We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay! Convenient, Quiet, Hospitable.”
Review of Apartments Beslema

Apartments Beslema
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments Beslema
Ranked #237 of 516 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Since Booking.com requires reviews to be written in 28 days (I thought it was 30!), I missed the cut-off date, but I wanted it noted that we had a lovely stay here in May 2015. We booked the “Comfort One-Bedroom Apartment” which was basic but exceptionally clean. WiFi included. Satellite TV included, although not much for English-speaking channels which has been typical in my travel experience. The view of the old city was beautiful. The hosts, who don't speak much English, and their coordinator Ivana were gracious and accommodating. Ivana was very responsive via e-mail and speaks English fluently. We took them up on their offer to have airport transfer upon arrival for 30Euros which I noted was 5Euros less than the going rate listed at the airport. The only thing, as noted in other online reviews, is the hot water and the shower fixtures are scalding hot. Since the shower is so small, it’s very easy to knock the knob and turn the water to _even more_ scalding hot. We never ran out of hot water, so I guess the water temperature is the trade-off for two people having full hot showers, but please be careful!

The address should be updated to Zagrebacka 34, Gornji Kono in Dubrovnik. The location hasn't changed. As I understand it, Dubrovnik renamed some of the roads.

As other online reviews have pointed out, there are a lot of steps from the street Zagrebacka to the apartment entrance, but it's akin to climbing to a third floor. There's a nice little cafe where you can purchase bottled drinks and pastries, Caffe bar Pinky, that is a minute's walk away on Zagrebacka. The old city is a five minute walk downhill (so it's uphill on the way back!) but the view is worth the walk.

If you're looking for a no-frill, convenient, quiet location, I have no hesitation in recommending Apartments Beslema.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wutz0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Found apartment through Booking.com. Very impressed on arrival with the Sea View, and view of very pretty Old Town.
We were made to feel very welcome by Maria (Milos mother) who carried one of our bags up the 50 odd steps from the road, and then made us a glass of homemade grape juice on arrival!
Be warned approx 50 odd steps from road to Apartment, and approx 150 steps to Old Town.
Dubrovnik old town is beautiful!
Caught the bus to Cavtat (turn left out of hotel and bus stop is next to Cable Car) definitely worth a day there. Quieter beach than Banje beach.
Walked around the City Walls which is worth a look, very hot and lots of steps again but the views are worth it, and plenty of places to stop for drinks and ice creams.
Went on glass bottomed boat only took an hour but again had some great photo opportunities.
Beslema Beach very nice, we treated ourselves to a four poster bed!
Was planning on doing a couple of day trips to Montenegro and Korcula but just ran out of time!
Prices very reasonable for food and drink - think its because they havent joined the Euro yet.
Food nice wouldnt recommend anywhere in particular, Sky Bar for cheap cocktails!
Only downside was the last day......
Met the owner Milos on the final day as we had pre-arranged him to take us to Airport. We had tried to see him a few times during the week but he was never around. Was a bit disappointed as we had read on reviews what a great guy he was and how informative he was!
As we were leaving for him to take us to the Airport he asked if we had paid for our room, I honestly thought I had paid when I made the booking so I apologised profusely and offered to pay via credit card, to which he said No, cash only! He did take us to a Bank but I dont think he was very happy about it. We felt like we were made out to be criminals when we had genuinely made a mistake by not reading the small print on the booking documentation. Very uncomfortable drive in silence to the Airport! If we were trying to get away with paying surely we wouldnt have asked him to take us to the Airport!!!!! He made no effort to speak to us! Did kind of take the shine off our last day but it has not spoilt our Dubrovnik experience! Would definitely go back to Croatia!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gemma833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We found these apartments on Dubrovnik online. The views are fantastic, the gardens lovely and the welcome from Milos and his Mother Maria is wonderful. The studios are excellent. Very clean and well equipped, plenty of hot water available. Milos also provides lots of excellent tourist information. You do have 56 + steps from the road up to the studio, but it is well worth it. Once back on the road, there are shops nearby. If you cross the road, at the zebra crossing you then continue 240m to Pile Gate - down150 + steps. Please don't let the steps put you off - there are alternative ways to walk up and down to the city, and all its attractions. Turn left and 10 mins takes you to the New Cable Car, well worth the effort, also here you can catch a bus to Cavtat, and to the Airport. Milos will pick you up at the Airport, and we were glad we arranged that with him - it was 32degrees and too hot to be wandering around with luggage! Resaurants - for Pizza Olivia's, also try Restaurant Alley one flight of steps up from the Stradun - Fabulous service and welcome from Captain's and Moby Dick's. Cheapest boat trips, get your tickets at the harbour.
When using the buses, to make a saving try to always pre-buy your tickets - approx 2 Kuna per trip, per person. You can get them at ticket kiosks, Tourist Info, your Hotel, and Travel Agencies.

3  Thank Billiedoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woojinlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank fvicario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.8 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#4 of 516 in Dubrovnik
185 reviews
4.4 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
2.0 km away
Cocoon Hostel & Apartments
Cocoon Hostel & Apartments
#135 of 516 in Dubrovnik
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Beslema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Beslema

Address: Zrinsko-Frankopanska 18, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 516 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: RM237 - RM436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apartments Beslema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing