Art Deco style interior of the restaurant, lobby, winter garden and 72 rooms, which feature discreet elements of modern technology. The elegant charm of the hotel is further accentuated by a professional and discreet service provided by the hotel staff. Park Hotel is a story which you want to experience. At least once in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing