We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel
Ranked #63 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Reviewed 26 March 2016

The hotel is at the end of an unpaved road along with a few other small hotels. It is on the beach with onsite restaurant 2 small wading pools, covered deck overlooking the beach. There is some parking outside the hotel. Local come on buses during holidays and crowd the beach but other days are pleasant. You can rent covers areas with 4 chairs for around 20-25,000 pesos per day.
The hotel has a tower, 1 and 2 floor structures. We stayed in a 1 story #108 and #107 that had air conditioning, frig, 2 TVs, quite area and did not get the afternoon sun.

Room Tip: #106 to #109 has shade in the afternoon and is in quite courtyard.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BogotaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2015

After checking in prior to 1500 hrs we went to the room.
The AC unit was a in the room model.
I turned it on.
Went to the bathroom and noticed the venetian style windows were open and broken.
Informed the desk.
8 hours later upon our return from Santa Marten found the windows still open and not fixed.
AC unit not doing the job.
Went to the desk and ask for a fan.
None on site.
Then was told if we were staying more then one night they "might" be able to get us another room.
I told the desk manager another night was not in the cards.
Also for the $72 US I paid it was not worth the charge.
The next morning I went down to the kitchen area at 0615 am.
The staff was working on food.
I saw they had coffee going.
I had to DEMAND a cup of coffee and when I asked for some milk for it was told not until 7am.
This came from a girl that was thin short and also looked to be the one in charge.
She was there at 830 running the floor when the rest of my party arrived.
I will never return and will pass my thoughts along to anyone I know going to this area.

Room Tip: Run Do Not Walk.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DLRife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sociedad Hotele... T, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Mr.

Yours sincerely on behalf of the Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta.

For us it is very important to have the views of the guests, as this allows us to improve every day looking for providing excellent service. Therefore we appreciate the time you decided to share their experience.

They regret the inconvenience , which tells us , were presented during their stay; you can be sure that we will monitor each of the observations to apply the necessary corrections to improve our service, and thus ensure that at the next opportunity you enjoy an unforgettable hotel experience.

Sincerely,

Yeimi Díaz M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

dont waste your money and time
rooms filty , air conditioner will not cool dawn the room
breakfast is nasty ,birds are eating from the plates at the same time that they are serving
bed was very unconfortable
bathroom is very filty full of signs telling you how much water you should be using
limited towels and soap
one night we came back to hotel late at night ,and no one was there to open the front gate we waited for 30 minutes to the point that i started kicking the gate till this dude showed up very upset with an attitude saying that he was busy !!
i really hope the people from the hotel read this review i was staying with my familly from 7/1/15 to 7/5/15 room 201

Room Tip: find a hotel elsewhere ,very old and noisy rooms
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Hotel staff: They're just adorable. Rooms are confortable and quiet, ideal when you're looking for tranquility. Pool is small but I think you don't need at all a pool when the caribbean sea is right next to you. Food is delicious, highly recommended, especially "patacones con hogao". Hotel is close to the airport and close to El Rodadero, but at the same time it's quite so far, so there are not many sellers on the hotel's beach. Relation prize-quality is maybe the best in Santa Marta.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DanteStraivosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sociedad Hotele... T, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Dear Guest:

Thanks for writing such a kind comment on tripadvisor´s page.

You wrote about how comfortable and quiet our rooms are. We are glad that you have enjoyed tasting our "patacones con Hogao".
You make us feel so proud because of the great job we are doing. It is a pleasure for us to serve you. We hope to see you again in a near future.


Sincerely,


Tequendama Inn Santa Marta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014

We just wanted to see the city and then relax. We arrived on a Saturday morning. It's close to the airport so the cab ride was 19000 pesos (or roughly 10 dollars) but you can take a bus at the airport if you don't have a lot of luggage and it's 1400 pesos per person (some 75 cents) just tell the driver's aid the name of the hotel and he'll stop there.
The place is away from the touristy area of El Rodadero (Which I found horrible) and so it is very calm and relaxing. The hotel has a "semi-private" beach which means there will be very few people and few vendors which was fantastic. There's a friendly dude named Franklin that rents sun tents at the beach for 18000 pesos for as long as you want to use it, and he can hook you up with beer (at 3000 pesos or 1.50 dollars) and food. But if you fancy a different drink the hotel is 10 feet away so you can buy a cocktail and bring it to the beach with you (The Hotel staff is not allowed to serve you at the beach).
If you want to see the city you can walk to the highway some 50 yards and take a cab or a bus. I recommend bus because it's super cheap and it only take 10 minutes to go to Rodadero (do not recommend) or 20 minutos to Santa Marta (Recommended!). If you go to Santa Marta tell the driver's aid that you are going to get off near the Parque de los Novios. It's a nice place to have a drink and lunch and from there you can walk 3 blocks and see the Beach which is very nice close to the city marina.

I recommend this hotel. It's not fancy, the pool is VERY small and the restaurant had a limited menu (but all the food I ate was good!) but it's very clean, rooms are well equiped (A/C, WIFI, minibar, TV, safe) the staff is super friendly and the calm relaxing beach in the back of the hotel is fantastic. The hotel even has a wooden double deck where you can catch rays without having to be on the beach (in case you don't want to be on the sand) and the view from there is beautiful.

If you're looking to escape and relax this is it. I wouldn't recommend staying for more than a couple of days because aside from relaxing on the beach with a cold one there's not much else to do.

Room Tip: There are two structures. Try to stay in the tower structure, it has 5 floors and great views!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Juanimador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
3.0 km away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#39 of 67 in Santa Marta
150 reviews
0.3 km away
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
2.8 km away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#32 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel Tamaca Torre Norte
Hotel Tamaca Torre Norte
#18 of 67 in Santa Marta
137 reviews
7.0 km away
GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul
GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul
#24 of 67 in Santa Marta
287 reviews
1.7 km away
Sanha Plus Hotel
Sanha Plus Hotel
#25 of 67 in Santa Marta
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel

Address: Kilometro 8, via Pozos Colorados, Santa Marta 470001, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Tequendama Inn)
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: RM268 - RM524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive zone of “Pozos Colorados” between” the airport Simón Boliva and the historical center of Santa marta, the hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta is the ideal place to rest peacefully.In this place, the charms of the caribbean join to the magic of Sierra Nevada to create a Paradise environment with beatifull beaches and specially quiet sea. Only five minutes from the touristic zone of “El rodadero”, the place is characterized by security and cleanlinnes of its beaches.36 guest roms, estándar, superior and ocean view with capacity to 160 people in single, double or multiple accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing