We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
10
21
9
10
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
21
9
10
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great place for the price atlantic city bed was comfortable room was large tax
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Clean hotel with large tub in nice bathroom. Clean exterior with welcome appearance. Felt safe in the area. Friendly checkin. Close to Atlantic City. Even had fridge and microwave. The walls are thin, so noises from other guests could be heard. Other than that, it was a great place if you are looking for a clean, convenient and economical place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

One of the cheapest Motels listed , $32 WITH tax etc INCLUDED ! Pleasantly surprised , CLEAN , comfortable , quiet ! Just enough Towels , Bed was comfortable , sheets , towels were fresh . Three pillows , not four as pictured but we probably could have gotten the fourth

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is clean, very warm and comfortable, we stayed there for 8 nights and every thing was ok. But the room service is upon telephone and you have to call the reception for sending the cleaning staff. And the main problem was that they tell that there is a nreakfast included in the price but you find only coffee and a small piece of sweets.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ayah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

My daughter and I stayed for two nights mid-week in mid-December. We booked at an extremely good price, the "phone" added $18.50, and the tax was $8.22 (see description of wifi and TV below). This hotel is not a "Rodeway Inn", but easily meets the standards of that organization.

The hotel had guests, but was clearly not heavily booked (the weather was supposed to be unfavorable this week). Getting off the AC Expressway, we must have passed two dozen hotels on our side of US-30.

The hotel's location on busy US-30 also has a railroad behind it and is under the AC International Airport's flight paths. This seems to have been allowed for in the buildings' construction (which was solid), as (on the first floor) we heard nothing -- except the one time (mid-day) that two Air Force fighter jets took off (there's an Air Force Reserves fighter wing based at the airport).

The hotel's exterior presented a neater appearance than those we'd passed, except for the top chains (Best Western, etc.). However, there were a few cosmetic signs of ageing. The walkways are nicely carpet-covered, despite being external.

Although we arrived earlier than I'd planned, check-in was a very firm 3 pm.

The room was as promised, a non-smoking one with two queen beds. We asked for first floor and got it (#104 specifically). The room was very, very clean and had no odors. The carpet is dated, but in very good condition for that (only an industrial-grade cleaning could do better). There is a small hangar nook (with the TV mounted above it). The beds were very good.

The furniture was matched -- solid and large, with granite tops. The dresser (with a very large mirror above it) was of a very good size, the rectangular table was similar (we used it as a computer desk -- it would take two laptops) and had two outlets beside it, and the small round table by the front window was suitable for small card games. A roll-around "office" chair and two solid wooden chairs (all padded). The curtains were solid and in good condition. The room is of a good size, but no more furniture will fit!

Note: the electrical outlets are two-prong. If using two laptops, bring a four-foot power strip with cheater-adapter.

It was cold out -- but the room's large AC/heater (which does show outward signs of much use) was in good condition and very, very powerful. The tall mini-fridge is in good condition, and the microwave very usable -- although the turntable-plate inside is missing a wheel and so turns a little lopsidely (which wasn't a problem for us, even though we used it extensively). (Note: bring ceramic cups/bowls.)

Wifi has a password but appears unencrypted -- it is barely okay for casual use, but definitely not for streaming videos/movies or for gaming. The seemingly-very-new TV-monitor (Comcast cable and HBO provided) is a nice 31-inch-diagonal and placed up high on an arm -- no neck-straining to see it! The TV-monitor has both USB and HDMI ports, so we connected a long HDMI cable from our gaming laptop, selected HDMI2 on the Inputs, and watched DVDs (only techs and gamer-geeks should attempt this).

We slept late, and did not sample the continental breakfast. We had gone across US-30 (we had to drive, even though the stores were almost right across) to both a Shop-Rite grocery (decent) and a Dollar Tree (great buys on snacks, tomato juice, etc.), so we had plenty.

Now, I want to compliment the housekeeping and maintenance in particular. The bathroom (where problems will show up quick), had obvious strong efforts applied to the drop ceiling and bathtub (and shower curtain). There was marring of the paint on the main room's back wall, where someone had clumsily moved the table, but that appeared to be recent (we did request a specific type of room).

My daughter and I are split on whether there is a slight draft from the bathroom when the door is open. In any event, the massive AC/heater will quickly heat the room right down to the carpet.

Note: a Jacuzzi Suite is available (2nd floor, I believe). Given the solid, quiet construction of the hotel, and it's good location yet Not Quite in Atlantic City, this might make a nice place for a new couple on a budget. The nearby Garden State Parkway provides fast access to the beaches at Wildwood (the only ones in New Jersey that don't require "beach tags") or even Cape May (with its ferry to Rehoboth Beach in Delaware). Route 9 will also take you up to the Historic Smithville shopping/restaurant site.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms, and the suite has a jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in early October. Room had king sized bed, full bathroom, flat screen TV with ample cable package, microwave, and cold AC. Shopping center across highway which was a plus, I did not have to eat all my meals in restaurants as there was also a ShopRite for groceries. Enjoyed my stay at Empire Inn very much, about 8 miles to Atlantic City's casinos and beaches. "Breakfast" was a real disappointment with tiny cinnamon rolls out of a plastic package and so-so coffee. Overall, a very competitive price and value for your money.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank MarineCorpsOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews