We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to where it belongs...”
Review of Der Keller

Der Keller
Ranked #514 of 9,929 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: US$14 - US$16
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The first thing you notice when you step into Der Keller (The Cellar) is the striking décor of red brick arches, wine barrels and solid oak furniture. The next thing is the wonderful aroma of sizzling meats. Der Keller is one of the oldest restaurants in Dubai, serving traditional German cuisine made with fresh seasonal ingredients. The variety of dishes ranges from fresh healthy salads and vegetarian options to regional specialties (including a tantalising selection of pork dishes).Sip an imported German beer with your meal as you soak up the authentic german atmosphere; whether you’re stopping by for a leisurely dinner or settling in for a fun filled night, Der Keller is a restaurant full of spirit and zest for life. Prost!
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Thanks to the new Chef Ms. Boehm the Place is back on track. The food is delicious and you can feel/taste that she is putting a lot of passion and pride in to the Kitchen. I really hope that Ms Boehm stays for a long time and guests from all over the world can enjoy hearty German food in a familiar atmosphere. Will be back very soon. Thank you

1  Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Marco F

Thank you for your lovely review in authentic German words. We will share this with our lovely team of colleagues and Chefs especially our new German Chef Laura who is super talented and so is our rest of the team.

See you back soon for another amazing experience in this historical German restaurant since 1977 to relish some more hearty Bavarian dishes handcrafted at Der Keller.

Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

we enjoyed an excellent evening playing cards, enjoying great traditional German food and beer. The chef welcomed us at our table and we really enjoyed the conversation with her. For sure we are coming back at least once a month.

1  Thank Armin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Armin S

We are so glad to see you enjoyed the "Playing cards" dinner recently at Der Keller.

Thank you for your lovely review in authentic German words. We will share this with our lovely team of colleagues and Chefs.

See you back soon for another amazing experience in this historical German restaurant since 1977.

Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I have visited Der Keller several times during the past seven years and have never been disappointed. The menu selection is good, the food always consistent and they feature a solid selection of beers (one of the main reasons I go). The prices are a bit high, but not unreasonable when viewed comparatively with other restaurants in Dubai. Der Keller is without doubt the best choice for German food and drink in Dubai.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dick-and-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dick-and-Donna

We are thrilled to know you have been a patron from 7 years and thank you for your continuous love.

Thank you for your lovely review in authentic German words. We will share this with our lovely team of colleagues and Chefs. We have taken your note on pricing for our review and we certainly follow similar structure as other five star hotels in the city.

See you back soon for another amazing experience in this historical German restaurant since 1977.

Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

After the reopening, they have a new German chef. The food is amazing. We loved the Pork knuckle and the belly. Also the sausages and the Rote Grütze was very good. We will definetely be back.

2  Thank DubaiPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear @DubaiPeter

Thank you so much for your affirmation on your recent dining experience at Der Keller, we truly appreciate your patronage towards this historic restaurant of Jumeirah beach Hotel.

At the same time we sincerely thank you for highlighting on the top quality service and authentic German cuisine by the new German Chef Laura and team. We will definitely be sharing this with our team of talented colleagues.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon indeed!

Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

This is a bright yet atmospheric bar offering great German beer and authentic food to go with it. It's certainly something different to try. We only had some snack items (pork belly which was very tasty) as we weren't really hungry but wanted to try something from the unusual selection.

1  Thank EconomynotBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik R, Manager at Der Keller, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear @EconomynotBusiness

Thank you so much for sharing your valuable review above followed by your amazing dining experience.

Der Keller promises the best of Bavarian cuisine, ambience backed up by our outstanding colleagues and I am glad you enjoyed the Pork Belly from the snacks menu too. We will be proudly sharing this with the team to boost their morale.

Looking forward to welcome you for daily Happy Hours 6pm onwards, Friday 4pm onwards.

Sincerely
Der Keller Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Der Keller also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Der Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing