We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel! top service!”
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #108 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is placed 5 minutes walk from down town. The staff was very accomodating and helpful- they even found us a private guide and car for two days to Angkor Wat. The guide was excellent, which was a break from the rest of our trip.
They had just renovated the pool area on the roof- very nice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Magnus M,

We are grateful to you for informing us about your experience staying with us and for choosing City River Hotel as your accommodation choice.

I am delighted to know that our team made your stay even more pleasant with their friendly service. This is what we always strive for. Knowing our guests enjoyed their stays is the best reward for us. Your acknowledgement on our service is very motivating for our team to keep up their good works and do even better.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 307 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff are incredibly inviting, caring and the smiles never stop.
The bar by the pool was a favorite for most visitors with delicious, quality cocktails.
A very happy place to stay and I'll be back to stay again in the future.
A+++

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesseBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear JesseBoer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at City River Hotel

Your lovely review has certainly brightened up our days. Nothing is more rewarding than knowing how pleased you were with our service, facilities and the convenient location. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our guests have a warm and pleasant experience.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future


Best regards,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff from management down to the cleaners all said hello and without fail, were smiling at all times. You stay there long enough and they will know you by name.

Room was very clean at all times, even better than a lot of the1st world hotels i have stayed in. The air conditioning in the rooms was effective and you really noticed the difference once you stepped into the corridor.

Restaurant had lovely meals at a good price. My breakfast was included in my package but choices there were a fraction limited for me.

The barmen on level 6 by the pool were great and the cocktails were cheap and made extremely well

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Tony_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Tony_Sinclair

Thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your recent stay at City River Hotel.

I am very pleased to hear how every single member of staff went out of their way to bring you a memorable stay. It has been a pleasure having you as our guest and your generous compliments for the staff, facilities and restaurant are appreciated. Your positive review will certainly motivate our team members further in providing excellent service standards

May we have the privilege of serving you again in the near future.


Best regards,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely friendly staff and a nice central location.

However, the inclusive breakfast was pretty disappointing. And the hotel itself was pretty charmless. Comfortable enough, but a little bit shabby in places.

I wouldn't not recommend it - it will certainly do the job, but I'm sure there are better options around Siem Reap.

One of the main attractions for us had been the swimming pool on top. And it certainly offered great views. However, it was very heavily chlorinated, to the point where my kids wanted to come out after about 5 minutes. And on the 3 nights we spent there, staff were rebuilding the decking area immediately around the pool throughout daylight hours. Whilst this didn't render the area off limits for guests (this is Cambodia!), it kind of ruined the ambience with lots of hammering and sawing going on!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank aitchtee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear aitchtee24,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback, it is through your comments that we can continually improve our service standards and hotel facilities. Our guests are our highest priority and I sincerely apologies that your recent stay with us was not up to your expectations.

Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience causes regarding the restructured decking area around the pool area. I’m happy to share that we’ve recently restructured our decking area for more safety to our guests and this reconstructed is now completed. Thanks for your comments regarding heavily chlorinated in our pool, we have taken this information on board and we will improve on these issues.

Again I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to recover your impression of City River Hotel.


Best regards,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stay in the City River for 4 nights and were very happy with service we got. The room was comfortable and well serviced. The best part was the friendly staff who really worked hard to make our stay sucessful.
The hotel is close to the central markets and other attractions and only a $2 tuk-tuk ride from the main museum and ceramics workshop, but far enough away that some peace could be had.
The restaurant meal we had was very good and the breakfasts filling.
The ambiance was charming with lots of wood and Cambodian themed areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Estalle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at City River Hotel

Your lovely review has certainly brightened up our days. Nothing is more rewarding than knowing how pleased you were with our service, food and the convenient location. I am so pleased to read that our people whom came in contact with you during your stay with us, made a positive impact.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Best Regards,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 km away
Grand River Angkor Hotel
Grand River Angkor Hotel
#110 of 376 in Siem Reap
304 reviews
1.3 km away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#60 of 376 in Siem Reap
538 reviews
2.1 km away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#62 of 376 in Siem Reap
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#101 of 376 in Siem Reap
889 reviews
0.7 km away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#75 of 376 in Siem Reap
466 reviews
1 km away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#59 of 376 in Siem Reap
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Address: 0511 Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#82 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: RM178 - RM344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing