We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicer hotel in a "frontier" town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charles Darwin Hotel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Puerto Natales is not a fancy city but a rugged town. As such, this otherwise average/above average hotel is probably one of the nicer downtown hotels around. We stayed there for 2 separate nights and found the rooms roomy and adequate for our purposes (beds and showers). The morning breakfast is nice, with ham and turkey slices and other pastries/breads. Free Wifi worked well for us as well. They have a luggage storage service for those who need that. the lounge at top floor is a nice bonus. The location is slightly far from downtown, which is about 5 small blocks of walk, and we found that distance makes it pretty quite at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

I booked this hotel thru a travel agency. Our room was very small, and very hot at night. No fans or cooling system, the window was broken to hold it open we used a wooden hanger. Dogs were barking outside the window nonstop, we had to close the window. We asked for a different room after the first night, rooms were available but we were not given a different room. The second day I told the desk clerk that we were going to find a different hotel. Immediately the clerk offered a different room. We gladly accepted, the second room was slightly better. The breakfast offered was meager and little food was placed at the breakfast table.

Room Tip: Book your room at a different hotel. If a travel agent books your room review the hotel at Trip Adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

One of the many hotels in Puerto natales, no charm, but nice staff. Minimalist breakfeast. as the floor is in non -insulated Wood and thin walls, your hear everything upstairs or in next rooms.... You need ear plugs to sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PierreH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Older hotel but nicely maintained and decorated. Two blocks from waterfront with partial water views from some rooms and from nice sitting area at end of corridor on third floor. Wifi only worked in this sitting area (not everywhere as listed). As with most hotels in this region, inside temperature was too hot for us, so we had to turn off radiators and open windows, which created some road noise (but not bad). Good breakfast. Overall, fine place for a few nights to/from Torres del Paine park. No elevator so need to be able to carry bags to third floor. Staff helpful e.g. provided hot water for tea in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron and Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Charles Darwin as part of a package from Sky Airlines. The room was spacious and everything was so clean. Towels and sheets were very comfy. Staff could not have been more helpful even when I could not speak Spanish. Some of them did speak English.
Breakfast was excellent. Only sorry they did not have other meals or bar with snacks in the evening. Bathroom was tight but great hot water and pressure.

Room Tip: no elevator or first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyK445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1 km away
Hotel Capitan Eberhard
Hotel Capitan Eberhard
#20 of 26 in Puerto Natales
40 reviews
0 km away
Hotel HD Natales
Hotel HD Natales
#13 of 26 in Puerto Natales
80 reviews
0.8 km away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#11 of 26 in Puerto Natales
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hostel Milodon
Hostel Milodon
#18 of 26 in Puerto Natales
63 reviews
0.7 km away
Aquaterra
Aquaterra
#12 of 26 in Puerto Natales
78 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#16 of 26 in Puerto Natales
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Darwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Darwin Hotel

Address: Manuel Bulnes 90, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Price Range: RM302 - RM625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Darwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Charles Darwin Hotel Puerto Natales, Chile - Aisen Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing