We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel practice dirty means by removing item like astray and make guests pay for missing item”

Rongcheng Yingxiang International Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rongcheng Yingxiang International Hotel
Ranked #995 of 2,677 Hotels in Chengdu
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel practice dirty means by removing item like astray and make guests pay for missing item”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 22/9/2013 to 24/9/2013 solo.
I am a non smoker myself and do not bother to meddle with the astray at all.

On the last day of checked out , I am greatly amazed that the reception told me astray in the bathroom was missing.

Disbelieving, I went up to the room to find the lady checking was there.i pointed to the astray at the main table which was untouched, and she told me the one in the bathroom was missing.

I followed the direction where she pointed, beside the sink, there was mark of wetness (as I used the sink earlier)and the hollow shaped of circular object supposedly to be astray,all this is fresh watermark.


I am disgusted that they used such undermean to make the guest pay. I was rushing for my flight and I couldn't argue much with them.

End of the day I have to pay rmb20 for something which I do not even touch or used.

Stay clear of this hotel as it is not ethical....

Room Tip: Stay clear from this hotel...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Weiniwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    42
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nice
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The first impression suggests that this was once an American hotel of the kind Hilton built from the 1970's onwards. But perhaps it is a copy: Kohler toilet & sink faucet, marble-encased bath and washbasin, the layout and furbishings are of an earlier epoch.

Two lifts serve all 12 floors, so waiting becomes a chore. From the lift the walk to rooms on floors 5 through 12 is up to 110 meters distance in one direction, and 55 m in the other ! So bring your skateboard !

Second floor is the large and comfortable breakfast mezzanine, and third floor sports a large rather but tired tea room and 'Spa' -- the latter is limited to various types of massages (no jacuzzi, pool, or gymn).

Fourth floor consists of an elaboratedly decorated 'KTV Club'. Nobody there speaks enough English to explain KTV, but I understood the Club hosts singing competitions -- they resonated upstairs to our 6th floor bedroom until late at night.

There are no Standard rooms. The 'Superior' double is small, crowded, the bathroom miniscule.

It seems the hotel cuts costs wherever possible. On 7 residential floors lights have been deactivated down one side of the corridors. This, in a country where LED lights plus GU fittings wholesale for $3. One could save electricity yet avoid the embarrassment of all-dark walls down football-field length corridors by installing some LEDS.

Economy stretches into the bedrooms: There is one entrance light and one ceiling light in the double. Insufficient to read. Turn on the two standing lights, the coil neons are so weak I had to use my flashlight. Same for the bathroom, light was insufficient for shaving. Wives need a portable mirror to apply makeup -- in daylight at the large sliding-glass windows.

The water at the sink seems to have been aerated to reduce consumption. Stand in the bath to get a shower from a shower head that shoots water at a 45° angle. Pull the curtain closed, but beware of letting any water past your body: if it hits the back wall you'll flood the floor, and find yourself apologising to the ( rather likeable) room cleaners.

The strong card of the hotel is its breakfast, which is copious in that it offers a wide range of local specialties: spicy vegetables and boiled eggs, bacon with eggs (but none scrambled), three choices of juice, no fresh fruit but tiny tomatoes in two colours (yellow & green), no cereals but small buns that might fit in your pocket if you're scrambling to get to the airport.

WIFI in the room is free, but once I had been given the room-specific login-code, the signal was so weak even short emails had difficulty departing for their destination. Forget about sending big data or multiple pictures: "Looking for Networks" was the message that appeared regularly -- for up to 30 minutes, on my Mac.

You'll have to pay your bill fully and in advance, which seems to be a standard hotel practice here. This makes things difficult if you should decide the negatives outweigh the positives, and want to leave earlier than reserved.

Moreover, you need to be fluent in Chinese. The lobby is large and impressive. But noone at this prestigious-looking hotel, including at the Reception, the telephone switchboard, Room Service, the Club, or breakfast speaks any English. You have to call the Duty Manager, but she seemed so much in demand that we didn't have the heart to add to her woes.

The hotel gives out a clever visiting card that can be given to taxi drivers should you want to return to it. All other hotel brochures and printed room information are in Chinese. Except the TARRIF (room rates). At $200 per night the small 'Superior Double' seemed overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room bigger than 12 M 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boondoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongguan City
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The room had intolerable odors with noise where i was located. Stayed on 6th floor. Took one of the longest walk ever from the elevator to my room on the floor. Few elevators given the number of rooms available in the hotel. The bathroom were poorly designed with excessive water after shower. I do not recommend. To be fair, the location, however, is quite well situated in the city of Chengdu. Breakfasts were terrible given the choice of food to be considered "International" hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there, then strongly recommend to get high floor to avoid noise coming from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvinwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Was arranged by my company to stay for 3 nights. Had some problem finding the hotel's website as the name spelled Rong Impression International Hotel at the website and not Rongcheng Yingxiang International Hotel.

(w)Rong Impression? A name that does not instil much needed confidence. And true enough, the pillow was so soft that I could not rest well for 3 straight nights. The 2 lifts were terribly slow and the wait can be a pain. Breakfast and lunch buffet offer variety but the quality is simply not there while the breakfast was almost 90% identical every morning. It is a good 15-20 minutes taxi ride from the city area. The only nearest local attraction reachable by foot (20 minutes?) is Dufu Garden. Most of the shops near the hotel are closed at around 9pm except for the fruit store across the street. Bring some food back to the hotel in case you are hungry at night.

The only positive notes I have for the hotel are that the staffs are generally very helpful. And the hotel is quite well maintained and clean. (Seems to be a very popular place for wedding lunches, 4 days straight in a row during my stay). However, these 2 notes are not enough to make me stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Nice modern hotel, but no lamps on my bed and only showers. Breakfast very rich in quantity, but not so good in quality.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giggi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
5.5 km away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,677 in Chengdu
294 reviews
6.9 km away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,677 in Chengdu
453 reviews
5.6 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,677 in Chengdu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#4 of 2,677 in Chengdu
473 reviews
6.2 km away
BuddhaZen Hotel
BuddhaZen Hotel
#13 of 2,677 in Chengdu
743 reviews
5.7 km away
Ascott Raffles City Chengdu
Ascott Raffles City Chengdu
#11 of 2,677 in Chengdu
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rongcheng Yingxiang International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rongcheng Yingxiang International Hotel

Property: Rongcheng Yingxiang International Hotel
Address: No.1 Longteng West Road,Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu > Shuangnan , Wuhou District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #995 of 2,677 Hotels in Chengdu
Price range (per night): RM210 - RM433
Hotel Class:4 star — Rongcheng Yingxiang International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Ctrip TA so you can book your Rongcheng Yingxiang International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing