We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is really bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Hostel Iquique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The hostel is quite nice (good atmosphere, nice rooms, breakfast is fine, kitchen ok, location good), but the staff is terrible. First we had this e-mail contact (read from below to above):

ok hein

by the way this is claudia i work in the afternoon i already made your reservation in a double w/private bathroom

im sorry for the misunderstanding
looking forward to seeing you tomorrow
claudia


Hi Carla,

I'm quite surprised by your way of working. We made the reservation yesterday, you confirmed it (see the e-mails below) and now you've already changed it two times. We already have our bus tickets, so we can't cancel the booking in Iquique. But we booked the double room for $21.000, as you said. We really want to go to your hostel, but you've been quite strange to us, and that's dissapointing for us.

So, WE BOOK THE DOUBLE ROOM. We now want to be really sure about the booking, so please confirm it and don't change it anymore.

Thanks and we like to hear from u.

Hein and Pim


hello

the double room is booked already, so i just have a double with private bathroom (25.000 per night) available

let me know if you want to book that room now

kind regards

claudia


I still want the reservation, although we're a bit dissapointed about the first night. But ok, can happen. The second and third night are in a double room? How late can we enter the double room at the second day? Gracias, ciao!


Hi!

Sorry, but it's the only room availably for these night, we have reservation for the web side and there pay for the room, that it's the reason for you can't stay the first night in a twin room.

Let me know if you still want to do a reservation o cancel.

regards
Carla


Hola!

I thought we made a reservation for a double room for two nights. I haven't heard anything about a dorm... We would really like to come, but what's the plan at this moment? Do we really have to stay the first night in a dorm?

Greets,

Pim and Hein


Hi!

Yes, you can but the first night you have to stay in a shared room, and the second days change to the other room.

Regards
Carla


Thanks! Can we already say we want to stay for 3 nights instead of 2 nights? Gracias!


Ok, the reservation is ready.!

See you soon!

Best Regards
Carla


Oke! Perfecto!! We would like to have the room, from the 29th for 2 nights. We arrive at 22/23pm. Can you confirm our booking?

Gracias,

Hein y Pim


Hi!

Is together $21.000, and the room is just for you.

regards
Carla


Hola!

Thanks for your e-mail. So we get a private room for $21.000. Is that together or $21.000 each?

And we have that room only for the two of us?

Gracias,

Hein & Pim


HI!

For these days we justa have double room with private bathroom $25.000 pr nigth, or Triple room $27.000, but you can pay the double price $21.000

let me know if you want made a reservation.

Regards
Carla


Hola!

We would like to make a reservation in your hostel for a double room. How much will that be? We arrive the 29th around 22/23 pm. Do we need to take a taxi or do you offer to pick us up from the bus terminal?

We would like to stay for two nights, but I think we will stay a bit longer, but we will let you know then.

We would like to hear from you soon!

Gracias,

Adios,
Hein en Pim (Holanda)


Well, ok, can happen, but it isn't nice at all. Then we arrived and the staff wasn't sorry at all, they did like it was our mistake. We had to stay in a really expensive room, while we hadn't booked it...

This hostel is in GetSouth, but they said to us that we only got the 10% discount for the first night. Normally that's written in the GetSouth, but not at this hostel... The staff said to us that people never moaned about it and did like it was our mistake again.

The staff is just not friendly.

I wouldn't recommend the hostel because of the horrible staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the garden side are quite noisy till 1 in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

Great hostel with a wonderful interior and lots to do - pingpong and games available, lounge areas, huge pillows, Ooso the laidback Weinaramer doggy. 2 minutes from the beach and across the road from an authentic Chilean restaurant. Also, it has a fab little balcony at the top of the building - great for watching the magical sunsets across the beach. Breakfast in the morning was basic but delicious - bread, teas, jams etc. One downside is bathrooms - quite limited but are sex segregated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbjw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

As a solo traveler, this hostel was great because it's definitely got a social vibe...that can be overwhelming if you're bothered by noise, an active boozey patio and lots of socializing through wee hours. I wasn't, so I had a great time -- staff are attentive, speak English and other languages, and are helpful in making your stay in Iquique what you want it to be.

I stayed in a female dorm with 5 beds, it was comfortable, breakfast is simple and filling and the kitchen is handy. Patio is great and there is always something on the calendar to do - bbqs, disco nights...etc. There are lockers over your bed, bring your own padlock.

the hostel was very full when I was there, and yet I didn't find competing for shower time an issue.

So so so close to the beach! Location is unbeatable. Also about a 20 min walk to town and a 5 min walk to a supermarket.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Standard hostel.

Located one block from the beach.
Not in the center, but about a 15 minute walk.

Rooms were basic, and bathrooms were clean.

There is a TV area, as well as a computer to use to check your email.

There is a bar and pool table, and outside patio area where everyone hangs out.
Now depending on what you are looking for, this is either a positive or negative feature of the hostel. It is very social, which is nice to meet people, but people were hanging out until around 1am, and as the hostel is fairly small, you can hear everything in your room, making it hard to sleep.

Staff were not particularly enthusiastic, but did help me out quite a bit, even making a phone call for me and speaking in Spanish to an airline to deal with a canceled flight.

Breakfast is pretty basic, bread, jam, juice, tea
.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank move360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Friendly and well-located hostel. A well-equipped and clean kitchen is good for self-catering. There's a nice outside area and you can buy beers from a small bar.

Our room was small and noisy. It's away from the front so we didn't suffer bar-noise like some reviews, but the walls between the rooms are paper-thin and we were woken by other guests shouting and dragging wheely cases in the corridors at all hours.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquique hotels
1 km away
Ibis Budget Iquique
Ibis Budget Iquique
#23 of 24 in Iquique
18 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Iquique Express
Hotel Iquique Express
#9 of 24 in Iquique
213 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Velero
Hotel Velero
#19 of 24 in Iquique
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#15 of 24 in Iquique
57 reviews
1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Iquique
5 km away
NH Iquique
NH Iquique
#5 of 24 in Iquique
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Hostel Iquique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Hostel Iquique

Address: Amunategui 2075, Iquique 1101948, Chile
Region: Chile > Tarapaca Region > Iquique
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Iquique
Price Range: RM60 - RM290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Backpacker's Hostel Iquique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing