We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very- very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Stay in this particular hotel when you are in Dubrovnik, if you can. Thugh it is not in the center, bus # 6 will take you into town in 25 minutes. And you will have the best of both worlds - comfort and stunning nature around the hotel and easy trip to the noisy but beautiful and enchanting Dubrovnik. Don';t skip the buffet dinner in the hotel - it is gurmet food for the fast food joint price. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the first floor - they were very cold in May, ut might get better in the summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all Valamar Argosy staff I thank you for this remarkable recommendation. We are very happy to know you had such a great holiday and enjoyed your stay with us.. We are already looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

My Best Regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Argosy hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 567 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2015

Nice hotel, Grounds public areas really nice restaurant busy, too much choice, food ok. couple of guys cooking stuff.
Room good, no tea coffee making facilities, would have expected, bar prices higher than average.
Pool area excellent great views all around. great views of Cruise Ships coming in

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank MalcolmPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you for sharing your feedback with other travellers. We are glad we have met your expectation, although I feel there is obviously more room for us to mesmerize you. It will be our future task if you decide to visit us again.
On behalf of all Valamar Argosy staff I send you sincere regards.

Belinda L. Božanja – Valamar Argosy hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Great location, next to bus stop and beach.
Copacabana beach is five minutes away- perfect for swimming and snorkelling. Between the beach and the hotel there is a mall with souvenir shops and several great restaurants.

The hotel itself has amazing facilities; outdoor pool is cold but worth it for the views. The indoor pool is nice and toasty.

The hotel also has an ATM- very handy!

The restaurant buffets are good, but a little lacking for vegetarians. The breakfast buffet is fine but I'd skip the dinner buffet (pricey at 160KN p.p) and go to a restaurant in the Old City or in the nearby mall.

Overall- great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Valamar Argosy for your recent stay in our city and for your review on TripAdvisor.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we will be delighted if you give us your trust again on your next visit to Dubrovnik.
In the meantime, please receive my best regards.

Sincerely yours,

Belinda L. Božanja – Valamar Argosy hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Just a short bus ride from Dubrovnik's old town, the Argosy is one of several Valamar properties on the Western fringe of the city. There was no beach: who needs one when there is a terrace with sun beds and an infinity pool looking out onto the Elefati islands? There are beaches within a short walk.

The restaurant is the usual buffet style, but the food is varied and reasonable. If you tire of the same-old, same-old, there are several restaurants within an easy five-minute stroll.
Rooms are spacious, we had small balcony with a sunset view, away from the main lobby, courtyard bar and atrium. There is also an indoor pool, gym, sauna and 'wellness facilities.

The free WiFi service. is reasonable all around the hotel,though it drops out too often for continuous use. One other little gripe was that the restaurant outdoor terrace was too badly lit to see our food after sunset.

All in all, a great experience. Enjoy it before they put the prices up!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Dear Guest,
I thank you for sharing with everyone such lovely impressions about our hotel. It is reviews like yours that obliges us to never stop developing and upgrading our service and professionalism. I am sure next time we will do nothing but our best to meet, once again, your expectations.

I send you my best regards.

Belinda L. Božanja – Valamar Argosy hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015

We loved staying at the Valamar Argosy. The room was spacious and the bathroom even more so. Loads of wardrobe space and an in room safe. The bed was comfy with lovely linen. Staff were friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was a great facility. It was a little bit cool when we arrived so an hour spent relaxing in and round the indoor pool was just what we needed. The outdoor pool was in a beautiful setting. The views were to die for. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. The water was quite cold but because we had good weather it was refreshing to take a dip. The food in the buffet was good. We ate breakfast everyday and there was plenty of choice and well cooked. Fresh fruit and juices, loads of continental items and cooked things like bacon eggs and pancakes. Coffee also quite good quality. We only ate in the evening once but again good choices.

The hotel was in a great location. 5 minute walk down to the bus stop which went to the old walled city. Buses ran every 15 mins, clean and always on time. Buy a three day bus pass from the hotel and it gives you entrance to some attractions in the old city.
For me the only thing that could improve my stay would be tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
We would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a side room with small balcony but I think all rooms have balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RubyTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Wow! What a nice review about our hotel! Thank you so much.
We are very happy you had such a wonderful week for your vacations. And I have to agree with you…The view is absolutely „to die for“ as you say. We also cannot get enough of it.
We are already looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
On behalf of all the team I send you kindest regards.

Belinda L. Božanja – Valamar Argosy hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 km away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
847 reviews
0.2 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.2 km away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
689 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,106 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: RM629 - RM2,416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing