We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Wall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$127
US$111
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Trip.com
View Deal
Yangcheng Hotel(Qinhuangdao)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ruyi Shanhai Hotel(Qinhuangdao)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Junyu Grand Hotel(Qinhuangdao)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
9
44
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
44
11
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Took my son ( living in Beijing) here to see the sea. Booked via eLong - which came up with this hotel as being 'seaside'. Most certainly wasn't. Not really impressed. Asked for a non-smoking room - which we were given, which stank of smoke and had numerous cigarrette burns in the carpet. Only stayed one night but I was disappointed in the experience. Definitely aimed at business clients and the 'Standard Twin' room even charged extra if you used the Nescafe in your room. After a courtyard hotel in Beijing which was so relaxed and hospitable this was a disappointment. Nice public rooms however, and the 'Coffee' Restaurant was a good place to hang out. Everything seemed to close down very early.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarytheNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Pros:
- in the middle of town
- service was fine
- free internet

Cons:
- breakfast was bad
- dinner wasn't very good
- not located near the water

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

A 4 star hotel that provides a nice room for a reasonable price (I paid 440Y per night). It's close to the train station (5Y taxi ride), but, as far as I could see, not really close to anything else of interest. The area around the hotel is really typically urban, not anything that looks distinctively Chinese.
The room I had was clean and reasonably well furnished with a typical hard bed, a shower stall bath, an in-room safe, TV with CNN, BBC and HBO, and free unlimited internet access. They do have a nice pagoda area for sitting, overlooking a koi pond and artifical waterfall (but it's a pleasant place to chill out). My only complaint when I stayed was mosquitos, of which I hunted down and killed 4 in my room during the first two nights of my stay. You can open small sections of window, but there's no screens and no view; the air conditioning worked, though it will only get the room cool, not cold. The room was quiet, and the staff spoke adequate English. They do have a business center and a travel desk for plane tickets to Shanghai (the only place you can get to from there by air).
The hotel has both a Chinese and Western restaurant (UBC Coffee) on the premises. Their breakfast buffet is Chinese (though you can get fried eggs and toast), but it's a fairly large buffet and is well prepared, though they stop serving at 9:30 and can run out of things before then.
It's probably the best hotel in Qinhuangdao, but if you're looking for tourist sites, I'd probably try Shanhaiguan, as it's closer.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2006

If you go to Qinhuangdao this is the place where you want to stay. It is the only hotel in town that holds up to western standards.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drumagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews