We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wild Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natalino Hotel Patagonia(Puerto Natales)
US$105
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcazar(Puerto Natales)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Altiplanico Sur(Puerto Natales)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costaustralis(Puerto Natales)
US$126
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weskar Patagonian Lodge(Puerto Natales)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Martin Gusinde(Puerto Natales)
US$98
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Remota(Puerto Natales)
US$222
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Noi Indigo Patagonia(Puerto Natales)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aquaterra(Puerto Natales)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
73
28
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
28
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomquesadillain townthe ownerw trektorres del paineperfect locationchilean pesosnational parkthe busyogurtcomfortable bedsgreat breakfastdamarishosteltrekkingequipment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Whilst we didn’t stay here we did visit the Wild Hostel twice for a drink and something to eat. The atmosphere is great, very relaxed. We were looking for somewhere to have a nice glass(bottle) of wine and something to eat and Wild ticked both boxes. The food is tasty and ideal if you are looking for something different to a more traditional restaurant. The staff are very friendly too which is always a plus and makes you go back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank amwathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

The atmosphere is amazing, with super friendly and helpful staff that walked us through a lot of stuff. Also, the beer on tap and burgers/quesadillas are DELICIOUS! the rooms are super cozy, bathrooms nice and clean, and breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Staying at Wild Hostel put a real downer on our trip to Puerto Natales - mainly because we found the staff to be extremely rude. My boyfriend and I are generally very easy to please when we stay somewhere - if the owners and staff are nice we always love a place and I’ve never written a negative review on tripadvisor before but we feel compelled to let others know about our poor experience.

Several key points on Wild Hostel:

The hostel does not effectively support trips to Torres Del Paine (the main reason most people visit Puerto Natales). A key reason we booked Wild was because they said they did daily briefings about trekking in TDP. When we arrived they said these weren’t happening and when we asked for info they didn’t even inform us that part of the park was shut so we couldn’t do the O circuit as planned (which messed up all our camping reservations).

It’s an expensive option and does not represent good value for money. It also does not offer services the name “hostel” implies e.g. kitchen, laundry facilities etc.

Equipment quality - we were looking to rent some equipment for our trek however upon looking at the condition of the equipment it was obvious kit was not maintained well. For example there was not a pair of usable trekking poles - they were all bent or the locking mechanism didn't work.

Booking inflexibility and attitude of staff - we had planned on walking the full TDP circuit and had made bookings at Wild before our trek and after we were scheduled to finish. Upon arriving at Puerto Natales (and attending the Erratic Rock briefing which was excellent) it became clear that part of the circuit was closed and we would only be able to do the 'w' rather than the 'o'- making our trek a few days shorter. We couldn't change the dates of our second Wild booking reservation as there was no availability and the inflexibility of the cancellation policy (no cancellation within 30 days) meant that we were going to incur the full cost of the booking. However, staff at the hostel were inconsistent in their messaging around whether we would be charged for the booking if we cancelled (this ranged from us not being charged if they could sell the room, being charged 40% of the full rate or being charged 40% of the rate if they could sell the room). We were told that we definitely wouldn't be charged until it was clear whether the room could/couldn't be sold however we were charged the full amount the same day we cancelled which was about a week before our second booking. Upon following this up with management the owner stated that a partial refund for cancelled bookings could only be issued in cash upon them reselling the room and there was no way of issuing the refund electronically if it was sold after we left Puerto Natales. Upon suggesting that PayPal may be a suitable way to transfer the money the owner replied, “this is Puerto Natales, not London”. This pretty much summed up the attitude of staff to our situation - no sympathy and all messages delivered extremely rudely and aggressively, including one person yelling at us! We totally understand that they are a business and need to protect themselves from loss in the instance of cancelled bookings - BUT saying we wouldn’t be charged immediately and then doing so is dishonest PLUS if we’d been apologised to and shown some sympathy and good humour we would have taken the bad news on the chin, no problem. Rudeness is no way to treat customers.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fi_Escocesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jari K, Owner at Wild Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

HI,

You put so much effort into your comment so we would like to answer to you.

So, You said that our staff is rude....according to around 1.000 comments say that our staff is great. We really think that in your case you should look into the mirror and think twice.

You said that we don't support trips to Torres del Paine. We give instructions thousands of clients and organise more than 500 trips to Torres every season. We think that is a lot of support. Addition to that we organise much more trips surrounding areas.

If O trekking is closed usually because of the bad weather we don't get information immediatelly and we cannot see how this is related to Hostel???

We don't have kitchen for our clients cause Chilean law say that if you have restaurant you cannot have kitchen to clients in same property. In Puerto Natales has apx.150 hostels and only few of those has kitchen. Its very easy to put filter in booking.com to find those.

We rent all gears our clients need...but not anymore poles cause all of those has returned broken...

Changing your reservation in last minutes or nearby days is very difficulty cause booking.com cancellation policy. We always do our best to help our clients.

Anyway thank you for your comment which actually doesn't tell anything about the hostel or restaurant...only your experiences which are very negative and most of those are because you would like to make changes in last minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

This felt more like a really cute hotel (we opted for private room/bath). The staff are all so warm, friendly, and out-of-their-way helpful!! The location is great...center of town and 15 min walk to the bus station. And the restaurant and bar were so nice to have....great burgers!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wyojanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Wild was by far the best hostel I have stayed in, worldwide. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating, they have great gear to rent before you enter Torres del Paine, and the rooms were spacious, clean,and comfortable. We ended up booking a “luxury” hotel after we completed the trek, and deeply regretted our choice to not return to Wild.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dolphingeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews