We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyed our stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bahia Chinchorro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bahia Chinchorro
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Arica
Level Contributor
254 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

After traveling for 6 weeks we wanted a spot on the beach within our budget. We stayed for 6 days.

The rooms are basic. As clean as possible with desert sand. Spacious with ample cupboard space. Good international television in the rooms. Adequate.

There is no food on the premises so we shopped at supermarket, used the large communal fridge for food and drinks. We either ate on our balcony overlooking the ocean or on the cool communal verandah , also with lovely view of ocean.

It is a shame that the hotel is pretty run down. Has huge potential. Another shame is the litter on the beach. All night parties on the beach a little noisy as Chileans love percussion music so normally take their instruments with them when they party.

Position good for walks along chinchirro beach, to restaurants on beach and fifteen minute walk to centre of Arica. Swimming also good on beach. (hotel pool is empty).

The staff are amazing. Nothing was too much for them, organized trips, taxis etc. They really made our stay special.

Breakfast basic and repetitive.

Highly recommend if you want a relaxing time on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mespey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
As the other reviews have stated, this hotel is a little tired but then that is reflected in the price - if it was fully renovated, it would be far more expensive!
The rooms back onto the beach and sea, with large balconies. The room itself has cable TV and is very large. The shower is incredibly powerful!
The staff are extremely friendly and even argued with the taxi driver for us who overcharged us- above and beyond there job we think!
The location is not right in the centre but we easily walked it in 15 minutes - seemed pretty safe although we never did it at night. We enjoyed sitting watching the sunset on our balcony at night with some wine and cheese!
The wifi was only in the lounge area - it would have been nice to have it in the room but really that is the only negative we would have to say.
Overall, this hotel is very cheap for its location to the beach so do not go expecting 5* facilities. What it does have is large, clean rooms, friendly staff and a great sea view!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotspur91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

We really liked this place but some might hate it. Its on quite a large site which has had nice grounds but the hotel seems to have been abandoned at some point and then reopened and the rooms put in order but not the rest of it, so the swimming pool for instance isn't operating. The rooms are great, with balconies overlooking the Pacific so you sleep to the sound of crahing waves. Staff super-helpful. You need a taxi to get anywhere but they're not expensive. Very good value at 35.000 Ch. Pesos for double with breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymraeg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2008

Very nice staff, very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is basic but has a perfect view from each hotelroom. It has direct access to the beach although you have to walk a bit for the sandy beach. The breakfast is made personally for you and they are generous with the food.
Excellent spot to visit the beach and the city of Arica!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wendela50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arica hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Aruma
Hotel Aruma
#1 of 23 in Arica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Apacheta
Hotel Apacheta
#2 of 23 in Arica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.6 km away
Chinchorro Suite
Chinchorro Suite
#9 of 23 in Arica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Panamericana Hotel Arica
1.5 km away
Diego de Almagro
Diego de Almagro
#4 of 23 in Arica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Samana
Hotel Samana
#6 of 23 in Arica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Chinchorro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Chinchorro

Property: Hotel Bahia Chinchorro
Address: Av. Luis Beretta Porcel # 2031, Arica, Chile
Region: Chile > Arica and Parinacota Region > Arica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Arica
Price range (per night): RM267 - RM428
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bahia Chinchorro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing