We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest hotel”
Review of Old Xianheng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Xianheng Hotel
Ranked #4 of 190 Hotels in Shaoxing
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of the greatest hotels I have ever stayed in.
The architectural design of the building is beauty.
The Japanese restaurant has fantastic food and the buffet breakfast has a huge range.
The rooms are large and the bathroom is beautiful. The rooms are so great you really don't want to leave them. I love staying here

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

I spend an overnight during the week end in the hotel and would realy recommand it, very cnetral close to Lu xun house, easy to make some walks along the canal from there. Rooms are clean and food is good , as well as rates. the hotel is rather big , not easy to find your room at first and only on 3 floors hight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Seeing that the Old Xianheng #2 ranking on Tripadvisor and its excellnt right-smack-in-mid-of old town location, we unreservingly decided to stay there for recent weekend road trip to Shaoxing.

Pros:
- Unbeatable location. It's part of Xianheng Tiandi (includes F&B, cineplex etc), right round the corner of JieFang Lu (a major shopping artery) and most importantly, 200 m from Luxun Former Residence, THE place of visit for any visitors in Shaoxing.
- Hotel was quite recently refurnished to a 5 star standard in a modern Chinese style. Classy and not tacky at all. There were manmade waterways completed with old style boats. I love the sloped roof.
- Rooms: Not huge but it has all the needed amenities except WIFI. Water pressure was great.
- Breakfast selection was good both in terms of variety and quality. Much better than many of the locally owned 5 star hotels I have visited in China.
- Check in: quick and painless
-Concierge: Helpful in pointing out the route to drive out of the city.
- FREE parking for hotel guests

Cons:
- So called central heating: The control panel in each room was like a dummy. There was absolutely no way to adjust the temperature. The weekend we were there was warm, in the 20s and the hotel was blasting heat. We couldn't sleep well even with the balcony door opened.
- WIFI: First time we called service main land, we were told WIFI was automatically available, password neeed. We tried searching for netweoks on our devices but to no avail. Call the service main land second time and was told WIFI does not exist. Turned out their technician needs to come to the room to install a router for WIFI to work. This was unaccpetable for a 5 star property.
- Main restaurant, Xianheng: many tourists come here just to see this historical restaurant, that has been re-created based on historical records. We arrived and were told by very rude servers to find our own tables. We needed to get their attention just to have the table cleared and cleaned. Food came in small dishes. It was an interesting experience but I had to stay it wasn't very tasty. Food ordering, payment, getting the utensils were all self service. For the cost and the fact that it was THE themed restaurant in a 5 star property took 2 stars off immediately. What a shame.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevenheaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

If you've got a bit of cash to spend this place can make it go far. It's a luxury hotel, with great service, large rooms, with lots of amenities, strong hot showers, often with an outside porch. If you're travelling you might feel a bit out of place - I did when I walked through a glamourous wedding shoot with my backpack - but I enjoyed my stay. It's not especially characterful, but they've made an effort by building little canals in the courtyards with boats. Meals and drinks are expensive as you'd expect. Reception was exceptionally helpful and gave me some good tips for things to see outside of the city and how to get there. They booked tickets and made reservations efficiently and well, though for a fair fee. I paid about 60GBP per night and I think if you call then up and they're not full, you can get a deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroadBean1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Booked a Deluxe Standard (Double Beds) via Elong two weeks prior to arrival. Rate was RMB 590 per night, which included two breakfast buffets each morning. Housekeeping also left complimentary fruits, spa tickets and little trinkets throughout our stay. A quick critique of the hotel is as follows:

Pros:
1. Aesthically beautiful hotel with quality construction & elegant decors
2. Spacious rooms, great double beds, big tub, separate shower & potty rooms
3. Great location, in easy walking distance to tourist sites & shopping areas
4. Excellet staff (reception, housekeeping, bellhop, doorman, food prep, janitorial), warm & courteous & helpful
5. Free high speed internet (wired)
6. Good breakfast buffet selection

Cons:
1. Restaurant wait staff (where breakfast buffet is served) is slow & lacking. Tea/coffee cups don't seem to get filled & dirty tables don't seem to get cleared, even as weekend/holiday crowd packs in.
2. Restaurant also gets intolerably hot & airless. Nobody enjoys breaking a sweat first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allegra808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shaoxing hotels
0.7 km away
Shaoxing Xianheng Grand Hotel
2 km away
Holiday Inn Shaoxing
Holiday Inn Shaoxing
#2 of 190 in Shaoxing
84 reviews
2.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Shaoxing
Crowne Plaza Shaoxing
#1 of 190 in Shaoxing
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Dayu Kaiyuan
Dayu Kaiyuan
#3 of 190 in Shaoxing
72 reviews
2.3 km away
Shaoxing International Hotel
13.5 km away
JinJiang Inn Shaoxing Keqiao Shimao Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Xianheng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Xianheng Hotel

Address: No.179 Luxun Middle Road, Yuecheng District, Shaoxing 312000, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Shaoxing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 190 Hotels in Shaoxing
Price Range: RM396 - RM584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Xianheng Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Old Xianheng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing