We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - Superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2015

We had booked a Thomas Cook package with a superior sea view room, but upgraded to a de luxe with balcony, in the old part of the hotel, on arrival. The extra cost was modest, and staff were extremely helpful, allowing us to see several different rooms in order to make our choice. Throughout our stay, we have received excellent service from all hotel staff. The location is outstanding, and the sea front patio and pool is a major asset. Located around a 10 minute stroll from Dubrovnik Old Town, the hotel is very well placed to give east access to the many attractions of this amazing city. A return visit to the Grand Villa Argentina is definitely on the cards.

Room Tip: Best room location is in old part of hotel, or floor 6/7 of new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2015

Dear Martin W
I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of hotel Grand Villa Argentina in Dubrovnik. It is a great pleasure for the personnel of hotel Grand Villa Argentina to read that you have found their service excellent, especially our front office staff. Excellent service and comfortable facilities you have enjoyed, contributed to the pleasantness of your stay. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.
Kind regards
Matea Brnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 511 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2015

On a steep hillside overlooking the Adriatic and Lokrum Island, the Grand Villa Argentina is a classic luxury hotel. The decor was mostly generic hotel modern, with lots of glass to take advantage of the view. Our room was comfortable and clean, with a nice modern bathroom.

All good, nothing bad at all, but nothing remarkable.

The thing that distinguishes the hotel is the view. The hotel has a romantic view of the old city of Dubrovnik and the islands in the bay nearby. Make SURE to get a water-facing room.

The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. The hotel is an easy ten minute walk from the old town, and has a stone patio at the water, no beach though.

Food was fine at the restaurant, breakfast had lots of options.

Room Tip: seaside view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2015

Dear michael g
I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel Grand Villa Argentina. It is a great pleasure to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, which, along with the comfortable facilities you enjoyed, contributed to the pleasantness of your stay. We are also delighted to read that you liked a romantic view of the old city of Dubrovnik and the islands in the bay from your room.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future.
Kind regards
Matea Brnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Being of a certain age we know exactly what we want from an hotel & Grand Villa Argentina was just about perfect for us. Superb location with stunning views, comfortable rooms & knowledgable, friendly & helpful staff.
On the mundane level the lifts were efficient & fast, there was no password nonsense necessary to use the WIFI which worked brilliantly and was free. The bedroom was tastefully & restfully furnished with good lighting, a full length mirror & oh joy a user friendly shower! Just not too sure about the artwork on the walls - but the views from the balcony were spectacular.
An excellent choice was available at the breakfast buffet which was constantly being replenished to ensure freshness. This could be eaten on the main terrace as could dinner where again the choice & quality of both food & service was very good.
There are other lovely small terraces & seats shaded by mature pines & cypresses
which lead down to the outdoor pool at sea level. Here there is a most conscientious & helpful attendant who sets up the sun beds, tables, parasols & brings towels to your chosen spot. The beach bar/cafe is delightfully situated on a terrace under the pines & has a sensible lunchtime menu.
On the downside - just a small thing really! It is possible to reach the pool/beach area by lift & then by walking through a rather intimidating cold tunnel. This could be so much nicer- plenty of scope for improvement by the design team here.
Having said all this it should be noted that we stayed here in May. We hope that the hotel will maintain this high standard during July & August.
Pay for a top floor (7) room with balcony & sea view - you may regret it if you settle for less!

Room Tip: Pay for the best - 7th floor superior balcony & sea view. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Dear Ann B
I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of hotel Grand Villa Argentina in Dubrovnik. It is a great pleasure for the personnel of hotel Grand Villa Argentina to read that you found their service friendly and helpful, which, along with the comfortable facilities you enjoyed, contributed to the pleasantness of your stay.
We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet selection.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.
Kind regards
Matea Brnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Our room had a fabulous sea view where we could watch the cruise boats.be careful when you book as not all rooms have views.
staff were great and the breakfast was delicious.
It's just a short stroll into town

Room Tip: I would recommend the 7th Floor as many views are blocked by buildings and trees and ask for a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Dear HollyFan
I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel Grand Villa Argentina. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.
Kind regards
Matea Brnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We have just returned from an extended weekend in Dubrovnik , where we stayed at the Grand Villa Argentina. The Hotel is closely located to the old city of Dubrovnik and is offering some of the best views one can imagine. Within 10 minutes walk you are in the old city center with all the main attraction , like museums , city wall and some of the best restaurant in the area the same 10 minutes and you will also reach the cable car . There is also a Bus stop right opposite of the main entrance from where you can eventuality catch a bus taking you to all parts of the greater area of Dubrovnik.
While all this sounds wonderful there are some throwbacks with this Hotel. The rooms while offering stunning views are rather small and not offering much luxury one could imagine from a 5 star Hotel , there is a minibar and a TV and that's it , our room 204 did not have a balcony but there are rooms with a balcony too. The Bathroom is rather small with the toilet located in the bathroom this is not what I am used to from other 5 star Hotels , some of the tiles were broken . Another disturbance is that there seem to be little soundproofing between the rooms and "some noise" was coming from other rooms.
While I appreciate that beginning of May is just the start of the season there weren't any sunbeds or beach chairs and the pool got just prepared but was not ready yet.

The breakfast is offered on the 4th floor and if I can recommend one big improvement to the management then it would be the breakfast.
The breakfast is very much a 1980 style 3 star hotel breakfast very basic and from my impression not of high quality products. For example if you like cheese for breakfast you have the choice of toasted cheese still in its plastic wrap or a slice of industrial Edam the same with any ham or fruits. There is some fresh bread and if you are lucky you might even get a muffin.
If you are lucky and the weather permitting you might have breakfast at the terrace that is fantastic , however if you are not so lucky and its raining than you will experience the 1980 breakfast room that is rather depressing.
While there is clearly enough staff to create a 5 star experience, it does not do the trick because the staff on the one side is not attentive enough and if the get into action I feel there are some gaps in skills and behaviors. One example would be that you have just entered the breakfast room, nobody is taking you to your table and it might take up to 10 minutes until somebody is offering coffee or tea and this while they are all very focused on cleaning tables, and discussing or chatting.

To conclude if you like a perfectly located Hotel with stunning views and if you don't mind small rooms and "cheap" breakfast and average service, the Grand Villa Argentina is the place to go. However if you are looking for some 5 star luxury and service you might want to consider another Hotel.

Room Tip: sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lobomarunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Dear lobomarunga
I would like to thank you for staying at our Hotel during your recent visit to Dubrovnik and also for your valued feedback. I am saddened to read that your overall experience in relation to the service provided in the restaurant did not meet your expectations and that our hotel did not meet your expectations in its design. The service received in the restaurant is definitely not the standard we are promoting, and, in the majority of cases – delivering. All the points mentioned regarding breakfast buffet have been taken in consideration and some improvements have already been done. Thank you again for taking the time and for sharing your feedback with us. Should the opportunity arise we would like to welcome you back in Grand Villa Argentina.
Kind regards
Matea Brnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
158 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
2.5 km away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,980 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: RM544 - RM1,790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing