We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Choumkhong Guesthouse
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Maydou(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Nam Sok Guesthouse(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rama(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apsara Rive Droite(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Kiengkham(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Ban Lakkham(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Santi Hotel(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Lovely family run guesthouse 2 minutes walk from the night market and in a quiet street. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms and good hot water, would recommend. We paid 120,000 kip for a double with bathroom during Chinese new year, and were quoted 150,000-250,00 by other similar places.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed in this guest house for 6 nights and it is definitely worth the money and time spent. They have rooms from 80,000 - 120,0000 kip which have basic amenities and still very comfortable. They clean your room every day and change your towels daily, too. It is central and everything is just a stones throw away but tucked away from the bustling Sisavangvong so there's no noise.

This guesthouse is run by a friendly local family and they are non-intrusive. The man of the house also have his own taxi so you can hire them for when you want to g somewhere.

At night, from 6pm-8pm you can hear a kid monk chanting/singing from the Wat of the same name right across the hostel. It's good to buy a drink or two, sit on the balcony and listen to the monks or just go people watching.

Def worth it if you're on a budget. :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank IamJoyceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here for a week whilst in Luang Prabang. The rooms were clean and great value with en-suite bathrooms. The owners were helpful and offer a very cheap laundry service which is handy when travelling. We also rented a couple of bikes for a day, I don't remember what we paid but it wasn't very much.

The guesthouse is directly opposite Wat Choumkhong which is worth going to look at and the night market passes right outside the hotel door.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I arrived in Luang Prabang after the two day boat trip. The Sokhdee, which I stayed in last trip, was full. As I meandered down the roadsm, it was apparent everything seemed booked. Eventually, I walked into Choumkhong which had a vacancy at $30 US. At the late hour, I took the room knowing I would have a great night's sleep, and downgrade next day. It was a peaceful oasis, nice bathroom, superb bed, fresh fuit, all the amenities including a host who made me a cup of coffee.

Room Tip: I was fortunate to have a corner room which included additional French colonial windows.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoeyBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Stayed at the Choumkhong Guesthouse for 3 nights whilst on a tour of Laos and Cambodia. Couldn't have been happier with my stay.
Choumkhong Guesthouse is quite sweet - tucked up a quiet side street with a gorgeous little balcony at the front. The guesthouse is opposite the lovely Wat Choumkhong and only about a 3 minute walk to the main street of Luang Prabang (and the night market). Guesthouse and room was quite basic, but extremely good value for money (and clean/tidy). Private bathroom was of a good standard.
Owners kept their distance, but were helpful/friendly when required. They provided an extremely cheap (and good) clothes washing service. Air-con was available for a small fee if required.
I absolutely LOVED my 4 days in the picturesque Luang Prabang - now one of my favorite places in the world! Make sure you get to Kouang Si waterfalls - a must see! And staying in this comfortable, simple guesthouse made my stay in Luang Prabang even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liss0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews