We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$430
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$34
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$43
US$28
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$445
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
279
39
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
39
7
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery eveninghostelchinayuanchinese
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Nice youth hostel with a nice girl at the reception. You can rent surfboards but for 150 Yuan maybe on the beaches they are cheeper... :-/ unfortunately the bathroom ist very small and dirty but I liked the room by itself. Also the bed was very cosy.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Dirty hostel with mold and uncleaned bathrooms. Over- priced bar and everything - not even free water available. The owners are greedy, looking to make money at every opportunity. Staff don't speak English.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank laulau7772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I always prefer hostels over hotels and I'm really not picky when it comes to cleanness, space, location etc. But this hostel was so disappointing that we left the morning after we arrived - even though we couldn't get our money back for the rest of the days.

If you want to try it out either way, I advice you to only book one night to begin with. That way you won't waste your money.

I'll try to make it short:
- arrogant and not caring staff, no "hi, nice to meet you", nor any smiles
- common area is really nicely decorated but there is no music and the bar closed very early so you don't have a chance to chill out and meet people
- fungi on the walls (see pictures)
- 7 days cancelation policy which is a nice trick if you run such a bad place because then people read good reviews in e.g. Lonely Planet and book because they think it's nice and then they are trapped when they actually get there. Usually hostels only have 1 day cancelation policy.
- good location, close to the beach, free towels for the beach

But worst of all and very important to have in mind: people get free drinks if they rate them 100% on sites like Tripadvisor and Hostelworld (see pictures) - which totally undermines the point of these sites. What can we as users then trust? I wouldn't count on the reviews that says 5 stars in here or 100% on hostel sites.

Hope you'll find a nice place to stay in Sanya. We capitulated to a hotel for the rest of the time in Sanya.
- Sarah, Denmark

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We've been in China for five weeks now, and stayed in six different hostels. Most of the recommended by Lonely Planet and they were really good.

But this place is by far the worst experience. They have got new owners, apparently, so it's not the Singaporean couple any longer.

Room was very small with fungus on the walls. No soap on bathroom. The bar closes early and there is a big sign in the bar about the rules of the place (no fighting, no offensive manners etc.). Also a sign in the room of behavioral regulations (vomit in bed charged 100 rnb) - why is al this necessary?

But the worst thing, which made us furious, was the sign in the bar telling that we could get a free drink for rating them 100% on Tripadvisor. This simply just undermines the entire concept of Tripadvisor.

The staff was arrogant and the atmosphere was horrible. Such a shame, since we were really looking forward to this place.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank casperhennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

The hostel looks great from the road and certainly has 'Curb Appeal '! The bar and staff are likewise great - our room however was not. Upon checking in we where offered an 'upgrade' to a private four bed room as there where 3 of us in our party. When we entered the room we found sheets strewn across the beds, stained pillows and broken shelves. The room also appeared as it wasn't cleaned on anywhere near a frequent basis as the rest of the hostel. There where shoes abandoned under one of the beds along with several cigarette butts. The shelves above the lockers where also very dusty. The showers/toilets where in a state of neglect, with lots of mould all over the walls and a vine/ivy of some sort growing up the wall! This hostel looks as if it may have once been good - but needs some work to bring it back up to scratch! We stated in much better places in Sanya for less money on other nights and would urge others to consider the alternatives before booking here!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank t242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews