We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel with little character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 1,356 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2017

I didn't know what to expect when heading to Sanya for a weekend away from Hong Kong - I have to admit that I might not be back in a hurry.

It was a lengthy taxi ride from the airport to the hotel, it didn't help that we got stuck in traffic that didn't move for an hour. Upon arrival at the hotel, you can only be impressed by the scale and design of the place. It's huge and grand - very impressive.

Unfortunately that is as far as the impressiveness goes - the rooms are quite worn and all smelt quite musky. You are desperate to open the balcony doors when arriving, but unfortunately your room is then inundated with mosquitos!

The hotel pool is enormous - good for relaxing in, but there is no atmosphere around the place. You can't get food or drink at the pool and it is very quiet.

The staff are all very helpful and polite, but unfortunately this hotel seems to be too big for its own good - a lot of work is needed to get it back up to a 5* level.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up will have a much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 766sebastianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSanya, Director of Operations at Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear Mr. 766sebastianp
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying with us. We sincerely apologize for not being able to exceed your expectation. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly act on them. As for the rooms, we actually have embarked on a refreshment program since late last year and should be done at the end of 2018. We acknowledge the lack of service at the pool and will ensure that our guests receive the attention they deserve in the near future. We have also stepped up the frequency of pest control in the hotel as Summer is approaching and we are located next to a native forest and waterways. Thank you once again and please do let me know if I can be of assistance personally for your future return trip.

Sincerely
Sincerely
André Nurman
andre.nurman@renaissancehotels.com
Director of Operations
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We visited this property when it first opened and sadly in the last 5 years it has aged considerably. Staff are great and try very hard with limited english to please and understand. Sadly the property was let down by a dirty lagoon pool. Beach is lovely but swimming is a no no. Loads of jellyfish and seaweed.

Checkin to our villa was swift and prompt with luggage delivered with ease. However we had to re request our sons rollaway. It was already requested and added into the room price.

Look we love sanya and flew a long way to get here but sadly next time i think we will be looking at more recently built resorts. The renaissance has aged very quickly and the ground maintenance on the larger scale (ie waterfalls pool etc) is a bit of a let down .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank KBBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSanya, Director of Operations at Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Dear Mr. KBBSydney
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience at the resort. We sincerely apologize if we have failed to meet your expectations. We have embarked on a refreshment program on the resort since late 2016, however we certainly still have many areas that require attention.

Thank you for the kind feedback on the staff service, which our ambassadors will be delighted to hear, but at the same time, we acknowledge on our shortcoming on the English proficiency, which we are working on.

Please do let me know if you like to return in the future, which I would personally organize. Thank you once again and we wish you a very happy new year.

Sincerely
André Nurman
andre.nurman@renaissancehotels.com
Director of Operations
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

There were good and bad reviews about this hotel in the internet. But when I arrived, it went beyond my expectation. The hotel is in Haitang Bay, a new resort area that is less crowded than other bays. Breakfast has lots food choices. I stayed in two hotels in Sanya, Renaissance was one and the other was Mangrove Tree Resort in Sanya Bay. It was only 100 RMB per night extra staying at Renaissance than at the other hotel. I will definitely choose Renaissance over the other.

Tips for US and Canadian travelers: apply for Marriott visa before you go and book with your membership number. The hotel upgraded me to an ocean view room when I arrived. What a pleasant surprise! Also, wifi is free with the Marriott membership.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bcbc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSanya, Director of Operations at Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Mr. bcbc2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed it and we truly appreciate the generous feedback that you have given, which will certainly delight our ambassadors and encourage them to continuously improve the service & products in the resort. Please do let me know if I can personally assist with your future return trip to Sanya. Thank you once again and we wish you the best in 2017

Sincerely
André Nurman
andre.nurman@renaissancehotels.com
Director of Operations
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

China is never the first place on my list for a quiet getaway. But I was pleasantly surprised by the Renaissance in Sanya.

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend in March - check-in was swift but the rooms were slightly on the worn side. The room was damp and musky which prompted our balcony doors to be opened. I also felt the rooms and bathrooms were slightly on the dirty side too. On the plus side the rooms are very spacious, and the beds very comfortable.

The facilities of the resort are first class. The R-Cade is a man's heaven with a bowling alley, private cinema, billiards, and Playstation consoles. The swimming pool is also another highlight - large and inviting with a brilliant jacuzzi.

The overall service was very attentive and very accommodating. Dan at the R-Cade and Ina at the Starfish Market Restaurant took care of us, and there was also a young man at the restaurant who spoke great English and looked after all our needs.

The breakfast buffet has a wide selection of foods and cuisines but unfortunately fell short of 5* quality. The bakery section was a particular highlight though, but hopefully the coffee can be improved!

Price-wise, unless you take on their all-you-can-eat/drink buffet at the Star Fish Market, things are on the expensive side.

Location of the hotel is a bit far from the airport/town - but depending on your requirements this could be a blessing.

Overall - if you're looking for peace and serenity during the low-seasons this could be a fantastic getaway at an extremely reasonable price. But be sure to bring some repellant if you plan on hanging outdoors!

Room Tip: Higher floors, better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ndearman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSanya, Director of Operations at Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Mr. Nickdearman
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience at the resort. Thank you for the compliments to our ambassadors, they will certainly be delighted that they were able to take care of you. However, we sincerely apologize if we have failed to meet your expectations on the facilities. We are currently in the midst of refreshing our rooms and public area, which will take some time until 2018. Please feel free to contact me in the near future if I can personally assist you to plan a return trip. Thank you once again and have a great 2017.

Sincerely
André Nurman
andre.nurman@renaissancehotels.com
Director of Operations
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Some things are great about the hotel - wifi blazing fast, breakfast buffet quality, good Chinese and Western style catering, huge rooms, enormous and impressive pool, managed a small business group meeting well, some of the staff are friendly and helpful.

Overall, for a 5 star hotel, it could do (much) better - room and bathroom I was in needed a deep clean, flies on fruit at breakfast buffet, dead flies in stair well, many areas look a bit shabby and in need of an update.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JJB48103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSanya, Director of Operations at Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear Mr. JJB48103
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and appreciate the generous compliments on our ambassadors, which they certainly will cherish. However, we sincerely apologize if we did not meet your expectations. We are currently refreshing the rooms that started 6+ months ago and will be completed by the end of 2018. We acknowledge the problems with insects and are continuously working closely with our Pest Control team.

Please do let me know personally if I can assist you in your return travel to Sanya. We look forward to be of service and hope to exceed your expectation. Thank you once again and we wish you a very happy new year.

Sincerely
André Nurman
andre.nurman@renaissancehotels.com
Director of Operations
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Address: No.1 Yezhou Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#8 Business Hotel in Sanya
#11 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: RM330 - RM1,615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, a Marriott lifestyle brand. Explore the spectacular tropical landscaping and pristine beaches with incredible sunsets. Relax and rejuvenate at our exquisite resort & spa located at Haitang Bay on the South China Sea, where Guest rooms offer a choice of breathtaking ocean or equally stunning mountain views. Enjoy the various culinary delights within the resort. Red Star offers international cuisine and evening seafood & BBQ Buffet, where during the winter, the hot pot selection is also available. Star Anise offers Cantonese cuisine complimented by selection of cuisines from various parts of China. While Starfish Market presents Grill & BBQ selection during the weekend & public holidays. For those seeking a venue to chill out before & after dinner. Visit the Lounge at the Lobby with Live music daily from 2130 (Except Sunday) or share your musical talent at R-Place, our sports bar with Karaoke rooms. To rejuvenate your body and spirit, visit our Quan Spa featuring massages and treatments. Other amenities include the fitness centre, kids' pool with slide, R-kids' club with many recreational activities including bowling alleys. Not forgetting our huge swimming pools, where you can always find a quiet spot to relax. Our event facilities feature an exquisite grand ballroom that accommodates 900+ dinner guests and the lawn for 300+ dinner guests. Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa has the advantage of accessible beach to swim in Haitang Bay. It is only 15 minutes drive to the World's largest duty free mall at the bay by our complimentary shuttle bus and 45 minutes drive directly to the airport. MARRIOTT REWARDS PRIVILEGES Members get extensive discounts & special prices in the restaurants & bars, recreation and spa including all day happy hour drinks in the Lounge & Starfish Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sanya Resort And Spa
Renaissance Sanya Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing