We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Santa Cruz Island
from US$103.85
More Info
from US$3,128.39
More Info
from US$1,621.44
More Info
from US$60.00
More Info
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
99
26
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
26
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerto ayora giant tortoises the charles darwin research central hub main town sea lions bucket list climate island beaches tours wildlife boats highlands galapagos ranch population
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2021

Galápagos is a huge ground and Santa Cruz is a good, safe way to do a first time trip to the islands and get out of your comfort zone.

If you are not that adventurous, Santa Cruz provides the right balance between civilization and adventure including beautiful beaches and natural reserves. It has great hotels, restaurants and all the amenities that you would expect to feel safe (phone, internet, ATMs, guides, etc.). It's a good headquarters to organize trips.

From Santa Cruz we visited: Rancho de tortugas (giant turtles natural reserve), tortuga bay (beautiful beach) and then traveled to playa escondida (remote beach) and fishing/snorkeling tours.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank lasereyes420
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2021 via mobile

This is where we were based for our short 4 days and 3 nights trip through the Galapagos! We had an amazing time, while staying at the incredible Semilla Verde Boutique hotel.

We went and walked with giant turtles, as well as exploring the main town; Puerto Ayora. Everything we ate was outstanding, and fresh from the ocean. The people were so welcoming, and we can't wait to be back again!

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank SteveRainville99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2020

Very unique island where 20 kilometers can changes everything. Arriving in Baltra you will be met by a very aride climate with a warm weather. Leaving Baltra for the highlands, the weather starts to change to become lush and looking tropical despite the temperature plummeting by 10 or 15 degree. Once going down on the other side of the island, the climate seams to have changed again for a mix climate blown with some cold winds coming from the Pacific.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Vince K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2020

This is the main island in the chain. It holds most of the facilities (hotels, restaurants etc). But it is quite big and quite diverse: many sites are to be seen. This island would be part of any tour

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank 301lisa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Our first encounter with giant tortoises was in Santa Cruz Islands. We'd joined M/Y Passion for a week long cruise with an excellent guide in Robert Christen. First of all we visited a ranch where we could get really close to the Dome-back Tortoises (albeit observing the 6 foot rule) and then we went to the Charles Darwin Research Centre to observe the breeding programme, see some hybrid tortoises and learn about their importance to prickly pears.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews