We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
245
75
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
75
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa odak piano bar palm terrace stone patio roman bath hotel restaurants are indoor pool adriatic sea old city beautiful hotel l occitane private access fine dining restaurant four seasons every staff member older part restaurant reservations
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights in a Villa Odak seaview room with balcony - and firstly, the views are spectacular. The location of the hotel, a quick five minute walk from the Old Town, is close enough to feel like you're 'right there' without having to be within the city walls. Since we were driving through Croatia, this was nice, as parking (valet) is very easy - and was a nice luxury after many days of parking outside of walled towns and hoofing it with all our bags to our accommodations.

Staff was all very friendly and helpful. The room was modern and comfortable. The balcony (one heads up, the rooms with balconies are on the lower floors of the Villa Odak building, the higher you go, the smaller the balcony space gets) has an absolutely breathtaking view of the old city. I only wish the chairs on the balcony were more comfortable - we would have spent a ton of time just lounging out there!

The hotel is all very clean and modern, breakfast is excellent - with wonderful views on the outside terrace looking towards the Old Town. The hotel also has a private 'beach' area (a long but scenic stretch of concrete with a ladder to descend to swim)- which even in the colder month of October we thoroughly enjoyed our swim looking out towards Dubrovnik!

All in all, this was a nice, relaxing stay with all the amenities of a luxury hotel. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a 5 star review is the price - it was far, far more expensive than anywhere else we stayed in the country (which we expected) and while I would highly recommend staying here (and would again) it's hard not to balk at the price tag. If I could give it 4.5 stars, I would.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dylan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXC_Dubrovnik, Hotel Director at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dylan H,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience! We are glad that you liked our breakfast offer. Also, it is nice to hear that you were satisfied with your room as well as with our location and facilities. In the end I would like to thank you for mentioning our staff and for sharing that they were friendly and helpful. We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Matea Brnin
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had 5 amazing nights here at the beginning of October, the room was spotless, spacious and we loved having a sea view room overlooking the old town. The bar/terrace was great for having some drinks to end the night or watch the sunset over the old town. The location is perfect, only a short walk from the old town and nice a peaceful. The pool and sunbathing was great to relax in and it was nice to have the option for the spa.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorahh2089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXC_Dubrovnik, Hotel Director at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lorahh2089,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience! We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Matea Brnin
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Excelsior hotel. We had a Villa Odak classic room which had a side view of the sea. The room was very stylish and comfortable. The location was perfect, a short walk to the old town and yet far enough away to be quiet. There were also a couple of small supermarkets on the way to pile gate as well as an ATM across the road. Breakfast was good with an outside terrace where you could sit and enjoy stunning views across the sea and the old town. We had lunch in the hotel one day which was average (didn’t like my burger at all). However, there are plenty of dining options nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel for its location, comfort and style.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Essaouira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXC_Dubrovnik, Hotel Director at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Essaouira,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to write review on TripAdvisor! It is our pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your room and our location. Thank you for mentioning our stunning views.
Sincerely, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Matea Brnin
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You know from the minute you enter the lobby and see the Adriatic through floor to ceiling wall to wall windows that this place will be special.

All the staff were top notch and respectful. The rooms were excellent with lots of space, large double sink bathrooms and an excellent shower!

The restaurant terrace was a great place to have a cocktail or night cap.

The old town is a simple ten minute walk so you could hardly be more convenient.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ensure you spend the extra money for an ocean view room.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXC_Dubrovnik, Hotel Director at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Karval1,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to write review on TripAdvisor! It is our pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your room and restaurant terrace. Thank you for mentioning our staff. Sincerely, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Matea Brnin
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although Dubrovnik has dozens of luxury hotels, Excelsior was on my list. It had a great view of the City Walls from the sea. It was located at the sea, there is no beach but direct access to the crystal clear sea by ladder, and the hotel has an inside pool. It’s a five minute walk to the Old Town inside City Walls. Very convenient. The hotel is a bit in the pricy side as expected from hotels in Dubrovnik. But if you must make sure you book a sea view room preferably a deluxe. There are two sections of the hotel, Villa Odak (older but renovated building) and the newer building. Both have beautifully decorated rooms. I prefer the newer building, go for a deluxe room with sea view. Rooms are really clean. Bathroom has L’occitane products which I really love.

Make sure you make time for the outside lounge/bar it’s really nice with great views and lovely seating.

If you’re arriving by ferry then make sure you contact hotel ahead for transport, the hotel isn’t close by and not easily accessible, plus you might not get a taxi since most people are planning to get one to their accommodation. The airport is approximately 30 min away by car.

Stayed: October 2018
1  Thank theboudoir09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXC_Dubrovnik, Hotel Director at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear theboudoir09,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience! We are glad that you liked our Bar area. Also, it is nice to hear that you were satisfied with your room as well as with our location and facilities. We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Matea Brnin
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews