We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sites 45(Medellin)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Du Parc Royal(Medellin)
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Poblado Alejandria(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$154
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
61Prado Guesthouse(Medellin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Los Patios Hostal Boutique(Medellin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Saman Hostel Medellin(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
BlackPine(Medellin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$296
US$249
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
38
7
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
7
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarianotaxihostelpobladoparty
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016

In a beautiful part of Medellin, outside of the city centre, the hostel is more like a guest house. You need to look at it with 'romantic eyes' and have a sense of humour to appreciate your stay. The decor is unique and made the stay memorable - for example an outdoor bath, shower and toilet! Do not stay here if you do not speak Spanish as it is hard to get to and the lovely lady who greets you does not have a word of English. You are also left to your own devices and there is nothing to do around the hostel without getting a taxi. If you do stay here, we went to dinner in a local area called Sabanetta which has loads of bars, restaurants and had amazing Christmas lights. You need to get a taxi there for about 10,000 COP each way. I would recommend this place if you speak Spanish and are looking for a break where you don't do any activities. Also expect to get taxis or a public bus/metro everywhere.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the room with the outdoor shower and bath - sadly the massive bath did not fill up enough to properly enjoy!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HeatherNolan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I had an incredible time at the secret buddha. The hostel itself is in a fantastic location, with a beautiful garden, very comfortable rooms and a unique atmosphere. The owner could not have been more hospitable - showing me around and explaining the culture and history of Medellin. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All are good
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

everything was a pleasant surprise, but the energy of the secret buddha is pure magic , the service is genuine and kind, beautiful state you breathe nature, art and design everywhere, therapies available upon request. nice 20 to 25 min ride to the center perfect to see the city, bus is just 80 m from the retreat so it is very accessible. If you are lucky the owner is not traveling and he will cook for you and even give you a mezcal tasting, we stayed a week longer than we planned. definitely a home away from home

Room Tip: stay in the red room or the buddha suite, both have stone bath tubs balconies and beautiful views from the second level
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianoCapdevila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Words can't even describe how bad this place is.

So we arrived and while our transfer is driving to the very badly located hostel, we see a homeless person sleeping in a card box at the entrance of the hostel (outside).

Once we left the car we were greeted by a Colombian lady who for no apparent reason was wearing a mask, who did not speak a word of English and who did not asked us for any I.D or bother to explain anything.

Our "private room" had a door without lock but, more importantly, a HUGE HOLE in the wall (see pictures attached where I have tried to cover it with a blanket) which prevented us from having any privacy whatsoever and also made every sound every loud as there were no walls between us and the rest of the people.

The bed was really dirty with hairs on the sheets. The bathroom has not been cleaned for a long time as I managed to find spider webs inside the bath. There is creepy stuff everywhere and weird dusty stuffed toys.

My girlfriend and I checked out after the first nigh and were asked to pay for the remaining nights, all in cash, with the only ATM being over 1.5 miles away.

My girlfriend was to afraid to sleep because of how scary the entire place was. The hostel is located absolutely in the middle of nowhere in a very dodgy area so we found it hard to get back to the city.

Definitely not what we were expecting and the worst stay of my life.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AndrewB350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

What a wonderful place to relax after a week in Poblado. The rooms are comfortable and Mariano's the perfect host! If you're there on the weekend when he cooks breakfast you're in for a treat. Looking forward to coming back soon ~

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews