We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Du Parc Royal(Medellin)
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sites 45(Medellin)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Patios Hostal Boutique(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
61Prado Guesthouse(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$23
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maloka Hostel(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$25
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saman Hostel Medellin(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
BlackPine(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
196
163
67
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
163
67
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdowntown medellinreception areaarepasdoormanbalconynoisebedelevatorwifi
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I spent one week at this hotel. It is in the heart of El Centro so noise is a major factor. However, for light sleepers there are some noise free rooms. I spent the first night in room 707 and being a light sleeper it was totally unsuitable for me. I was relocated to room 910 which was much less noisy. The room was kept fairly clean.
The wifi in this hotel is very poor.
It was very difficult to get warm water in the shower. It fluctuated between hot and cold so that you constantly had to be turning the faucets.
There were a number of groups staying here during my stay including dozens of children who were, as is to be expected, quite active but fortunately the walls between rooms reduce the noise levels considerably.
However, I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are available, ask the front desk.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cutty1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Guest service at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear Cutty1954

We thank you for giving us your opinion, it is of great value for us to know how your stay at Gran Hotel Medellin was.
Regarding the hot water situation our maintenance department has reviewed all general system and corrections have been made to ensure a constant flow throughout the hotel, We also want to clarify that we offer to our guests a wifi network that supplies the basic connectivity needs for each and every one of them but it is not a high speed network to carry out activities that require a greater amount of band, for this we have our Internet room or with prior notice we can offer a special and private internet service For this type of tasks.
We are glad to know that our staff attended and resolved your requirements about the room.
we respect your express decision of not returning to visit us, however Gran Hotel Medellin will always have the doors open to provide our best service to you.
Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We knew that we were staying in an area of the city that wasn't really recommended - but wanted to be closer to some of the old city attractions. The hotel itself offered basic accommodation but I would like to say that the doorman and other reception area staff went out of their way to be helpful and provide useful information. It was a bit uncomfortable walking around the area after dark - but we made sure we were back in the hotel by 7 or 8 pm. Not sure that I'd want to repeat that experience.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Guest service at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

We are glad that you have left us your opinion about your stay in Medellin, also know that our staff was helpful to you.
Our beautiful city is one of the most visited tourist destinations of Latin America, are many attractions that we have, security is one of the guarantees offered Medellin to its visitors.
We located in the center of Medellin, we have a police presence constantly and in this Christmas season is even more frequent, additional to this we are only three blocks from a police station so repeating your experience in Medellin would not only be a pleasure for us, if No, it would be an opportunity for you to enjoy one of the safest and most attractive tourist destinations in the world.
We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights. I would say the room itself was very nice. Good space and clean and secure. There was a balcony that looked out onto the front of the hotel which was very noisy early in the morning and late at night, even with the door closed. Breakfast was included and ok, but nothing special. My big problem was the front desk. The front desk guy was very nice but couldn't really answer any of my questions. Simple questions like how many minutes to the South bus terminal ? He didn't seem to know where or how far.. Another question was where to go to catch the cable car. Again, directions very unclear. And for a major hotel , there was literally no one who could communicate in English. So, for help while you are there in Medellin, don't expect anything. . And when I want to settle my bill, that took much too long as they were constantly getting it wrong.. at first started out way too low, then went way too night. Hehe! but i finally got it all corrected.. I hope they front desk works on some of these things.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank cyclotrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Dear "cyclotrekker".
We greatly appreciate your comments.
We regret what we mentioned about noise, however it is unusual for our guests express this situation.
The normal American style breakfast consists of coffee, tea or milk, fruit or fruit juice, eggs (varied every day), bread or toast and jam or butter; ours besides the above includes cereal, yogurt, cheese and corn bread typical of the region.
Our staff is able to attend any request for the satisfaction of our customers and is knowledgeable of information as distances between sites or location of the most representative sites of the city.
We will continue to work to provide you more and better services.
You can always be sure to expect the best of our city and its people.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Cordially,
Marketing and Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed couple of days at Grand Hotel Medellin. It is a very old hotel from, I would say the 70 thies and it is not refurbished since. The room is simple and it is quite clean. You can't get it more clean due to the overall status. We had a balcony that was nice. The staff is very ok even though most of them don't speak any English. He area is good during day time. But after 6pm their is nothing and later on the area don't feel safe at all. It's totally deserted. No place to get a decent meal or find a decent restaurants. Grand is not a bad place but you have to think about where you want to stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank goldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Servicio al cliente en gran hotel at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016


“Dear Goldmann,

We greatly appreciate your comments.

We deeply regret that you´re not informed about the numerous renovations and adaptations that the hotel has
had in over 50 years of operation make it a benchmark for hospitality of our beloved Medellín.
Our team in which is included personnel with knowledge of english is in training and further reinforcement
on issues such as customer service in order to provide a positive experience for all our guests and Friends.
The vast majority of our guests enjoy the variety of cultural sites, gastronomy and fun in the various exiting
locations in the área around the hotel, sites that in fact are more than decent and offer great variety for all
tastes. Downtown Medellín is an excellent place to socialize after work, with Friends or a very good excuse when
you´re visiting our city not only during the day but also at night.

We look forward to seeing you son with us.

Yours truly,

Gran Hotel Medellín.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Great service and warm staff that went the extra mile to help my family in our accommodations. Older building with some minor imperfections but clean. Simple breakfast buffet style, we love the pineapple and the coffee. We stay in room 711 and requested an extra bed on a superior standard

Room Tip: Book directly in their home page
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Servicio al Cliente at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016
Google Translation

Yvonne H. Agradecemos sus comentarios. Continuamos trabajando para ofrecerle más y mejores servicios. Gracias por visitar nuestra querida ciudad y alojarse con nosotros. La esperamos en otra ocasión.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews