We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An indescribable experience that has to be had”
Review of Manda de Laos

Manda de Laos
Ranked #18 of 233 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Description: MANDA de LAOS feature signature Laotian Family Cuisine specialty from all regions of Laos. Dine under the stars surrounded by a UNESCO classified lotus pond, immerse in a tropical ambiance. At sunset time sip a signature cocktail while watching the magic changing colors in the sky.
Restaurant details
Description: MANDA de LAOS feature signature Laotian Family Cuisine specialty from all regions of Laos. Dine under the stars surrounded by a UNESCO classified lotus pond, immerse in a tropical ambiance. At sunset time sip a signature cocktail while watching the magic changing colors in the sky.
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Manda De Laos is relatively new (9 months) so everything is excellent - this restaurant was among my favorite dining experiences in LPB. The waiters are friendly (and ask for feedback), the serving platters are aesthetically pleasing, the interiors are unique and the food is actually rather affordable for "fine dining", while also being delicious!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank raisagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 661 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016

We had a lovely dinner at Manda de Laos. The setting is spectacular -- a little oasis in the middle of Luang Prabang. Authentic Laotian food served by attentive and well informed staff. Well worth a visit -- and would be great for both sundowners and a special occasion.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BB_goingmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2016

This restaurant is in a gorgeously romantic setting, with truly beautiful decor and table settings. The service is very attentive, the menu interesting, and the waitstaff speak good English and communicate well. If you are a upmarket traveller concerned with cleanliness or with special dietary requirements, I am sure these guys will nail it for you. They were very attentive to tailoring chilli levels to your tolerance too.
My only concern was that the food, while artfully presented, didn't showcase what I see to be the strength of Laotian cuisine. The flavours across five dishes and a couple of cocktails were not terribly complex or well balanced, and my inner chef kept wanting to adjust the salt, nudge down the sweetness, or up the acidity.
Personally I would come here for a drink at sunset to marvel at the lily pads, and then hunt down the finest street vendor or backstreet momma you can find. Which, of course, may not be everyone's cup of lemongrass tea!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 278emiliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manda d, Manager at Manda de Laos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear Emilie,

Thanks very much for your personal preference feedback.
We appreciate your comments, we realise the difficulty to please everyone' palate.

Although we work hard to make sure our Guests have a great time when dining at Manda de Laos, please do come back on your next visit to sample other recipes.

All of us at Manda de Laos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

I liked the place, the romantic atmosphere and the food. My bf was really impressed by the meat! All the personnel is very nice and the flambé dessert was delicious! I'm not giving 5 stars just because it's quite expensive for Laos standards.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Giulia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We chose this restaurant based on the trip advisor reviews, and the fact it was across from our digs (singharate guest house)

Looking at the place outside you wouldn't think much but walk in and through to seating area where it has a nice calm feel to it small ponds and lotus flowers and also two different seating areas. 1 normal tables and chairs and 2 almost like couches which looked really comfy.

They served us to start, sticky rice mousse with lemongrass, pork shavings and peanuts served on a banana leaf. Unusual but very nice.

Onto the starters and main, (we ordered 2 starters and a main to have together) starters:- spring rolls and chilli stuffed with pork. Both of which tasted great!

And then Mok Kai- chicken cooked in red curry paste with coconut and steamed rice, the favourite out of the three!

Give this place a go, u will not be disappointed!!!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Allyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Manda de Laos also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Manda de Laos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.