We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in a private room. We were lucky enough to have a small private balcony which was a nice addition we didn't know about.

The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. The hostel provides a 'pour your own' bar and has a nice rule of taking your shoes off at the front door before you go in, making the hostel one of the cleanest I've ever been to.

Location is great with many shops, restaurants and bars near by and of course the beach 5 minutes down the road.

There's even the chance to book surfing lessons, SUP lessons, diving lessons, and day trips from the hostel.

Overall, If i were ever to go back to Sanya, I would definitely stay here again, it has everything!

Room Tip: 3 bed private en-suite comes with a super cool private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RJAF85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2015

Easy to get to, nice beach, reasonably priced, clean, friendly and knowledgable staff.

Plenty of restaurants and bars around, they offer snorkeling and PADI courses.

Next time i go to Sanya i'd stay at this place, rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: single room is a good deal - own bathroom, AC, desk to do work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

After some unfortunate business with the hostel we'd originally booked, we discovered Sanya Backpackers. We were so, so lucky that Sanya Backpackers had rooms available and were willing to help us out. The location is amazing- it's about a three minute walk to the beach and there's several great restaurants nearby. The staff are all super friendly and willing to offer advice/recommendations on anything. Also they have the sweetest, most adorable dog called Mimi. She likes to hang out in the bar area and is very friendly. The bar always has interesting people and is a great place to chill out after a day in the sun.

The rooms are also really nice, we had both a private queen with a bathroom and a private double without a bathroom. Both rooms were very clean and cozy. It can get hot in Sanya, so it's a huge plus that each room has it's own adjustable air conditioner. The owners are very organized and internet savvy. They also have several boards of all the people who have stayed there, they're really fun to look through. I would absolutely stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The ones farther away from the bar tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

It was nice to stay at sanya backpackers. It is a quiet place in the middle of the crowded sanya. It is very close from the beach and lot of restaurants. It's practicle to take the bus to go anywhere around. The team of the place is so nice, with always good tips to give you. It was the best place i stayed in hainan.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pet f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

we stayed here on a short trip but chris and linda were awesome! my boyfriend had stayed with them before and they were so happy to see us when we arrived! I felt safe and welcome at Sanya Back packers! Really the BEST place to stay in Sanya

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shaunna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Captain's House
#1 of 618 in Sanya
86 reviews
Palmena Apartment
#133 of 1,364 in Sanya
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
MGM Grand Sanya
#15 of 1,364 in Sanya
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range: RM51 - RM150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanya Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing