We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In China and out of China”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Reviewed 5 May 2017

The staff, although volunteers, are very very nice. I could not find the hostel as I arrived after dark. When I got dropped off at Hai Hua Road, I called the front desk and this lady actually came picking me up! But I have to say, as a hostel you cannot expect hardware of a star-rated hotel. First thing, the air conditioning was too weak for a Hongkonger. Then the bathroom was tiny. My husband can barely turn around inside. No TV in the whole property, which means get out of the room and meet someone at the bar! Live show every evening by a Taiwan guitarist. Lots of favorite oldies, and original songs ([probably written by himself, but in Chinese).
Some people mentioned that management has changed, I don't know, doesn't matter to me. Drinks are a bit expensive but hey, you can get it the convenience store and drink it here. Just clean up after yourselves. The hostel gives out free beach towels.
If you are looking for restaurants in the neighborhood, check online comments whenever you can. There are quite a few "ripper offers"

Room Tip: Best to get a suite with a bathroom. The one with a balcony is best value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Nice youth hostel with a nice girl at the reception. You can rent surfboards but for 150 Yuan maybe on the beaches they are cheeper... :-/ unfortunately the bathroom ist very small and dirty but I liked the room by itself. Also the bed was very cosy.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Dirty hostel with mold and uncleaned bathrooms. Over- priced bar and everything - not even free water available. The owners are greedy, looking to make money at every opportunity. Staff don't speak English.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank laulau7772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I always prefer hostels over hotels and I'm really not picky when it comes to cleanness, space, location etc. But this hostel was so disappointing that we left the morning after we arrived - even though we couldn't get our money back for the rest of the days.

If you want to try it out either way, I advice you to only book one night to begin with. That way you won't waste your money.

I'll try to make it short:
- arrogant and not caring staff, no "hi, nice to meet you", nor any smiles
- common area is really nicely decorated but there is no music and the bar closed very early so you don't have a chance to chill out and meet people
- fungi on the walls (see pictures)
- 7 days cancelation policy which is a nice trick if you run such a bad place because then people read good reviews in e.g. Lonely Planet and book because they think it's nice and then they are trapped when they actually get there. Usually hostels only have 1 day cancelation policy.
- good location, close to the beach, free towels for the beach

But worst of all and very important to have in mind: people get free drinks if they rate them 100% on sites like Tripadvisor and Hostelworld (see pictures) - which totally undermines the point of these sites. What can we as users then trust? I wouldn't count on the reviews that says 5 stars in here or 100% on hostel sites.

Hope you'll find a nice place to stay in Sanya. We capitulated to a hotel for the rest of the time in Sanya.
- Sarah, Denmark

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We've been in China for five weeks now, and stayed in six different hostels. Most of the recommended by Lonely Planet and they were really good.

But this place is by far the worst experience. They have got new owners, apparently, so it's not the Singaporean couple any longer.

Room was very small with fungus on the walls. No soap on bathroom. The bar closes early and there is a big sign in the bar about the rules of the place (no fighting, no offensive manners etc.). Also a sign in the room of behavioral regulations (vomit in bed charged 100 rnb) - why is al this necessary?

But the worst thing, which made us furious, was the sign in the bar telling that we could get a free drink for rating them 100% on Tripadvisor. This simply just undermines the entire concept of Tripadvisor.

The staff was arrogant and the atmosphere was horrible. Such a shame, since we were really looking forward to this place.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank casperhennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Captain's House
#1 of 617 in Sanya
86 reviews
Palmena Apartment
#118 of 1,356 in Sanya
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range: RM53 - RM155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanya Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing