We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casa Amani(Santa Marta)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Casa Bugambilia(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Guaca Hostel(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Playa del Ritmo, Beach Hostel & Bar(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$23
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Cacao Hostel(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
10
5
1
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
5
1
8
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

The girls who work here are very friendly, and very helpful. Breakfast was amazing (pancakes, fruits, fresh juice, coffee...) and included. The pool is tiny - more like a bathtub. The location is pretty central, but in a quiet street.

Facilities are nice for the price, I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

The rating on Trip Advisor is too high for this hotel in my opinion.

I don't know the history of this hostel however it feels like whatever money it makes needs to be reinvested back into the hostel. Much of this place has been patched together with plywood.

The cupboard was converted into lockers and includes powerpoints(genius) however the latches were too big so you have to use thongs/flip flops to bar the latch and make it function (not so genius).

Interestingly enough one the of the staff fills a locker with her stuff but had fixed her latch with an extra piece of hardware so it can lock properly. She didn't apply this to the other lockers for clients so she must know the others are broken but hey - who cares.

Bathroom door locks don't work. Latch to my locker was also broken.

The pool is green and is really more of a spa.

Getting in and out of the hostel is slow since you have to buzz the door and they use a padlock to open it and it always seemed to be a bit of a bother for the staff.

The staff also move at glacial pace. They sleep in your dorm if there are spare beds which was a first but didn't bother me.

Breakfast is fine, but ensure you get their attention if you have a day planned.

Hammocks are good, location is good.

Rooms are crammed with less than a foot of space between the bunks (bunks are very sturdy).

There are better hostels out there, unfortunately, my number 1 choice was taken which has way better facilities for the same price.

In a few years this place could be good, but I think the staff just need to spend less time on their mobile phones and extra few minutes fixing things up and making it competitive.

It will still make money picking up backpackers when better hostels are full.

Room Tip: Look for a decent locker if you have valuables
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris5986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

The hostel is very basic but people are friendly and it is located on a safe block. No one speaks English so there is no one to help you with travel plans/information about the town should your Spanish be less than fluent. Also - we booked a private room - the door barely closes and the bed is probably the most uncomfortable mattress I've slept on in any of my travels of the last few years. Overall - it's fine if you're it expecting much and don't mind a less than stellar bed

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jaimie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

The place was pretty nice, though the pool is significantly smaller than shown in the photos. We were given a private room that would not close properly since apparently someone broke the lock days earlier and it had not been fixed. They had lockers to put our expensive stuff in though. We were received pretty well by the receptionist the day we arrived, and coordinated with her for a 6 o'clock breakfast since we had to take a bus early the day after. When we woke up, no breakfast was in sight and after a half hour asking for it with a guy who was in charge of the reception at night, the bus came and we had to go. An unfortunate incident for an otherwise halfway decent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndrewMarshMellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

Not right on the city center, the color hostel is in a friendly neighborhood very close by, I think less than 10min walk. The rooms are very basic, the beds hard and pillows almost un-existing :) the staff was great and helpful as they agreed on keeping our luggage during our Tayrona trip. Belonging to the staff it's a happy dog and a grumpy white cat - they give the total cosy-family feeling to the hostel. Watch out if you are allergic! Oh yeah and the breakfast, prepared by the in-house cook and cleaning lady, was so tasty! Happy times in the color hostel!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews