We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
Ranked #81 of 2,840 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 27 June 2014

LIKE:
- location is very good, near to MTR and shopping centre
- the room and toilet were spacious and clean, bed is comfortable

DISLIKE:
- staff cant speak English well
- wifi is worst. so hard to contact and so damn slow
- we need to pay deposit (RMB 500). its worst since we never know we should pay this much, the money were hold until we check out, it makes me cant go and buy things anywhere... pffftttt....
- corridor is smelly and the light is too dim

Room Tip: make sure you have much money for deposit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardo_139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Spent 2 nights during early March 2014. Location is ideal, in midst of Dongmen Shopping District. Just next to MTR "laojie" Exit D. Reception was at the 5th level. Room given was big, clean and nice. Downside: no view.

Staff were helpful and courteous. Though no aircon during the period, room was stuffy. Eventually was given a fan for the 2 nights.

Small restaurants were around the area, so there is no need to eat at the hotel restaurant. Great place to stay if for shopping purposes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Travelled from hongkong and stayed for a night at this hotel. Plus point is definately the location. Its just right outside exit D of laojie station... you wont miss it!

The hotel is undergoing some reno so reception is at level 5. The passenger lift reeked of cigarette smell but we were told by the hotel staff that its a non smoking building as the govt just passed the no smoking regulation.

Check in and out was ok and the staff were quite accomodating. Need to pay rm600 refunable deposit.

Room was big, toilet quite clean ..there's also a sofa area and writing desk in the room. The free WiFi was very unstable, connection keeps dropping and you have to keep reconnecting, its very irritating.

Like what other reviewers shared, no free water given, so please prep your own.

Dongmen shopping district is near and the the dongmen ding f&b complex has many choices. Try the Ye Mei steamboat if you are there. Cheap and good.

If you are into some hong kong food, popular places such as tsui wah, da jia le cha chan teng are also nearby.

Though location is good, I noticed that there are nearer hotels to dongmen shopping district such as hyatt. So will prob consider other options when I next visit shenzhen. If you are a budget traveller, then ztl hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel in early January 2014 for four nights. The location of this hotel is very good, the subway station is opposite the hotel, and there are many eateries in the vicinity of the hotel. You will be spoilt by the choice of restaurants. The famous shopping area, Dongmen is only 5 minutes away by foot. It is an ideal location for food and shopping.

However, the hotel is not very well maintained. On the day of checking in, I spent nearly the whole of the afternoon contacing the hotel front desk to rectify the many defects in the room. The lights, the water tap in the bathroom, the air-conditioning were not in fully working conditions. The plus point is that the house keeping and the technical staff responded to my call swifty and did the rectification professionally. My room rate did not include breakfast, and it cost me RMB 30 per person for it. The choice is rather limited, and the quality really did not match the quality. It would be better to take a short walk around to have your breakfast. Unlike many hotels in China of the same class, this hotel does not offer two bottles of Mineral Water free of charge.

On the whole, my opinion of the hotel is neutral. If I am in Shenzhen for shopping and food, I would probably come back to this hotel. It is not really expensive, as I paid RMB 410 per night for a spacious room.

Room Tip: Take high floor room as the surrounding can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuasiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for a family holiday just last week. Previously when managed by Days Inn was absolutely fantastic with a excellent location. Now it is terrible.

When I arrive with the family 3 luggage bags and 2 backpacks, NO PORTER SERVICE NO BAGGAGE assistance.

I stayed in the Deluxe Suite, good price. Guess what No Water provided not even 2 bottles. Paid RMB 5 per bottle. Not too expensive but why dont they just provide drinking water like everywhere else considering it being at least a 4 Star.

They don't even have the basic tape for boxes and money changing services.

I have to agree with the other travellers about breakfast. Book the room without it and pop by the nearby Mcdonald's for a BIG BREAKFAST.

However location is all it has!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Dongmen
Sunon Holiday Villa
Sunon Holiday Villa
#64 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
237 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#46 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
295 reviews
Luohu Port
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
#42 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#17 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
318 reviews
Luohu Port
Kaili Motel
Kaili Motel
#815 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
199 reviews
Luohu Port
Best Western Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhong Tai Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhong Tai Lai Hotel

Address: No.57 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: RM212 - RM299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zhong Tai Lai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star, 166-room Days Inn Shenzhen is located in the city’s famous commercial center, Dongmen shopping street. It is about 100m away from the subway and about 5 minutes away from the railway station, and about 40 minutes’ drive from Shenzhen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zhong Tai Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Shenzhen Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing