We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very chinese!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Garden Resort
Ranked #224 of 1,354 Hotels in Sanya
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel is quite good, the room was great (located on the new building at 7th floor).
The breakfast is very chinese without much choice of western food.
The restaurant at the pool is not so good but the chinese restaurant at the lower building was absolutely great!!!!!!!! the only problem is to communicate with personal thats only speck chinese. Average very good value for money!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuliAncona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Firstly and most importantly, this is a review of the Sanya Royal Garden Resort -GRAND BUILDING. The hotel has two separate facilities and they are very different. I believe they are in the process of changing the name of their older building as my Chinese companions told me that the Chinese name of this hotel no longer reflects the English name.
Before I can talk about how nice the rooms were, I do have to make special note of how displeased we were with the staff at this hotel. We booked with a popular online hotel booking website which promised that our room would have a terrace (we payed more for a terrace rather than a balcony), free in-room wifi, and absolutely no surprise fees at the hotel. When we arrived, we were informed of hotel tax, our room had no wifi (no rooms do), and we were given a balcony room. When I pointed out that we paid more for a terraced room, they roughly demanded proof. When I showed them the reservation and then even loaded up the website to show the room description and photo of the terrace, they said that the photo and room description were wrong. When I showed them that the room we were in was actually a cheaper room on the booking website, they could come up with no explanation. A two-hour discussion ensued during which the management lied to us about contacting our booking website (they said they called, then said they didn't have the number, then when I gave them the number they said they couldn't call).
After fuming from the bad service, I settled into appreciated the room that we did have. It was pretty darn amazing. The room we booked was a "Superior Twin sea-view" and boy did it have an amazing sea-view! The room was spotlessly clean with two very comfortable twin sized beds. The room decoration was such a nice change from what I am used to in China, very modern and warm-feeling. The best part, in my opinion, was the large bathtub that could easily accommodate two people. The bathtub is separated from the rest of the room by a curtain which, when drawn up, allowed you a view of the sea from your tub! The hotel infinity swimming pool is also great! The water was clean and again, the views were amazing. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk down to the beach, but they have a convenient golf cart that takes you down every half hour.
Final thoughts on this hotel are conflicted. I really loved the room, but I am so incredibly displeased with the staff. This seems to be endemic at the hotel as we had trouble with the staff when we stayed at the cheaper wing 5 years ago.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a higher room. The lowest floor (I think they call it 3) offers no privacy as peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expat_in_hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stay somewhere else. I travel extensively and have never encountered such rudeness. When the staff are not on their cell phones or chatting among themselves, they act as if you are a bother and go out of their way to avoid providing assistance. For me the last straw was when I asked the woman sitting behind the "cashier" sign to change some money for me. She shook her head and waved me away saying "no, no." I then went farther down the counter and asked a different woman who took my 50 dollar bill, walked it down to the "cashier," and handed it to her. Needless to say the cashier drew out the process as long as possible, taking calls and chatting with people while I waited. I honestly can't recall when I've been treated THAT rudely!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelalot3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We booked a superior ocean view room in the main building on the 4th floor. I loved the early morning views of the sunrise from the balcony. Our room was in the older section - the doors were worn and our closet door was broken, but the beds were comfortable and clean. We felt very safe there. Good service - the shower drain didn't work and we had trouble hooking up to the net the first day, but we called reception and they sent someone up immediately to fix both problems. Close enough to walk to the beach, or you can catch a ride in a golf cart every half hour. There was a lot of noise all day as there were two construction sites between our hotel and the beach, but at night the room was was quiet. The infinity pool was beautiful - it was a short walk across the road and up the hill to the newer section. Breakfast in the new section is definitely better than in the main building, but it costs a bit more.

Room Tip: Great views from the superior ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We found this hotel in Agoda and when i was trying to book the room I found out they have two different buildings which one is older and one is newer. Make sure you book the right one with the infinity pool and located on the uphill right across from the older building. I believe the name of the new one is something called Royal Garden Grand Resort (三亚半山锦江海景度假酒店(贵宾楼)).

This hotel located really close to downtown Sanya and Luhuitou Park. We rent a car ourselves and it is not that hard to figure out where you need to go.

We booked the room with garden and ocean views as well as free breakfasts for two. The hotel overall is nice (the new one) and the staff are all quite friendly :) Nice room and love the pool there!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book the right one : 三亚半山锦江海景度假酒店(贵宾楼)in Chinese.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CSSNAKEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
1.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center
0.6 km away
Baohong Hotel
Baohong Hotel
#37 of 1,354 in Sanya
287 reviews
1.1 km away
Venus Garden Villa
Venus Garden Villa
#200 of 1,354 in Sanya
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay
0.2 km away
Landscape Beach Hotel Sanya
Landscape Beach Hotel Sanya
#353 of 1,354 in Sanya
191 reviews
0.7 km away
Herton Seaview Hotel
Herton Seaview Hotel
#193 of 1,354 in Sanya
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Resort

Address: No.32 Luling Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: RM171 - RM445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Garden Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanya Royal Garden Resort is located at Hainan, China. It offers 239 air-conditioned rooms, all of which have mini-bar, color TV, DVD/ CD player, and high-speed Internet access. Some of its amenities include outdoor swimming pool, sauna, and health/fitness center and massage service. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Yalong Bay National Resort, Nanshan Big and Small Caves, and Nanshan Buddhism Cultural Tourism Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing