We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayu Kaiyuan(Shaoxing)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
60
39
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
39
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyou'd expectold townshennovelsflavoramenitieslobby
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I spend an overnight during the week end in the hotel and would realy recommand it, very cnetral close to Lu xun house, easy to make some walks along the canal from there. Rooms are clean and food is good , as well as rates. the hotel is rather big , not easy to find your room at first and only on 3 floors hight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Seeing that the Old Xianheng #2 ranking on Tripadvisor and its excellnt right-smack-in-mid-of old town location, we unreservingly decided to stay there for recent weekend road trip to Shaoxing.

Pros:
- Unbeatable location. It's part of Xianheng Tiandi (includes F&B, cineplex etc), right round the corner of JieFang Lu (a major shopping artery) and most importantly, 200 m from Luxun Former Residence, THE place of visit for any visitors in Shaoxing.
- Hotel was quite recently refurnished to a 5 star standard in a modern Chinese style. Classy and not tacky at all. There were manmade waterways completed with old style boats. I love the sloped roof.
- Rooms: Not huge but it has all the needed amenities except WIFI. Water pressure was great.
- Breakfast selection was good both in terms of variety and quality. Much better than many of the locally owned 5 star hotels I have visited in China.
- Check in: quick and painless
-Concierge: Helpful in pointing out the route to drive out of the city.
- FREE parking for hotel guests

Cons:
- So called central heating: The control panel in each room was like a dummy. There was absolutely no way to adjust the temperature. The weekend we were there was warm, in the 20s and the hotel was blasting heat. We couldn't sleep well even with the balcony door opened.
- WIFI: First time we called service main land, we were told WIFI was automatically available, password neeed. We tried searching for netweoks on our devices but to no avail. Call the service main land second time and was told WIFI does not exist. Turned out their technician needs to come to the room to install a router for WIFI to work. This was unaccpetable for a 5 star property.
- Main restaurant, Xianheng: many tourists come here just to see this historical restaurant, that has been re-created based on historical records. We arrived and were told by very rude servers to find our own tables. We needed to get their attention just to have the table cleared and cleaned. Food came in small dishes. It was an interesting experience but I had to stay it wasn't very tasty. Food ordering, payment, getting the utensils were all self service. For the cost and the fact that it was THE themed restaurant in a 5 star property took 2 stars off immediately. What a shame.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevenheaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

If you've got a bit of cash to spend this place can make it go far. It's a luxury hotel, with great service, large rooms, with lots of amenities, strong hot showers, often with an outside porch. If you're travelling you might feel a bit out of place - I did when I walked through a glamourous wedding shoot with my backpack - but I enjoyed my stay. It's not especially characterful, but they've made an effort by building little canals in the courtyards with boats. Meals and drinks are expensive as you'd expect. Reception was exceptionally helpful and gave me some good tips for things to see outside of the city and how to get there. They booked tickets and made reservations efficiently and well, though for a fair fee. I paid about 60GBP per night and I think if you call then up and they're not full, you can get a deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroadBean1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Booked a Deluxe Standard (Double Beds) via Elong two weeks prior to arrival. Rate was RMB 590 per night, which included two breakfast buffets each morning. Housekeeping also left complimentary fruits, spa tickets and little trinkets throughout our stay. A quick critique of the hotel is as follows:

Pros:
1. Aesthically beautiful hotel with quality construction & elegant decors
2. Spacious rooms, great double beds, big tub, separate shower & potty rooms
3. Great location, in easy walking distance to tourist sites & shopping areas
4. Excellet staff (reception, housekeeping, bellhop, doorman, food prep, janitorial), warm & courteous & helpful
5. Free high speed internet (wired)
6. Good breakfast buffet selection

Cons:
1. Restaurant wait staff (where breakfast buffet is served) is slow & lacking. Tea/coffee cups don't seem to get filled & dirty tables don't seem to get cleared, even as weekend/holiday crowd packs in.
2. Restaurant also gets intolerably hot & airless. Nobody enjoys breaking a sweat first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allegra808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We have been wanting to visit Shaoxing for some time and are so glad that Old Xianheng Hotel was renovated in 2010 before our trip. It is a beautiful hotel that looks deceptively modest and small from the exterior. The 5-star reviews by Sharkie32 and cabingal helped us decide to stay here and we totally agree with their assessments. As soon as we walked into the lobby, we knew we made the right choice. It is a strikingly elegant, modern mix of subtle Chinese design and sensibility.
The bell and reception staff were attentive, polite and friendly. They gave the impression that they enjoyed working there and serving their guests. Wait staff in the restaurants were excellent too and anticipated our needs. We were happy that there was a large, no smoking area in the Western restaurant where we ate breakfast everyday (see below). Our room was comfortable and the bathroom incredible. It included a separate bath and shower – beautifully spotless and modern.
The gym facility has two stationary bikes, two step machines, four treadmills, and several weight machines-very clean and not crowded. If table tennis is your thing, there are tables set up in the room next door. Our room rate also included complimentary sauna passes at the hotel’s spa which is two floors down from the main level. The spa has separate men’s and women’s facilities. The women’s spa is incredible with many shower stalls, a large hot spa (pool) with many jets and sitting areas and both steam and dry saunas.
Old Xianheng Hotel is located in the middle of a narrow, short street which is the birthplace of the modern Chinese novelist Lu Xun. We loved the location because it is centrally located to many of the tourist spots in Shaoxing which we could walk to. Public busses and pedicabs are also widely available.

We made our reservation through eLong.com for CY540 for a single standard room with a queen size bed. This included two breakfasts which cost around CY70 if purchased separately – a real bargain. The breakfast choices are plentiful – we favored the Chinese dishes especially the steamed buns and rice congee with all the fixings. The western pastries looked good, we tried the croissants which were excellent. For dinner, you might want to try the Chinese ‘cafeteria-like’ restaurant or the Western style restaurant buffet. We found the western style buffet a better deal because it only cost CY98 for all you can eat and includes not only western style food, but also many Chinese dishes available in the cafeteria-style eatery.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blue53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews