We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart Selection Hotel Istra
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Opatija
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Travelled with Thomsons to the Hotel Istra and was delighted with this Hotel. Have been to Croatia 3 times now and this was by far the best hotel we have stayed in. Had been looking at these reviews with interest over the last month and can clarify a few queries

Hotel: Although looks a bit of a concrete jungle in fact once inside it is quite modern and spacious.

Staff: We found them very friendly and not at all like some of the previous reviews.

Location: Wonderful, could not fault the setting.

Rovinj: Very quaint, but be careful when its rains as the cobble stones could be very slippery,

Thomson excursions: Shop around for excursions. we paid 299 Kuna (£37) for the Venice Trip. Thomson were charging 399 (with 10% discount for imediate payment) Beware on the Venice trip they try to flog various bus trips, gondola rides ect. (on the boat) and quote how many people were lost in venice on the last trip!! We ignored all this as we dont like being herded awound like sheep, bought a map and found our way to St Marks Square quite easily.

Island Ferry: Be aware of sudden changes in Ferry as this confused us for a while.

Childrens activities: there was a wonderful area / room for children to play.

Evening entertainment: Not great, but as most people go to Rovinj in the evening acceptable,

Food: We found the food pretty good as there are so many different Nations in the Hotel. The free Wine / Beer at evening meal was a bonus which i certainly made use of.

An enjoyable Holiday and would definately stay at this Hotel again

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylan_Chelsea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2010

We've just come back from a one-week holiday spent in Hotel Istra. Contrary to most of the comments, we have very good opinion of the hotel and food.
We might have been lucky with our room (overlooking the sea, quite spacious and clean, the weather wasn't hot, so we didn't suffer from the lack of air-conditioning), but the food was abundant (for everyone, even for those less fortunate staying in rooms overlooking the street), big selection and tasty, the staff was nice and helpful, plenty of cutlery etc.
We knew in advance that the water was deep, so it was no surprise!

Opatija IS one of the most beautiful places to spend your holiday, especially if you like walking in between two swims. If you walk along the promenade you will have breathtaking views and can choose from at least 10 beaches (not sandy, of course), and within a few hours you can go back in time if you visit Lovran's Old Town - if you walk, you don't have to bother with finding a carpark :):)
All in all we would recommend this hotel, especially for the price they charge. Do not forget it is a 3-star hotel, not a luxurious one!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halacska36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The hotel has no beach only a concrete plinth which ends directly at the sea at a depth of about 10 foot so you must be a good swimmer. The round thing loosly described as an outdoor pool was slimy and had the consistency of pea soup on most days prbably not the most hygenic pool you will ever use if at all. The rooms were clean and tidy but our doors did not close properly and the balcony doors would not lock. The food was atrocious unless you like the previous nights vegetables and stale cake for breakfast then you have it made!! The evening fare was not much better with all the meat types tasting and looking exactly the same. There is no entertainment to speak of and the bar managger chucked us out at 10 pm so he could go home. You must navigate stairs to get to the restaurant and the water front and there are little if any disabled facilities. All in all dont go there uless you absolutely have to.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexDisgruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Before staying in hotel Istra, I have seen some bad comments about it online (I attended a conference in Opatija so I didn’t mind staying there). To be honest, I was pleasantly surprised – the hotel location is great, it is directly on the seaside and near the city centre. The room was clean and spacious, for breakfast you can choose from a variety of dishes and the reception desk personnel were very professional. The only problem was the parking, which is a problem in Opatija in general. According to several previous experiences, I suggest speaking to a friend or collegue when travelling somewhere for the first time, (as in my case) you shouldn’t rely just on comments online.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert1973Stocholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Booked through Shearings. Hotel rooms dirty. Shower overflowed into the bathroom (due to the plughole being full of hair and grime). Took several trips to the reception and many phone calls before someone finally came to have a look at the shower. They stuck one of the hand towels down the hole and said they would return to glue the plughole back down (how they will clean it next time it blocks up - your guess is as good as mine?!!!) Rooms had no air-conditioning or fans - the heat was overpowering especially at night. You could not leave your window and shutters open during daylight hours or the gulls would come into your rooms. Rooms at roadside were very noisy - some guests had hardly any sleep due to boy racers until the early hours of the morning. Rooms at the other side had good sea views - the only good thing about this hotel! The reception staff were the most rude, ignorant and unhelpful I have ever had on a holiday! There was one nice member of staff, a lady who served drinks to your table on an evening. The food was buffet style and was very poor. It was fight some nights just to get to the food. When you got to it some was not labelled so you did not know what it was. Also there was not enough crockery or cutlery. You had to wait for plates etc to be brought out and when they eventually did bring some they were not always clean. They only had about a dozen teaspoons in total - you had to use large spoons for your morning cups of tea or coffee. And if you wanted fruit juice you had to use tea cups as they only had a few glasses.

I do not know why Shearings are returning to this hotel again for 2009. Even the driver was trying to persuade them to choose another hotel.

Do yourself a favour and steer clear of this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
1.0 km away
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
0.4 km away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
0.8 km away
Hotel Opatija
Hotel Opatija
#30 of 30 in Opatija
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#9 of 30 in Opatija
658 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel 4 Opatijska Cvijeta
1.5 km away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#6 of 30 in Opatija
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Selection Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Selection Hotel Istra

Address: Marshala Tita 143, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
Price Range: RM271 - RM558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Selection Hotel Istra 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Selection Hotel Istra (3*) Opatija provides seafront hotel accommodation along the Adriatic. A short walk down Opatija's main street will put you in the middle of the city center. The Lungomare, Opatija's famous 12 kilometer-long coastal promenade, also leads to the center and offers an up-close view of the Adriatic Sea. The hotel's location is ideal for the traveler who enjoys being close to the hustle and bustle of the city, but also likes the calm and privacy of a beach vacation. The private beach and indoor swimming pool with heated seawater belonging to this hotel in Opatija are major draws for the economy accommodation, which has 130 rooms. The balconies in Istra's superior rooms provide unmatched views of the sea, exactly what you would expect from a hotel built so close to the water. The beachside bistro and outdoor terrace supply perfect spots for casual dining or a place to get a cold drink. Local, fresh seafood and an extensive wine list highlight the menu. Again, the wondrous sights of the sea add a level of radiance to the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Smart Selection Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Opatija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing