We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff”
Review of Minshan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minshan Hotel
Ranked #50 of 2,754 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed 3 October 2015

A vaguely Tibetan themed hotel in the downtown area. Very friendly staff and usually someone with some English.
We don't often eat dinner in the hotel preferring to venture out but a late return from an excursion meant we needed to eat at the hotel given that many restaurants close around 22:30. Very reasonable prices in the restaurant compared to many tourist hotels with service being some of the quickest we experienced and hot food actually hot! Be careful not to over order! Most dishes serve two if you add a bowl of rice. Two dishes plus rice per couple is plenty. The Snow beer at 20 Yuan was good value.
The main downside to the hotel is a lack of attention to detail with a safe that didn't work and the need for a ‘deep clean’ in the various areas of the building.
When a watch was left at the hotel on departure a member of staff drove to the railway station to deliver it – service above and beyond!
General notes on Chinese hotels
Chinese make little distinction between the type of food eaten at different meal times. Expect cooked vegetable and meat dishes at breakfast.
Milk is not often available automatically with tea or coffee. You may need to ask; try to make it clear if you want it hot or cold – good luck with that! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travlintone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2015

First hotel I have visited in Chengdu, around 30 minutes from the airport. The hotel is located in the center of the city. A large lobby with friendly staff at front desk and lobby area. The room is very nice with a good amenity and decoration. When I went to restaurant, it was fantastic. A lot of variation of food, especially sea food and traditional noodle.

But, little bit difficult to communicate with the staff except lobby staff. They speak a little english. But I could survive there for a week at least. The internet connection was poor.

Overall it was very nice to stay there. Nice experience in Chengdu.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nanang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

If your needing to do business in Chengdu CBD and looking for a less expensive option than the nearby Marriott or Fraser Suites, then Minshan Hotel is a good option. Wifi works well, there is a newish gym which is pretty ok by hotel standards. Not big but nicely done, and a outdoor pool which is ok as well. Breakfast Buffett was plentiful, leaning on the Chinese side, but lots of western options. Rooms are fine. It's a well done property and compares nicely on price. My room was 650 rmb a night with breakfast.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank Ham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. We had a business room which was probably the best of all our stay in mainland China. Big, luxurious, comfortable. Fabulous view and a bathroom with two sinks.

We had a meal in the restaurant on the 21st floor. Lovely location and food, service was a delight. Only slight complaint was that the food there was western - so a compromise needed to get the setting and view or go to the Chinese restaurant at the bottom. Would have been nice to have been able to have good Chinese food in that lovely setting but guess they find there is no demand.

Location is good- rather than turn right outside and finding you are in any designer shop city, turn right and right again to go for a lovely evening walk along the river. Charming and lovely when lit up.

Would certainly recommend this hotel - beautiful.




Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

I stayed in Chengdu for one night at the Minshan Hotel – a large modern hotel which had a
welcoming foyer, complete with the ubiqious stuffed pandas – this IS panda
country after all!

My room was on the 14th floor and was large and airy with stunning views over the
city and was well appointed.

We had a buffet dinner at night-time and had been warned that the local food was
incredibly spicy – mouth numbing would be more appropriate but there was lots of
it and those with an asbestos palate were very happy. Breakfast the following
morning was equally varied – with something for everyone.

The hotel was in a great location – 5 minute walk to the main square past lots
of designer stores – but to be honest, at night time the light displays on the
surrounding buildings were so stunning that you became completely distracted –
so the walk was rather prolonged!

My only complaint in fact was that the advertised swimming pool turned out to
an outdoor pool which was closed in the winter.

Lovely hotel with stunning fitments in the lounge – I especially liked the glass
ceiling fixtures – and one I would be happy to recommend to anyone visiting the
city.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.3 km away
JinJiang Hotel
JinJiang Hotel
#38 of 2,754 in Chengdu
757 reviews
0.3 km away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,754 in Chengdu
944 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,754 in Chengdu
366 reviews
2.4 km away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#23 of 2,754 in Chengdu
345 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express CHENGDU WEST GATE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshan Hotel

Address: No.55 Section 2, Renmin South Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610016, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#24 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#53 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: RM307 - RM637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Minshan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Minshan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minshan Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing