We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We stayed at Falkensteiner Ladera Hotel for 7 nights half board from 2nd June through Secret Escapes. We`d read all the good reviews on T.A. and they`re all true!
We had room 1306 with excellent views over the pools and sea. Low odd or even numbers on this floor are ideal with direct sea views. Higher even numbers and you still see the sea but also look directly onto other rooms` balconies.Higher odd numbers have direct sea views.
Breakfast and dinner varied and very good. Gluten free corner on all buffets and all menus clearly show allergenics (important for us as gluten intolerant and cashew allergy)
Staff exceptionally smiley and helpful always .
Two bars /restaurants run by the hotel on the beach 5 minutes walk to left and right, ideal for pre or post dinner drinks and lunchtime/evening drinks or meals .Although notionally a public beach very quiet ,well lit and paved walks everwhere.
Nearest village Petrcane 40 minutes walk along the beach with 2/3 bar/restaurants on the way .
Had lunch twice at first restaurant by marina (Terraza Gasthaus) Scampi Risotto and Tuna salad plus drinks £17. Very helpful tourist office there too.
The hotel does offer private boat trips but seemed expensive. Porter recommended very good agency in Zadar which we used twice for a private 4 hour trip at around £80 daily
Zadar is around 20 minutes drive so hire car/taxi or limited bus service from Petrcane (and long walk) is necessary.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeChris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tine B, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Dear Mr. CambridgeChris2011,
we want to thank you whole heartily for taking the time to write us such a feedback here on tripadvisor.com. We are happy to hear that we met all of your expectations and that you were fully satisfied with your stay in our Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera.
We are happy to hear that we could help to create a special stay for you, accompanied by special experiences and moments with memories.
We are hoping to welcome you again very soon.
Best regards,
Tine Brodnjak& Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2015

A group of long standing friends, we wanted something special to celebrate our 50th Birthdays. The Falkensteiner didn't disappoint. Attention to detail, service amazing. First the group. We had a gluten free and teetotaller in our group. Special breads, cakes and meals were ordered to request. The bar staff created a special non alcholic cocktail for celebrations. All staff we came across were helpful, polite and smiley at all times. Pool and bar staff were really helpful special mention if you come across Carlos in the Spa and pool areas, fantastic, helpful and great drinks orders seemed to know which type of drink you would need at all times of day!
Beautiful hotel, we visited in May it was maybe half full, but felt busy . The hotel was up and running with lots of events. Not many children at all only counted 2 teenagers and 2 tiny ones sub 1yr maybe. So my experience different to icehouse 45 review. Lots of things to do in nearby Zadar but too far to walk. Can recommend the beach walk round coast to Petrcane ( turn left at hotel beach keep walking) there are bars there and we stopped to have drinks before getting local bus to Zadar. Drinks v cheap in Croatia small beer 120 kuna or about £1.20 coffees around 100-200 kuna. Very helpful tourist office in Petracane lady spoke perfect English, very helpful picture maps of old Zadar and new ( old town the best).

Room Tip: Choose a room on 3rd floor 1362 even numbers face to sea over the gardens. Odd numbered rooms n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GillyFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tine B, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2015

Dear GillyFlash,
we want to thank you whole heartily for taking the time to write us such a positive and motivating comment here. We really appreciate it since each guest is special to us and your opinion is highly important. To hear that you enjoyed your stay in such a way means everything to us. Also to hear such nice comments about our staff and how well you felt cared for. We are beyond happy about that!
We are happy to hear that we could help to create a special stay for you, accompanied by special experiences and moments with memories.
We are hoping to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,
Tine Brodnjak & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Stayed at this hotel for a week in May. The room we had on the first floor overlooking the pool and the sea was very spacious with an open bathroom with a bath and a shower two sinks and a seperate toilet.A decent sized balcony with two chairs and a table.The free wi fi is adequate.The staff were excellent we wanted to watch the last day of the premier league and they didn't have the sports channels but the reception arranged to stream it on to one of their computers which worked quite well apart from a bit of buffering.
The breakfasts were amazing, a massive buffet with smoked salmon, eggs and omlettes made to order with bacon and sausage and hams and cheeses,fresh fruit, and lots of different breads.
The dinners were mainly set meals with service and a couple of nights were buffets.
on the nights of set meals there was always a salad bar with a large selection of salad, pasta and shellfish, there was also beef,pork steaks and fish on the main course plus a good selection of sweets. At this point we must mention Helena who served us, she helped my wife who is a coeliac( no wheat flour) negotiate the menu and also the restuarant manager who organised gluten free food.The quality of the food was without doubt 5 star.The only negative was the cost of wine around £25 per bottle which i suppose is about right for a 5 star. Special mention also to Carlos in the Spa bar who was always there with a smile, Maja and Mata who couldn't do enough for us. One day we had a trip into Zadar which is a beautiful town about 30mins away by taxi £15 each way.If you want a holiday with top class facilities and food with a great spa this hotel would take some beating.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandMManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tine B, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Dear Mr. DandMManchester,

we want to thank you whole heartily for taking the time to write us such a positive and motivating comment here on TripAdvisor.com. To hear that you enjoyed your stay in such a way means everything to us. Also to hear such nice comments about our staff and how well you felt cared for. We are beyond happy about that!
We are hoping to welcome you again very soon and are sending

Best wishes
Tine Brodnjak & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

This a new hotel out of town. It is a resort for families with young children. There are many facilities for children but if you are expecting a restful or quiet stay you will be mistaken. The children ran around the resort, up and down the corridors and through the restaurant.
The restaurant was very busy with lots of food but young children were running around until late. Children ruled the elevators and often wouldn't allow adults out at their floor and considered this to be very funny.
The restaurant was closed on one night and we had a barbeque on the beach with loud music, children activites and not sufficient food for those who queued patiently.
This is a hotel/ resort for those with young children only. The rooms were a good size with a sofa too. The bathroom included a shower and separate bath. There was also a very small deck.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tine B, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015

Dear Mr. icehouse45,

we think a mistake happened. From your description it seems to us as if you visited the Falkensteiner Hotel Diadora which is a family hotel with a clear accent on families with children. We are the Falkensteiner Iadera which is a 5 Star Wellness and Spa Hotel with 6000 m2 of relaxation, Swimming-pools and Saunas in which children under 16 years are not advised to go in. Also, we didn't have a barbecue night until today and our restaurant is open every night. We hope you will be able to visit our Falkensteiner Hotel Iadera next time you are in Punta Skala and enjoy your vacation with us.

All the best to you

Tine Brodnjak and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

My wife and I stayed for 1 week in mid May. The Hotel is located approximately a 1/2 hr from Zadar Airport. It is a rural location so we rented a car and I would recommend this. There is a second hotel (4*) within the resort for families with plenty of facilities for children. The resort is approximately a 30 min stroll along a scenic beach to the nearest village, Petrcane and a 10 - 15 drive to Zadar. From the moment we arrived, all the Hotel staff were very friendly and provided excellent service. Most of the staff spoke fluent English and German. Our room was lovely and spacious and had a sea view which I would recommend. The room was very clean and a turn down service was provided each night. The facilities in the Hotel were excellent. There is 3 separate pools. The Spa is also excellent. One point worth knowing prior to arrival is that no swimwear is permitted in the Sauna/Steam Room part of the Spa, although towels and tippi's are provided... We had a couple of days rain but we were never bored and totally relaxed in the fantastic facilities at this Hotel. We stayed on a B&B basis. The breakfast selection was second to none. A huge variety to choose from and all delicious. We chose to eat out of the hotel for dinner although there is a lovely Pizzeria located within the resort a short stroll from the hotel. The food here was excellent and again exceptionally nice staff. A special mention to Carlos who worked at the Spa Bistro, very friendly and he provided an excellent service. I would very strongly recommend this Hotel for a break. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank seamiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tine B, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear Mr. seamiec,

we want to thank you whole heartily for taking the time to write us such a positive and motivating comment here on TripAdvisor.com. We really appreciate it since each guest is special to us and your opinion is highly important. To hear that you enjoyed your stay in such a way means everything to us. Also to hear such nice comments about our staff and how well you felt cared for. We are beyond happy about that!
We are happy to hear that we could help to create a special stay for you, accompanied by special experiences and moments with memories.
We are hoping to welcome you again very soon.
Best regards,
Tine Brodnjak& Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zadar
8.7 km away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
8.5 km away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
0.4 km away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#4 of 22 in Zadar
328 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#10 of 22 in Zadar
106 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#5 of 22 in Zadar
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera

Address: Punta Skala BB, Zadar 23231, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zadar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#3 Family Hotel in Zadar
Price Range: RM582 - RM1,867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera is the first and currently only 5 star hotel in Zadar, Croatia. The hotel offers 210 rooms, multiple meeting rooms and 6,000 square meters of wellness surfaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel And Spa Iadera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing