We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Old Dubai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Ranked #148 of 565 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Booked in for 3 nights online (not direct with the Hotel) in a standard room.

Check-in was smooth, although the receptionist was not at all friendly. We were offered a (very) small glass of fruit juice. We didn't know beforehand, but the Hotel requires all guests to put down a 900 dir deposit. We decided to treat ourselves and opted to pay extra to upgrade from our basic room to an executive room.
Our exec room on the 7th floor had a great central view of the Old Fort. The room itself was adequate - clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was a bit small and could have been better lit (plus the bathroom floor got soaked in one corner every time the shower was on).
There was tea / coffee making facilities in the exec room, but no metal teaspoon - only a long thin wooden stirring stick. Our room was an adjoining one and we could hear the guests in the room next door quite clearly.

Having informed them upon booking that it was our first time in Dubai and that we were celebrating my husband's belated birthday, they told us we would have a nice fruit basket and cake in our room. Well, the cake was nice, but the 'fruit basket' consisted of exactly one apple, one orange and one banana - well, I suppose it's the thought that counts!

The exec lounge was 'okay', although the choice for breakfast was very limited and so we chose to have breakfast every morning in the mezzanine floor. The 3 free alcoholic drinks are only served 6-8pm and the canapes were nothing special, nor was there a big selection (there were no nuts or crisps).

Location is on a fairly main road in the old part of Dubai. Taxis are easy and quick - the hotel porters will hail a taxi for you (and all taxis are metered). A taxi to the Mall of Emirates from the Hotel cost approx 55 dir.

We booked 2 tours via the hotel tour organiser:
The Dhow cruise was nice, albeit a little disorganised. The hotel tour organiser had us waiting in our rooms for the driver for far too long - 45mins (she knew we were staying in an exec room and could have told us to wait in the exec lounge).
The Desert Safari trip by Desert Dreams wasn't that great. The actual desert safari driver was unfriendly - he didn't even introduce himself to us. There was so much time spent hanging around with no knowledge from him as to what was next on the itinerary. He even had us waiting for 20-25 minutes after the whole evening had finished (he said he would be 10 minutes!) - apparently he had to make an errand. It was also a cold evening and the hotel tour organiser had not told us (but she told the other guest in our group) to bring a jacket due to the cold desert evenings!
All in all, I cannot recommend Desert Dreams for this trip. They claim it is a 6 hour safari, but actually around 4 hours of it is spent travelling and waiting around. Also, the so-called camel ride was a joke - it's actually a 20 metre ride!

The Sherlock Holmes pub was good. There was live entertainment and a good selection of alcoholic drinks.

We both had a massage at the hotel's spa. I'm a regular for having massages and can quite honestly say that it was not worth the money. The room wasn't appropriate for a calming massage - each massage room had a wall and door made entirely of glass and faced the corridor, which meant you could hear conversations going on in all the other massage rooms!
The massage table was effectively a long bench with no ability to move up or down and was quite hard. The massueuse was 'just okay' - nothing special and certainly did not deliver the 80 minutes that I had paid for (more like 60 minutes actual massage time).

Note that this hotel is very near a large mosque and if you are a light sleeper, you will hear the call to prayer(s).

Check out was again delivered by an unfriendly receptionist (Michelle I think her name was).
Overall, it was a nice stay, but I probably wouldn't stay here again as I would want to experience another part of Dubai.
I would however, recommend it for people who want to experience the older part of Dubai.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an exec room and ask for a non-adjoining room with a view of the Old Fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eggsy_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,721 - 1,725 of 2,834 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week, and did not regret. It is an affordable accomodation with good quality. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has an ok swimmingpool-area, and a little gym.
The neigbourhood, Bur Dubai, is just great, and if feels a bit authentic. I loved to speedwalk in the area and down to the canal. You find all kinds of restaurants nearby the hotel, really convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreasJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Very nice hotel; friendly staff and big rooms. Very beautiful museum across the street and near the Creek. Also the stop for the Big Bus. Very convenient. Near the Creek is a very nice place specially with the shopping festival. I found it so nice that I am going back to stay in Arabian Courtyard.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biesjeb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

If you are tired of the glitz of "New Dubai' try this hotel. It is located in the old section right across from the very interesting museum and also the fascinatingBastakiya district.Rooms were quite comfortable and service was excellent.
One note of caution, if you are a light sleeper be warned.It is across from a large mosque and the call to prayers might wake you.We quickly got used to it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lira77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed for two nights prior to our cruise with Royal Caribbean. We booked via priceline and for the price we paid about £62 per night this was good value. Rooms were clean and relatively comfortable although the bathrooms could do with an upgrade, tiles cracked with some rusty rails.Overall more a three star hotel
For us the main negative was the bed which was firm and uncomfortable, we requested a pillow top mattress but this request was not fulfilled. We ate in the Chinese restaurant which was very good, drinks were however expensive. The pizza takeaway located next to the hotel was also excellent value. The location of the hotel was convenient and gave you a feel for the old Dubai. You can walk easily to the creek and we recommend taking a dhow trip which cost 1 dirrham. We used the metro which was excellent value and taxis were also cheap.

Room Tip: Overlooking the museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank josh213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HabibKhan, General Manager at Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

I would like to thank you for staying and sharing your valuable feedback on our hotel. It was a pleasure having you here with us. I am pleased to know that the price you paid was a good value and found the hotel’s location convenient and gave you a feel of "Old Dubai".

I have also noted your remarks on the bathroom and your request for a pillow top mattress that was not fulfilled. Nevertheless, please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenienced that caused you. Rest assured that we will provide better services on your next visit

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.7 km away
Royal Ascot Hotel
Royal Ascot Hotel
#55 of 565 in Dubai
1,642 reviews
0.6 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Bur Dubai
1.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
1.5 km away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#52 of 565 in Dubai
1,625 reviews
1.1 km away
Majestic Hotel Tower
Majestic Hotel Tower
#184 of 565 in Dubai
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa

Address: Al Fahidi Street | 19 Street, 32; Al Souq, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#81 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#88 Family Hotel in Dubai
#89 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#92 Business Hotel in Dubai
#131 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: RM 290 - RM 842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa, is an Arabian Heritage themed hotel located at the heart of Bur Dubai, in Al Fahidi historical area opposite Dubai Museum. This themed hotel is an ideal location for business & Leisure trips, as it is ideally positioned for sightseeing, shopping and business. The spacious guest rooms are comfortable and decorated in an Arabian style. Rooms come with bottled mineral water and tea and coffee making facilities, guests can enjoy free WiFi in the entire hotel. The hotel offers a wide variety of dining options including the Sherlock Holmes English Pub, Pharaoh Cafe & Restaurant, Chinese Dynasty Restaurant and the Mumtaz Mahal Indian Restaurant, you will have a unique experience through some of the most delicious and mouth-watering recipes from all over the world. Make a tour around the Indian, Mediterranean, Egyptian, Chinese, Thai or International cuisine and become a gourmet with our specialties and signature dishes. The hotel is within walking distance of the Dubai Museum, Meena Bazaar, Al Bastakiya Quarter, Al Fahidi Metro Station and Dubai Creek. Dubai World Trade Centre and the city's famous Sheikh Zayed Road are just 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Courtyard Hotel And Spa
Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Arabian Courtyard Hotel Dubai
Courtyard Dubai
Dubai Courtyard
Arabian Courtyard Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing