We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - felt spoilt-rotten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2015

This is an excellent quality hotel right next to the Old Town so perfect for a weekend stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel which started with the beautiful Martina giving us an enthusiastic welcome which gives you such a good impression of how you will be treated in the hotel. She is so charming!

Even though it is over 110 years old, there must have been extensive renovations because whilst none of the character has been lost, there are plenty of modern amenities. We would recommend an executive floor room because, whilst the executive lounge is small, the canapés and drinks are varied and allow you to try local drinks and all of the lounge staff are so engaging. The views from the lounge balcony are to be marvelled at, too. (Our only gripe with the lounge is that there seemingly are no checks and anyone could come in and out of the lounge - I am not sure that is fair on those who are actually staying in an executive room).

Breakfast is an international buffet with local foods and even Japanese choices, as well as the usual fruits, breads, cereals and omelettes. There were long breakfast opening hours which was good when you want a relaxing lie-in and a leisurely breakfast.

The pool, steam room and sauna is small, but it there is plenty of natural light, even though it is in the basement, and it is perfectly fine for a refreshing dip.

Back in our room, there was a small problem with a few ants around our skirting boards which they tackled immediately and offered sincere apologies. There were some very nice courtesies such as painted eggs for Easter Sunday, too.

Whilst it is right next door to the old town, the location was a perfect base to head towards the Babin Kuk and Lapad areas (a nice 11km walk with plenty of stops) and also Fort Imperial on Srg which is a 3km uphill path from behind the hotel. Both walks and hikes are great for exercise and allow you to get the best views of the whole coastline. Plus, Lapad has some great cafés, bars, ice-cream parlours and nightlife, too. Just take bus number 6. The main bus area is just outside the hotel and they are very easy to navigate - 12 kuna each if you buy the tickets before boarding, otherwise it's 15 kuna each onboard.

The goodbye was just as warm as the welcome and solidified our impression of a highly competent hotel in which staff are proud and pleased to work. It was truly a joy to stay here and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina V, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Guest,
First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik on the Tripadvisor.
I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and I’m pleased that you were extremely satisfied with our location, breakfast and service in particular.
Martina is delighted that you recognised her efforts. It was a pleasure to read that our team managed to show what Hospitality means for us. Acknowledgements such as yours are of great motivation to us.
So thank you very much for your sincere feedback - it is truly motivating and is greatly appreciated.
Warm regards,
Martina Vlajki
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,239 of 3,186 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2015

This is an excellent hotel. Not only the facilities are very comfortable and pleasant, but also the staff is welcoming and competent. Moreover, the location is great, next to the Pile Gate and near the bus and airport shuttle stop. Undoubtedly, the right choice!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina V, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for letting others know of your experience at the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik.
I am truly pleased that you appreciated the hotel's comforts and faciliteis and above all, that we managed to meet your expectations.
It would only be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel.
Warm regards,
Martina Vlajki
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We enjoyed yet another great stay at this property - the hotel is beautiful, location unbeatable, and the staff in the executive lounge are the nicest in any hilton property in the world! We usually go for an exec ocean view with balcony; unfortunately this time only a very small one was availbe at first, but we were able to change as soon as a view of the city became available. We'll be back!

The only real problem (of course not Hilton management's fault!) is the Sixt rental station in the hotel. We noticed every day we walked past that customers were arguing with the manager (Ivan) about something. But we had pre-booked our car, so everything was surely ok? Not so - we were given a standard Golf instead of our prebooked Audi (and lied to, with Ivan saying that it was the same category, which only once we had established the discrepancy between premium and ordinary categories Ivan he admitted wasn't the case; though he refused to offer us anything other than a rubbish Golf, and was very rude and unpleasant in the process). So a real sour ending to an otherwise great trip - we thought we'd get convenience from booking it in one location; but many of the (better and cheaper) local rental companies will actually deliver to the hotel.

Room Tip: Anything south-facing. 4th floor is best. And Exec club is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank p_c_f_21_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina V, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hilton Imperial for your stay in Dubrovnik and for your kind comments.
I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and I’m pleased that you were extremely satisfied with our location, staff and service in the Executive Lounge.
You will of course therefore understand my sincere disappointment when I read that your enjoyment was somewhat hampered by service provided from Sixt rental car company. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention. All guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it is only through constructive criticism that we are able to assess and continuously improve the service standards we strive to achieve.
Thank you for choosing Hilton Imperial for your stay in Dubrovnik and we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Martina Vlajki
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful time during our stay, solely due to the wonderful stay. We travelled with a young baby and the stay was accommodating with a baby crib, putting us in a corner room where we didn't have to worry about disturbing guests, and providing great input on restaurant that would be close but good with a baby. Zeljko, at the front desk, was extremely helpful in chasing down numerous restaurants for us and remembered us throughout our visit.

The location is perfect, which alone makes this hotel worthy of your stay. Wifi speeds were great, which is often not the case with many hotels around Europe (VPN on work laptop was no issue). The breakfast is excellent and on par with American/Asian standards of full breakfast with eggs, bacon, waffles, eggs Benedict, and many other menu option included as part of the buffet. If I return to Croatia, I would consider staying no where else than the Hilton!

Stayed: March 2015
Thank JubilantBeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina V, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure for me to read that you were very happy primarily with our location and service.
Zeljko is delighted that you recognised his efforts. It was a pleasure to read that our team managed to show what Hospitality means for us. Acknowledgements such as yours are of great motivation to us.
I am truly happy to read that you appeciated all aspects of our hotel and that our friendly team have managed to meet your expectations in creating a perfect holiday experience for you.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Warm regards,
Martina Vlajki
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We had a short break in Dubrovnik and chose the Hilton Imperial due to its proximity to the old town and good reviews in TripAdvisor. We had a good time, the staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful. They recommended some lovely restaurants to try in the old town. The hotel is equipped with some good facilities too. Our only gripe (be it a minor one) is that the pool was quiet cold.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lionel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina V, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comment regarding your experience at the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik.It was a pleasure for me to read that you were very happy with our location, friendly staff and service.
Thank you for choosing Hilton Imperial for your stay in Dubrovnik and we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Martina Vlajki
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.9 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
158 reviews
1.1 km away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,978 reviews
4.4 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: RM1,262 - RM2,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing