We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money experience in Dubrovnik”
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Very big rooms with all the facilities.10 minutes distance by bus from the old Dubrovnik.
Excellent breakfast with fresh fruits and three kinds of eggs.Big lobby area,perfect wifi system.Excellent price for what they offer(euro 60 per night).

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vaso d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matko_maric, Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you for such a nice review and recommendation of our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We hope you will choose us again if you ever decide to return to magical city of Dubrovnik. In the meantime, on behalf of all staff, please receive my kindest regards.

Sincerely,
Matko Marić,
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

We have had an amazing holiday in Croatia. The hotel is very clean. Very friendly staff. It takes about one hour to walk into the beautiful city of Dubrovnik along a beautiful trailwalk beside the sea right into the harbour. There are lots of little restaurants and cafes around to sit and have a coffee or a drink or even a bite to eat. The hotel restaurant cooks a beautiful breakfast with plenty to choose from and also the evening buffets are superb. Definitely highly recommended :-)

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank chapmanmags2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matko_maric, Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Wow! It is really nice to read your feedback. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful inputs with other travellers and of course your recommendation. We hope you will decide to return to experience little bit more of those nice habits you enjoyed while being here. Nice walk to the old town is definitely one of them. On behalf of hotel staff and me personally, please receive the kindest regards.

Sincerely,
Matko Marić,
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

Very nice and friendly stuff, excellent breakfast, clean and tidy room. I liked the location very much - a little bit away from the city traffic and fantastic views! I would recommend to take the 3 islands boat trip which you can get on the shopping street right there.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jekaterina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matko_maric, Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Dear Guest
I was delighted to read comments regarding your recent stay. I’m happy to read we met all your expectations regarding however your comment for our staff makes me proud.
Thank you very much for taking time to post this review and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again.
Best wishes from all the hotel Tirena staff!

Sincerely,
Matko Marić,
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Tirena for a week with The Travel Department. Overall we were happy with the service We found the staff in the restaurant and at reception extremely helpful which was just as well as on arrival we had a rather "holiday from hell" experience which ,to be fair,was not their fault but a result of the location of the hotel environs.

Having been up since 2 a.m to catch an early flight from Edinburgh we were extremely tired by 9 p.m. and had deliberately stayed up on arrival so we would sleep well and not waste our first day--we went for a walk along the coastal path down by the bay.

However we had been allocated a room(311) directly above the entertainment and bar area at the rear of the hotel overlooking a terrace balcony and plaza.It was Saturday and local young children were playing football and generally enjoying themselves in the afternoon so it was a bit noisy but we knew this would soon stop.However a band played until 11 p.m. and we could hear the music and could not sleep and the bar was noisy too.We waited until 11.0 but the music continued loudly which puzzled us .On opening our sliding door the volume was absolutely deafening and was coming from a bar about 100 metres away in the shopping precinct.There is a tunnel like opening from the plaza into this complex and this was acting as an amplifier directing the noise directly towards the hotel.

It turned out that there was a local wedding party in full swing with those deep Balkan male voices really in fine fettle!

By now it was past 12 p.m and I went to reception to request a change of room for the next day and was given a key to it there and then, so I decided to go and see if the noise would be any less if we took it as we were there for a week. Unfortunately the singing from the bar was about as bad as before, so I took it back and returned to our room to find my wife extremely distressed.I then returned to reception--by now it was past 1 a.m.-and asked for an immediate change of room so we could get some sleep.The receptionist was very helpful and told us to leave our stuff in our present room and come down to a spare room immediately adjacent to the front entrance of the hotel.My wife literally put on clothes over her nightdress and we settled in for the night--peace at last! But at 6 a.m. a motorcyclist arrived then a coach so we decamped back to our room which was quiet at last.

Following a groggy breakfast we were then given a room at the side of the hotel overlooking the park which turned out to be so quiet that we requested a morning call to wake us up for two early excursion trips!! Anyway, alls well that ends well and we found the hotel good for a 3 star hotel with a good quality of food even if the restaurant was rather crowded and noisy if full.The variety was not as much as in a 4-5 star--meats/cereals/deserts for example-but it was perfectly acceptable for the price.

Dubrovnik Old Town is fascinating--a walk around the walls is a must-but it is really a huge tourist trap,not a lived in town as compared to Rhodes for example.All the streets are full of tourist shops and innumerable outside cafes and restaurants.

What really struck us was how extremely litter free the whole area is--literally no litter anywhere and how cheap everything is compared to the U.K. although we had been told Croatia was expensive.The locals are very friendly and helpful.Visiting the islands is also very worth while if you are interested in walking--go down to the harbour for information.Also the cable car to the fort with the war museum but take a coat.

To sum up it was a very enjoyable holiday but avoid any sea view rooms in the Tirena above the plaza and entertainment area at all costs--there were also people coming back to the hotel after a good night out which also didn't help, and people sitting on the balcony having coffee/drinks during the day.

By the way, I am not a Victor Meldrew!!!! Mr.Booth--Edinburgh.

Room Tip: see comment above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rupert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matko_maric, Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extensive review here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback for the reason it gives us the opportunity to upgrade our service and come closer to your expectations and needs.
I truly regret for your “never ending” arrival to Croatia and our hotel. Surely you were exhausted and I can imagine you wanted nothing more but rather a good night sleep.
Thank you for your comment about politeness of our staff and on their and on my own behalf please receive

Best regards,

Matko Marić
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Очень тонкие стены! Каждое слово соседей слышно, но очень красивый вид из окон. Еда хорошая. Номера большие, светлые.

The walls are very thin! We can hear our neighbors every word, but the view outside is beautiful. The food is good. The rooms are high spacious and full of sunlight.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Polina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matko_maric, Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015
Google Translation

Дорогой гость,

Благодарим Вас за выбор нашего отеля местом Вашего отдыха. Мы будем рады встретить Вас снова и сделаем все возможное для Вашего комфортного отдыха.

С уважением,

Матко Марич
Директор отеля

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 km away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 68 in Dubrovnik
861 reviews
0.2 km away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,385 reviews
0.2 km away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,149 reviews
0.4 km away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: RM334 - RM1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing