We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Phoenix Seaview Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,373 Hotels in Sanya
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

This clean hotel with large rooms is a great place to stay at in Sanya if you don't want to spend too much money on your accommodation. Value for money is absolutely great!

The location is fine, it's about half an hour by cab to go to the beautiful Ya Long Bay and this will cost you only 55-60¥.
Furthermore we overlooked Sanya Bay with a great view of the famous Phoenix buildings.

Next to the hotel a large supermarket is situated where you can find everything you need. Here there's also an option to have your meal (noodles/rice with self chosen vegetables and/or meat) prepared for <10¥.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kay765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2015

One thing needs to be said right straight forward. I expected to take a view days off from the city life at a tourist destination. Arriving at the airport being confronted with an argument bewteen several police officer who did not manage to solve a single taxi drivers problem was a sort of unfamiliar experience. The driver shouted at them for several minutes and expected Guests to drive with him then in this condition, poor guys who entered his car. The first impression of an unorganized and reckless attitude was present throughout our whole stay. No matter if it was at the beach, where on a length of five kilometres only one shower was present and the adjoining changers were smelling as somebody had peed into them, or the road, which is in front of the beach, where drivers do not even let pass families with small children over a designated zebra, it was mostlyunfirendly and rahter hostile than hospitable. It is a nice place but it is neither the most beautiful on earth nor unique. Having said that I would have thought a mentality of hospitability, typical for tourist places, would be selfspeaking. The reality was opposite. If you want to meet friendly people in Sanya you have to go to the local markets and business dwelling areas but do not expect any of the usually known and experienced friendliness and openness at the tourist sites, at least the ones here described. Another absurdity that deserves mentioning is that, that jetski operators pick up people from the beach illegally and come so close to swimmers that you have to fear to be hit by them. Ones they leave you are left with their petrol smell. The only police boat we saw tried to follow one of them and though using the sirene in order to stop it, failled due to speed limitations the boat had. Sorry for so much negativity but it is advertised as a great destination and this I can certainly not confirm. The hotel seems to be new and therefore the interiour is modern and everything is shining in new and good conditions. The rooms are spacious and each has a balcony. Cleanliness was good and the service was acceptable, though ones would have hoped for a third towel although the third person is a small child. The breakfast, we chose consisted, of dim sum which we thought were average or below. Lunch, brought quickly by room service, was not warm and taste was also not impressive.The buffet dinner we enjoyed was well in varaiety, asian and western meals were offered. The best were the desserts. A skilfull piano player was responsible for beautiful music. There were noise issues one night when furniture was moved all over the place. Though asking reception several times for clearance the noise continued until 3 or 4 pm. No compensation what sort ever was offered and the noise even continued the next day. Then a move to another room was granted, which had to be done by ourselves. This room was smelly and full of ants. Smoking seemed to be welcomed as ashtreys were all around in the lobby and the rooms. The poor performance of service and a lack of guest orientated attitude is a management problem not a staff problem. Training and clear competences lines would solve some of the issues. Also, when leaving the hotel, being almost talked into taking a taxi by a security guards is not favorable.So why is it then still average: Because the seawater is beautiful as is the beach, directly in front of the hotel ones you manage to cross the road. There are very friendly local people who do not give you the impression that you are an annoyance. So coming back yes, but to another hotel (also this one can change and then be another) and another beach area at which you can shower and change cloth without being disgusted by smell and money hungry jetskiers.

Room Tip: Seaview or backyard facing rooms. Former might face some noise problems as people gater at the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LEM3428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

The hotel is right next to the beach square in sanya. On weekends it is extremely noisy well into the night.. The windows are not double-paned, so the room is not sound-proof at all. No-smoking rule is not reinforced at all, like most hotels in China. The decor of the hotel is dated and worn out.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chun-Wai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Overall the stay was fine. Hotel pool is pretty small and food available near the pool is overpriced and tasteless. It's conveniently located next to a supermarket And rooms are spacious. You can get a room upgrade if not booking through a travel agent. If it's through the agent they already included the upgrade in the price

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harrycopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2007

My family and I booked a tour through Nan Hu Holiday expecting to stay at 4-5 star hotels for the three nights of our tour but the hotels that had been pre-arranged were way below our standards.

After two nights of crappy hotel rooms with problems in the bathroom, air conditioning, cleanliness, and plain presentation of the rooms, my family decided to move to another hotel nearby - which was the Golden Phoenix. The Golden Phoenix is a 4 star hotel - and to it's credit, it was much better than our previous two 4 star hotels but in terms of rating, I really think it was more like a 2 or 3 star hotel. There is a nice restaurant on the 1st floor and there weren't any major problems.

In any other instance I would have been underwelmed with the room had it not been for the terrible experiences I had in the previous nights.

I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for something not too fancy, in a good location that overlooks the water in Sanya Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yukino2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
5.8 km away
La Costa Hotel
La Costa Hotel
#310 of 1,373 in Sanya
45 reviews
4.8 km away
Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Hotel
#51 of 1,373 in Sanya
52 reviews
5.6 km away
South China Hotel
South China Hotel
#40 of 1,373 in Sanya
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Venus Garden Villa
Venus Garden Villa
#203 of 1,373 in Sanya
12 reviews
4.8 km away
Baohong Hotel
Baohong Hotel
#38 of 1,373 in Sanya
296 reviews
0.3 km away
Tian Ze Hai Yun Resort Sanya
Tian Ze Hai Yun Resort Sanya
#473 of 1,373 in Sanya
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Phoenix Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Phoenix Seaview Hotel

Address: Haiyue Plaza, Binhai Avenue and Sanyawan Road, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,373 Hotels in Sanya
Price Range: RM 208 - RM 1,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Phoenix Seaview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Phoenix Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing