We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smart Selection Hotel Istra
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Agava(Opatija)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Navis(Opatija)
US$319
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$192
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bevanda(Opatija)
US$381
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
23
43
39
27
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
43
39
27
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunbeds and parasolsan ocean view roomstar hotelindoor poolkunarenovationlungomarepromenade
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We've just come back from a one-week holiday spent in Hotel Istra. Contrary to most of the comments, we have very good opinion of the hotel and food.
We might have been lucky with our room (overlooking the sea, quite spacious and clean, the weather wasn't hot, so we didn't suffer from the lack of air-conditioning), but the food was abundant (for everyone, even for those less fortunate staying in rooms overlooking the street), big selection and tasty, the staff was nice and helpful, plenty of cutlery etc.
We knew in advance that the water was deep, so it was no surprise!

Opatija IS one of the most beautiful places to spend your holiday, especially if you like walking in between two swims. If you walk along the promenade you will have breathtaking views and can choose from at least 10 beaches (not sandy, of course), and within a few hours you can go back in time if you visit Lovran's Old Town - if you walk, you don't have to bother with finding a carpark :):)
All in all we would recommend this hotel, especially for the price they charge. Do not forget it is a 3-star hotel, not a luxurious one!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halacska36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The hotel has no beach only a concrete plinth which ends directly at the sea at a depth of about 10 foot so you must be a good swimmer. The round thing loosly described as an outdoor pool was slimy and had the consistency of pea soup on most days prbably not the most hygenic pool you will ever use if at all. The rooms were clean and tidy but our doors did not close properly and the balcony doors would not lock. The food was atrocious unless you like the previous nights vegetables and stale cake for breakfast then you have it made!! The evening fare was not much better with all the meat types tasting and looking exactly the same. There is no entertainment to speak of and the bar managger chucked us out at 10 pm so he could go home. You must navigate stairs to get to the restaurant and the water front and there are little if any disabled facilities. All in all dont go there uless you absolutely have to.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexDisgruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Before staying in hotel Istra, I have seen some bad comments about it online (I attended a conference in Opatija so I didn’t mind staying there). To be honest, I was pleasantly surprised – the hotel location is great, it is directly on the seaside and near the city centre. The room was clean and spacious, for breakfast you can choose from a variety of dishes and the reception desk personnel were very professional. The only problem was the parking, which is a problem in Opatija in general. According to several previous experiences, I suggest speaking to a friend or collegue when travelling somewhere for the first time, (as in my case) you shouldn’t rely just on comments online.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert1973Stocholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Booked through Shearings. Hotel rooms dirty. Shower overflowed into the bathroom (due to the plughole being full of hair and grime). Took several trips to the reception and many phone calls before someone finally came to have a look at the shower. They stuck one of the hand towels down the hole and said they would return to glue the plughole back down (how they will clean it next time it blocks up - your guess is as good as mine?!!!) Rooms had no air-conditioning or fans - the heat was overpowering especially at night. You could not leave your window and shutters open during daylight hours or the gulls would come into your rooms. Rooms at roadside were very noisy - some guests had hardly any sleep due to boy racers until the early hours of the morning. Rooms at the other side had good sea views - the only good thing about this hotel! The reception staff were the most rude, ignorant and unhelpful I have ever had on a holiday! There was one nice member of staff, a lady who served drinks to your table on an evening. The food was buffet style and was very poor. It was fight some nights just to get to the food. When you got to it some was not labelled so you did not know what it was. Also there was not enough crockery or cutlery. You had to wait for plates etc to be brought out and when they eventually did bring some they were not always clean. They only had about a dozen teaspoons in total - you had to use large spoons for your morning cups of tea or coffee. And if you wanted fruit juice you had to use tea cups as they only had a few glasses.

I do not know why Shearings are returning to this hotel again for 2009. Even the driver was trying to persuade them to choose another hotel.

Do yourself a favour and steer clear of this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

This was the worse experience i have ever had. They ruined my holiday. I reserved the room through their website and was really looking forward to this holiday. But when i came to the hotel, they told me that there is no reservation!!!! We decided to take another hotel. The next day i get a message that they withdrew a one night stay from my account. But how did they do that if i didnt have reservation? I went there and tryed to take my money back. But both the hotel chain manager and hotel manager were so dum that there was no use to do that. In the liburnia(hotel chain) they told me that i have reservation in the hotel they told me that i dont!!!!! How bad is that?!!!!
To add, the hotel is terrible and the rooms are dirty.
I advise you not to risk and to spend your holiday in some other hotel.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank MoscowTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews