We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel ”
Review of Hotel Marul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marul
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Centrally located in Split, newly renovated and plenty of hot water, helpful and pleasant staff, and bountiful breakfast included. Inner court yard beautifully maintained, where dinner is served.. excellent fresh local fish paired with Croatian wine. Pleasant stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMarulTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write such a complete and wonderfully positive review of a stay at Hotel Marul Split. It makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our hotel, most of all we are happy about your praise on the quality, service and our entire staff. Also glad that you liked Croatian wine and fish.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

With best regards,
Hotel Marul Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

We spent two nights here. We were able to walk to the Old City and sea front with ease. Our room was spacious and well equipped but as it was at the top of the building beware of the slopping ceilings. We ate in the hotel on one occasion and the food was good. Breakfasts were good with many options available. It was a Great hotel for spending our first nights in Croatia where the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, finding and returning my glasses left in a taxi within twenty minutes ,

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank richgcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMarulTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your very kind message. It was a pleasure having the opportunity of having you as our guests! We will certainly share your comments with the rest of the team. We are constantly striving to improve our guest services and also other things about hotel.
We hope to welcome you back at the Marul Hotel for your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We spent two nights at their apartments next door to the actual hotel. The apartment was great and had everything that we needed. We stayed with our friends so we had three apartments.
The staff is amazing and made a doctor appointment for my son and helped us with parking and walked to find my husband who was lost trying to find the parking. Which is literally across the street from the apartment!
The location is safe and literally a two second walk to the walled old town. Highly recommend this place. The breakfast was great and they have a lovely lunch in the garden patio.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookdznr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMarulTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Sirs, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate your kind words of praise for our appartments, service, and staff. There is no bigger reward for our efforts than to have a guest as satisfied with all our hotel has to offer as you are. We hope that we will be your choice again when visiting Split. Best regards from our entire Hotel Marul Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Our group (3 couples) stayed here for 3 nights. The location is great and you can walk to everything. The hotel is clean and nice- the owners clearly take pride in the hotel. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurant staff were AWESOME- they observed our preferences and within 1 day had it down and catered to us - made us feel very special. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annemari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMarulTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Mrs. Annemari , Thank you and entire group for taking the time to share your review! We appreciate you recognized all our service qualities since we put a great effort into providing highest standards to all our guests. It would be our greatest pleasure if you would decide to visit us again. Best regards from our entire Hotel Marul Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

1) Location is amazing - right off the old city and palace, walkable to everything. Has a lovely courtyard, and some rooms have balconies that look onto it.

2) Great breakfast included - half buffet with made-to-order options like eggs and crepes (don't be confused by them incorrectly being labeled pancakes on the menu).

3) Staff was awesome! So welcoming. Simon, who drove my airport shuttle, was a particular standout.

4) Rooms are solid - good amenities, great bathroom. They are more similar to a 3-star Sheraton or Marriott in the states than a 4-star property in terms of features and quality.

5) Pricing around airport shuttle was slightly confusing and shady. Expedia confirmation said it was offered for 20 euros. Hotel stated when I asked it was 40 euros. Then was charged in kroners and made to pay in cash to a number that is not exactly equivalent to 40 euros. Seemed a bit shady to me.

Overall, great stay, though would take an Uber and avoid shady transport arrangements next time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 km away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
2.7 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.7 km away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#9 of 58 in Split
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Piazza Heritage Hotel
0.2 km away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#7 of 58 in Split
500 reviews
0.4 km away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marul

Address: Ciril-Metodova 7, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Split
Price Range: RM355 - RM2,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marul 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marul is set 500 metres from UNESCO-protected Diocletian's Palace and features an a la carte restaurant and a bar. Its modern air-conditioned rooms comprise an LCD satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. Decorated in pastel tones, all rooms are fitted with minibar, safe and a private bathroom with shower or a bath tub. Some units offer a furnished balcony. The popular Riva Promenade with numerous bars, restaurants and charming shops can be reached in a 10-minute walk, while the well-known Bacvice Beach is 1.5 From the property. Hotel Marul offers bike and car rental service at a surcharge. There is a children playground next to the property. Ferry and Catamaran Port with lines to islands of Korcula, Vis and Hvar, is located 1 km away. Split Airport is at a distance of 21 km. Parking is available at near public parking and it's price is 10,00 EUR per day and vehicle. Rooms Room type: Standard Double or Twin Room Decorated in pastel tones, this air-conditioned room features a flat-screen satellite TV, minibar, safe and bathroom with free toiletries. Room type: Superior Double or Twin Room Luxury decorated, this spacious air-conditioned room features a flat-screen satellite TV, minibar and a laptop safe box. The bathroom with shower or a bath tub includes free toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing