We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky with great beer”
Review of Der Keller

Der Keller
Ranked #575 of 9,866 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: US$14 - US$16
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The first thing you notice when you step into Der Keller (The Cellar) is the striking décor of red brick arches, wine barrels and solid oak furniture. The next thing is the wonderful aroma of sizzling meats. Der Keller is one of the oldest restaurants in Dubai, serving traditional German cuisine made with fresh seasonal ingredients. The variety of dishes ranges from fresh healthy salads and vegetarian options to regional specialties (including a tantalising selection of pork dishes).Sip an imported German beer with your meal as you soak up the authentic german atmosphere; whether you’re stopping by for a leisurely dinner or settling in for a fun filled night, Der Keller is a restaurant full of spirit and zest for life. Prost!
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

This is a bright yet atmospheric bar offering great German beer and authentic food to go with it. It's certainly something different to try. We only had some snack items (pork belly which was very tasty) as we weren't really hungry but wanted to try something from the unusual selection.

1  Thank EconomynotBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear @EconomynotBusiness

Thank you so much for sharing your valuable review above followed by your amazing dining experience.

Der Keller promises the best of Bavarian cuisine, ambience backed up by our outstanding colleagues and I am glad you enjoyed the Pork Belly from the snacks menu too. We will be proudly sharing this with the team to boost their morale.

Looking forward to welcome you for daily Happy Hours 6pm onwards, Friday 4pm onwards.

Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017

it was a nice restaurant. Since the past 10 years we regularly visited The Keller. As German nationals you just need from time to time a Wiener Schnitzel or Pork Knuckles and we always enjoyed this Restaurant.
Last weekend we felt that we unfortunately have to break with this tradition. The Pork Knuckle was crispy and looked very pleasant, but the spices have been missing... No taste at all. Besides that the usual large portion of Sauerkraut or general side dishes shrunken to a portion of a Childs dish. The Bratkartoffeln which where usually also excellent have been served mushy with no taste as well... We have been informed that the main Chef is on holiday until September (... holiday for 4 month... not bad...) and the manager will contact us and apologize. We left a business card for his call.. guess what happened.. no call so far...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank INGA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear INGA P

Greetings from Der Keller restaurant, and it is such a disappointment knowing about your bad experience recently.

I have tried to reach you on your mobile the very next day but could not get your valuable time as you might as well be busy, i will certainly be awaiting to invite you back as discussed once we re-open and change your experience. Do contact me directly on pratik.rajgarhia@jumeirah.com for your future visits please or call me +971 55 500 9570

I thank you for taking out your valuable time and looking forward to meeting you soon.

Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We have dined at Der Keller approximately 5 times. It really does serve truly authentic German food; with everything on the menu tasting good. The staff a really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is always friendly. We can't recommend it enough!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Ms. Angela

Thank you so much for your affirmation on your recent dining experience at Der Keller, we truly appreciate your patronage towards this historic restaurant of Jumeirah beach Hotel.

At the same time we sincerely thank you for highlighting on the top quality service and authentic German cuisine which Der Keller is renowned for since 1977. We will definitely be sharing this with our team of talented colleagues.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon indeed before we close for the summers from 26th May until the end of August,

Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Had a great time here as always , joel n his team looked after us well , just love this place n can't stop getting enough of it

Thank onewinwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear onewinwonder

Thank you so much for your positive affirmation on your recent dining experience at Der Keller.

We truly appreciate your comments on the top quality service by JOEL and team and authentic German cuisine which Der Keller is renowned for since 1977. We will definitely be sharing this with our team of talented colleagues to boost their confidence and morale.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon indeed, do try our ongoing SPARGEL festival until 26th May Friday.

Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

My husband, 4 year old son, our 8 month old, and I celebrated my birthday with dinner here on a Friday night ("night" being loosely used as it was 5 pm...such is the life if you want to dine with the whole family). It was wonderful. The food was delicious and the service was great. The pretzels they bring to the table to start are so good, and, coincidentally, there could have been no better way to make my 4 year old happy. My husband and I both had one of their signature cocktails to start and both had the weiner schnitzel and all was excellent, our son had the sausage off the kids menu and he loved it, and our 8 month old simply happily soaked up the rustic german atmosphere and decor! The service was friendly and efficient. Also, the staff had a small cake and sang for my birthday which was a lovely touch. Finally, I mentioned that we ate early at 5 pm, well it can be hard to find restaurants that serve dinner so early, but Der Keller opens at 4 pm for dinner on Friday and Saturdays and this is great if you want to dine with small children and not mess up their bed times too much. Most of you won't have this problem, but for those who do, it's a bonus!
Great experience and we will definitely dine there again soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LuxTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Ms. Teresa

Thank you so much for your positive affirmation on your recent dining experience at Der Keller.

We truly appreciate your comments on the top quality service and authentic German cuisine which Der Keller is renowned for since quite sometime in DUBAI. We will definitely be sharing this with our team of talented colleagues.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon indeed, do try our German theme evening every Tuesday/Wednesday/Saturday with special offerings.
Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Der Keller also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Der Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing